Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

pentomino

40 M Portland, OR

I’m looking for

  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 24–45
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 11:56am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Hispanic / Latin, White
Height
6′ 0″ (1.83m)
Body Type
Overweight
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Student
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Dislikes dogs
Speaks
English (Fluently), Irish (Poorly), Russian (Poorly), German (Poorly), Spanish (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm an introverted geek who multiclassed in creative hipster.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I recently finished off an M. Ed. degree, which was the consolation prize for trying to become a math teacher and failing spectacularly at classroom management. Since it doesn't include teaching licensure, I'm still not quite sure what I'll do with it yet.

During the summer, I sing in a Renaissance group that performs at a number of ren faires in Washington and Oregon, and I've also sung with the Portland Christmas Revels. I might be looking for a group to sing with to fill in the gaps when I'm not doing either of those. (Mainly winter and spring, but sometimes fall too since I won't get into Revels every year.)
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Making up mathematical puzzles.

I'm a decent singer. A good dancer, but I prefer scripted dances like Irish céilí and set dances to forms like swing where one has to make it up as one goes along.

I wrote an Interactive Fiction game that tied for second in the IF competition that I submitted it to, but that was a while ago now.

I've also enjoyed taking language classes in the past; I'm pretty good at picking up pronunciation and grammar, though learning vocab is just as much a slog for me as it is for anyone. I hope to get back into that fairly soon.

The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
The purple leggings, I suppose.

After that, that I don't make eye contact.

Seriously though: if I'm not making eye contact? It doesn't mean I don't like you, or even that I'm nervous. It's an Aspie thing.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
A lot of this stuff in this list is old, because I put in in here the last time I was single, which ended in 2005. I haven't gone out to a whole lot of movies or live music lately, partly because it wasn't something my last girlfriend and I were often able to get to work out. I want to get back into that.

Movies:

Scott Pilgrim, Little Miss Sunshine,Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Lost in Translation, Shaun of the Dead ,Buckaroo Banzai's Adventures Across the Eighth Dimension, The Opposite of Sex, Ghost World, Amélie


Anime: Haibane-Renmei


Music:


Local musicians: Dirty Martini, The Stolen Sweets, Myshkin
Non-local musicians: Aimee Mann, Everything but the Girl, Red House Painters, The Innocence Mission.
Hipster cred: I saw Colin Meloy live before the Decemberists formed.
Hipster no-cred: I got into Elliott Smith only after hearing about his death on NPR.

Graphic Novels:

This is an area that I've come to from a starting point of complete ignorance in semi-recent years, not having grown up with comic books or manga. My favorites:

Alison Bechdel - Fun Home
Carla Speed McNeil - Finder (series)
Jason Shiga - Meanwhile
Craig Thompson - Blankets

Fiction:

These days I mostly read fantasy and some historical fiction. I especially like fantasy with a strong historically based setting, like some of the works of Guy Gavriel Kay. Other favorite authors: Steven Brust Charles de Lint, Patrick O'Brian, Naomi Novik, Arturo Pérez-Reverte, Kim Stanley Robinson.

Foods: I'm fond of spicy ethnic cuisines, like Thai, Indian, or Ethiopian.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
A text editor, an internet connection, some sort of creative project to work on. The existence of ginger beer in the world. I can go for a long time without, but I wouldn't want to live in a world without it.

Graph paper. Purple leggings. (I wear them with shorts on top. The men's fashion industry has very little imagination, so one must improvise.)

I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
How I would fare if I were thrown into the Victorian era with nothing but my clothes, the contents of my pockets, and a digital watch. (I don't even have a digital watch.) Sometimes it's ancient Rome, or the '50s. The Romans are impressed by the regularity of our coinage, but threaten to kill me for counterfeiting upon discovering how low in copper content my pennies really are.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
If it's the first or third friday of the month I'm probably out dancing at a céilí. (That is, an Irish dance event.)

Otherwise it's likely I'm at home.

The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I didn't start dating until I was 31. Bit of a late bloomer.