Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

peacefulpaul

44 M Washington, DC

My Details

Last Online
Online now!
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Height
6′ 1″ (1.85m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Religion
Buddhism, and laughing about it
Sign
Libra, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Politics / Government
Income
$70,000–$80,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, and doesn’t want any
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
After traveling nearly 24,000 miles (almost the circumference of the earth) to 35 cities in ten countries for the last seven weeks by planes, trains, automobiles, motorcycles, buses, subways, trams, auto and bicycle rickshaws, and countless footsteps, it's nice to be back in DC.

Besides the above, over the last year I've been to Detroit, Hollywood, Boston, New Hampshire, Paris, Mexico City, Dubai, Afghanistan and Japan.

As you can see, I travel a decent amount, so perhaps OkCupid will help me meet folks outside my circle of friends...

I prefer to be humble, but resumes and I suppose dating profiles are times to brag a bit.

I posses striking blue eyes, hip glasses, short-wild-sandy hair (read: getting grey) and a goatee.

I'm a director at a progressive nonprofit with a full schedule. I am grateful that I traveled around the world working on environmental issues while sailing on the Greenpeace ship the Rainbow Warrior. Spiritually, I lean towards Buddhism, but occasionally go to Unitarian services. Some friends call me a renaissance man; I'm not so sure.

Important values to me include: fun!, spirituality, compassion, friendship & family, personal growth, service, gratitude and justice. Did I say fun and laughter?

While it's nice to share things in common with your partner, I think that honoring the differences strengthens relationships.

I am a mostly vegetarian (sometimes vegan, though I cheat often) and enjoy film (foreign, documentary, sci fi, indy, comedy), TV (PBS, Charlie Rose, CSPAN), radio (Pacifica, BBC, NPR), traveling, hiking, biking, skiing, dancing (electronica, disco, world music, etc.), reading, spiritual and political events, museums, art (huge contemporary, modern and impressionist fan), theatre, concerts, thrifting, riding sporty Italian motorcycles, intimate conversation, affection and adventure.

Musically, I am extremely eclectic: from psychedelic trance to opera. Socially, I feel just as comfortable talking with heads of state or Senators as I do Earth First! activists. I love socializing with people, talking about concepts and the intimate complexities of life. I also value my alone time.

You could call me a metrosexual. Although you probably have more hair products than I, I might possess more colorful shirts, funky socks and artsy rings than you.

I feel fortunate that I have lead an extremely interesting life so far. I walked at night in an Indian game park thinking that a tiger would eat me. I spent time in warlord houses and presidential palaces. I illegally toured Cuba on a bicycle, hiked the tallest mountain in the lower 48, and experienced Burning Man twice back in the day. I've risked my life and spent time in jail, Gandhi-style, for my beliefs.

I am a leader, progressive, and funny.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Finding cool clothes at thrift stores. Kissing
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Funky glasses, colorful socks and eclectic rings. My overall "style" and sense of humor.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Favorite Books & Authors: Shakespear, Jonathan Living Seagul (Richard Bach), Handbook to Higher Consciousness, Dr. Suess, Lord of the Rings, Thich Nhat Hahn, Leo Buscalgia

Favorite Films, Filmmakers, Actors: Harold and Maude, Shawshank Redemption, Kubrik, Willy Wonka, 2001, Cohen Bros, The Big Lebowski, Gandhi, John Cusack, Bladerunner, Monty Python, Meryl Streep, Kurosawa to name a few in a very long list. I tend to like Sci Fi, comedies, independent and documentaries.

Favorite Music: electronica, Cat Stevens, classical, opera, disco, Beatles, new wave, Tuvan throat singing, Simon and Garfunkel, anything with a sitar, groove radio dot com, Cut Copy, world music

Favorite TV Shows: Charlie Rose, PBS, Jon Stewart, various political podcasts
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Love/compassion
Fun & laughter
GSM smart phone that works internationally & Laptop
The arts
Yummy veggie food
Working for justice
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Either doing my own thing, out doing epicurean activities, or thinking about my next travel adventure....
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
While I am very altruistic, I have an extremely strong hedonistic side.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 25–59
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
I am in search of a compassionate, understanding, affectionate, accepting, communicative, honest, respectful, positive, wise, healthy, open-minded, liberal, sensual, attractive (to me at least), responsible, organized, childlike and emotionally mature woman with a strong sense of self and a healthy amount of self esteem. Whew, that's a long list, isn't it?

I think I am an emotionally strong person in my beliefs and values and would like a partner who understands and supports my dreams while I support her dreams. Let's give mutual inspiration to create a life of wonder and meaning. More importantly, let's lead fun and interesting lives!

I believe perfection lies in our imperfection. I think I know my imperfections and do my best to work on them and I hope you do too.

I work and live an extremely full schedule and like hanging with folks who understand that lifestyle. At the same time, I can lounge like a slacker with the best of them.

I am very open to dating those who have their own kids.

Goofy, wacky and funny a plus. FYI, pigtails on women over 30 drive me wild!