Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

pbsturte

32 M Madrid, Spain

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 3:03pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 3″ (1.91m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism, and somewhat serious about it
Sign
Virgo, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Education
Income
$40,000–$50,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, and doesn’t want any
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Okay), Latin (Poorly), Other (Okay), Spanish (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I just moved to Madrid for a new job-- which is great-- but I'm in a huge new city, trying to learn a new language and meet people. So, all in all at the moment I'm trying to find someone to meet, be friendly with and hopefully practice my very bad Spanish. Anything else which may happen on top of that is icing on the proverbial cake.

I'm a big fan of dancing, cooking, singing and writing. If I had to choose, I prefer a night at home having made an awesome meal with a few friends and a great bottle of wine, or an evening in a spectacular hole-in-the-wall restaurant rather than going out to get drunk and stupid at bars or clubs. But I love to dance and will do so at any opportunity.

I'm a liberal, an atheist and a feminist, and enjoy thinking about and discussing all those things! Ideally, I'm looking for someone with whom I can have long intense conversations; someone who's passionate but cool-headed, and kind but with a keen eye and a sharp wit.

I want someone who can beat me at Scrabble, and make me feel glad they did.
What I’m doing with my life
Trying to get published, trying to get a job in academia, and trying to enjoy life while I'm waiting for it all to come together.
I’m really good at
I do interviews for my work, so I've gotten very good at listening to people, and my supervisor says I have an uncanny ability to make people feel comfortable and open up.

I was also a musical theatre actor for a while and tried to go pro (didn't work out). So so I enjoy dancing and singing. I'm a pretty good cook. I've also taken up silversmithing and jewellery making as a way to keep creative in small doses; I've sold a few pieces, people seem to like them.

Most of these things spring from the fact that I love telling stories; I'm a storyteller at heart.
The first things people usually notice about me
My former housemate says that I look like Lord Byron, which... well, I'm not sure what that means exactly, and my best friend says, unhelpfully, 'you're quite tall'. I'm hoping you might be able to come up with a better answer.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Good-quality fantasy literature (Tolkien is a favourite). I recently devoured World War Z and loved the conceit-- an oral history of an event which never occurred as a way of throwing a harsh light on our current way of life. I love travelling and so have recently become fond of travel stories, especially lighthearted ones. My favourite such book recently has been The Time Traveller's Guide to Medieval England-- which I highly recommend. Finished Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell, but it was a bit of a slog getting through it. Currently on How to be a Woman-- strident feminist humour is generally good stuff. I have to read as a part of my career, which in some ways is great but in some ways takes the fun right out of it.

Movies: Lord of the Rings Trilogy. Serenity and other quality Sci-Fi is also good, as well as many historical films (though that's part of my work, so...). I am man enough to admit that I loved the recent The Muppets film hard in the face.

Shows: Well, I was a musical theatre performer for a while, so musicals hold a special place in my heart, especially those by Sondheim or Jason Robert Brown. Recently saw Matilda, and it was the best I'd seen in a while. I loathe Andrew Lloyd Webber with a fiery passion.

I have just now realised that probably meant to refer to TV shows... well, then... QI, as well as Family Guy, Game of Thrones and Big Bang Theory.

Music: I've recently been enjoying a lot of neo-folk and neo-bluegrass stuff, like Nickel Creek, Punch Brothers and Great Big Sea as well as some more traditional Irish music. The radio buttons are programmed to NPR, classical, and classic rock, so take from that what you will. I also enjoy good swing music (since I'm a swing dancer in my spare time).

Food: I love food, I'm a total foodie. I love sushi especially, I just wish it was less expensive!
The six things I could never do without
Well, there are of course the obvious answers to this question-- I think I could survive without anything but the absolute basics... however, if I had to choose 6 objects to be stranded on a uninhabited island with, I'd choose:

1) A computer.

2) A great sushi cookbook. Hey, on a deserted island, there's bound to be lots and lots of fresh fish around, plus seaweed... just need to land on an island with rice...

3) Good company. I get lonely sometimes, and I think I would go stark-raving mad a lot quicker than Tom Hanks in "Castaway". I'm an outgoing introvert, so I don't need people all the time-- in fact too many of them can be really draining-- but if I go a whole day with nobody at all to talk to, it makes me grumpy. I drove across America twice to go to different jobs, and it would have been much better if I had a travelling companion to share it with.

4) Tea. Lots and lots and lots of good tea.

5) I can't think of any more. I'm not sure what that means-- maybe I'm easy to please, maybe I'm low maintenance, maybe uncreative? Either way. Except that last one.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
social issues and politics; how the past is used in the present; medieval stuff. My PhD was in medieval studies, so if you've got an interest in history, we'll get along great.
On a typical Friday night I am
I don't really know what there is to do in Madrid and am looking to find out what there is to do on Fridays-- so far the best I've yet found is a swing dance at an anarchist club (yep, an anarchist swing dance!)
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I was a ballet dancer for 12 years, and still take classes when I have the time and money. I look better than you'd think in lycra as a result. ;-)
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 23–35
  • Near me
  • For new friends, short-term dating, casual sex
You should message me if
you're friendly and looking to meet someone new, to try out a new activity or a new cuisine.

That said, at the moment I'm in a bit of a transition; I'm new in town and just trying to find my feet. For the moment, I'm happy to enjoy life and make new friends with people wanting to do the same without expectations.