Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

paulk314

24 M Austin, TX

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 4:40pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 11″ (1.80m)
Body Type
Thin
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism, and very serious about it
Sign
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Technology
Income
$80,000–$100,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), C++ (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I am looking for new friends and a romantic partner with similar values.

I have left some answers on this profile blank because I think they are unimportant (e.g. first thing people notice about me, etc.)

Personality-wise:

I strive to be rational, introspective, honest, and thoughtful. I am friendly and pride myself on my sense of humor and benevolence.

Interests-wise:

I love the outdoors. I especially enjoy hiking, camping, cycling, and skiing. I also like sailing, though it has been a long time.

My strongest skills are in computer engineering such as programming, but now and then I enjoy more creative activities like writing, drawing, and crafts. I enjoy dancing (swing, especially), but I am not currently very good at it.

History-wise:

I grew up in a small town in Maine, went to Carnegie Mellon in Pittsburgh for my B.S. and M.S. in ECE. I now work at IBM as a hardware engineer.

Philosophy-wise:

Politically, I am a laissez-faire capitalist -- which means that I believe the role of government is to protect individual rights (and only this).

As "my details" indicate, I am not religious and this is important to me. I can certainly be friends with religious people, but I do not have an interest in a romantic relationship with a religious person.

I'm very interested in the writings and ideas of Ayn Rand and much of my current thinking is based off of her philosophy, Objectivism.
What I’m doing with my life
I completed my master's in ECE in May of 2013. I now work for IBM in Austin, TX.

I'm working on clearly defining what my long-term life goals are for my career, family, and life in-general. Most of all, I want to live a fulfilling life, and I am currently figuring out exactly how I think I can best achieve that.

For my career, I plan to move from a technical position into management. I am considering joining or creating a start-up. Regarding family, I want to be married with children by 30, 35 at the latest.
I’m really good at
* Being organized, methodical, and thorough
* Being introspective
* Public speaking
* Explaining complex material
* Analytic thinking
* Writing (non-fiction)
* High-endurance, low-impact activities
* Programming
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books:
Atlas Shrugged
Ender's Game
1984
Digital Fortress
The Blue Nowhere
Longitude
The Scientists Behind the Inventors

Movies:
Primer
Memento
Apollo 13
Band of Brothers

Shows: Drama and Action
Breaking Bad
24

Music: Classic, modern, alt, and indie rock
Muse
Death Cab for Cutie
Iron and Wine
The Shins
Fleetwood Mac
Collective Soul
Third Eye Blind

Food:
Italian and Mexican
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Myself. Where I'm going in life, how I can improve my behavior and my thinking. How I can spend my time, money, and effort more efficiently.

Others. Whether I am being a good friend, sibling, son, employee,
etc. How I can do better at these things.

Computers. So much so that I have been known to mumble incoherent computer things while coming out of deep sleep on many occasions.
On a typical Friday night I am
Lately, most often I have been at home reading, programming, and thinking. I am want to spend more time getting "out", but that mostly means the outdoors or seeing interesting things around town. I'm not especially interested in the bar scene.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 18–26
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends
You should message me if
You are looking for a friend with the qualities on which I pride myself: honesty, rationality, sincerity, and a mix of humor and seriousness.