Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

patrick94610

43 M Oakland, CA

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 10:01pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
Drinks
Not at all
Drugs
Never
Religion
Catholicism
Sign
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Education
Income
$100,000–$150,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has kids
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Okay), Other (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Although I moved here the fall of 2001 from a reservation in South Dakota for a graduate program, I finally have time to really explore. So I am now excited to get out and meet new people. I hope to take full advantage of being in the Bay Area, and want to enjoy things which were not available way out on the South Dakota prairie.
Self-summary? I am not always good at that. I spent many years with Lakota people where they value men to be ikceya. It is poorly translated as a "common person." I would describe it as an everyday person who humbly serves the people without drawing attention to himself. He takes time to connect to his higher power and draws strength and determination from that. He is the first to suffer and last to leave. He lives honestly, and will not gives his word until he knows he can keep it. I try to be an ikce wicasa, a common man, in a world that sometimes values people who talk more smack than they do their work. I try to check myself, live consciously, understand the intersectionality of systematic privilege, and do what I can to confront that. I enjoy hard working, honest people, who know how to celebrate and enjoy the simple things in life (i.e., shared meals, music, laughter, the outdoors, etc.) I will never be a king or knight in shining armor, but I try to be a warrior who will defend those who walk humbly on this earth. Still I think am a well educated, well rounded, compassionate, and engaging man. I have lived and worked with people of many different backgrounds and walks of life.
I hope to make more friends in the Bay Area who are closer to my age.... I have been blessed by some marvelous families who have taken me in as one of their own. However, when you are single it is nice to have other friends who are single too. Of course, I am also interested in meeting someone for a long term relationship which will hopefully lead to raising a family together. However, friendship is the best place to begin.
What I’m doing with my life
I am trying to make the world a better place, of course. Most of my efforts have been through education and spirituality. However, I am seriously considering switching to healthcare. I also have a very wild dream about exploring socially responsible investments. Why not reward businesses that perform well, create jobs, and do it with a conscious while making money through responsible investments? If only my 20 old Marxist version of myself could hear me now!

What do I do for fun? I love music, and love to sing. It is rare that I do not have a song in my heart or on my lips. I enjoy salsa but it has taken me awhile to feel like I am an advanced beginner. A good yoga class goes a long way! I like to cook and do projects around the house. Occasionally, I will dust off my guitar and play a few chords until I get frustrated that I stopped practicing daily. I used to read a lot more, but find myself falling to sleep this days in doing so. You will often find me walking around Lake Merrit or catching the sunset at the Emeryville Marina.

I am also rooted in several faith traditions including the Lakota and Catholicism. I have a very open mind regarding spirituality. If someone asks me to pray with them regardless of their beliefs unless they speak ill of others, I will go and try to enter their experience. It has made me some amazing friends.
I’m really good at
making time for the people who are most important in my life.
The first things people usually notice about me
Intellectually- The connections I make to different sources of knowledge
Physically- my eyes
Spiritually- how I am open yet grounded.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Hmmm.... I enjoy authors such as Chaim Potok, Louise Erdich, and John Irving. I love food which is bad for you such as bacon cheese, but CA has been good for my health. In the video store I am drawn to the drama, but also enjoy comedies. I love Lauryn Hill and Erykah Baduh; If you have a strong alto voice be gentle ;-)!
The six things I could never do without
My daughters are not things but they come first; I hope to commit to one woman in marriage who will tie for first with them. Five other things I often have with me:
1. peppermints
2. water and lots of it!
3. dark chocolate covered almonds
4. Several songs in my mind or heart
5. NPR
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Friends and family, making the world a better place
On a typical Friday night I am
I am taking care of my daughters or trying to catch a live performance/movie.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Save this for private conversations. This is the internet for goodness sakes.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 29–50
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
If you live in the Bay Area, have an open mind, live compassionately, walk humbly, and desire to deepen your relationships and spirituality.