Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

philaros

45 Seattle, WA Man

Man

Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 28–45
  • Near me
  • For short-term dating, casual sex

My details

Last online
Today – 1:24am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 6″ (1.68m)
Body type
Thin
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, and laughing about it
Sign
Capricorn, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Other
Income
Rather not say
Status
Single
Type
Offspring
Pets
Has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
My Twitter summary: editor, gamer, music-lover, KEXP blogger, Go Play NW organizer.

I'm from New Hampshire, but I've been living in Seattle since 2002, and love it here.

I love a wide range of music, from lo-fi indie-rock through post-punk and art/prog rock and on into electronic dance music, with room for a variety of other genres in and outside rock. I rarely listen to classical, but I was a violinist so I have some background in that, too.

I enjoy games—mostly in-person games, like board, card, and tabletop role-playing/story games, though I have a few favorite computer and console games.

I also enjoy trivia, dancing, cycling, and urban hiking. I've only sang karaoke a couple times, but you'd better believe I totally rocked "Safety Dance", and I do enjoy singing, so I'm thinking I should do karaoke more often.

I haven't owned a car since 2011 and mostly get around town by bus, walking, and cycling, but I now have both a ZipCar and a Car2Go membership, and that combination is working out great for me.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I volunteer with KEXP, writing for their blog about some of the great shows I've been seeing, as well as other music-related articles. I've covered everything from the eclectic mix of rock and pop at the Sasquatch Music Festival to the electronic-focused Decibel Festival, as well as various concerts around Seattle. I've done weekly intern work with the online department, as well as occasional stuff like staffing the info table at shows and helping out during membership drives.

I'm passionate about live shows and going out dancing, though in the past year or two I've only been going out occasionally. With KEXP's new monthly at Re-Bar on the first Friday, it looks like I'll have at least one regular dance night again.

I've been working as a freelance editor since March 2007; I've done some desktop publishing work as well over the years.

A few friends and I organize a weekend gaming event called Go Play NW, which we hold every summer in Seattle. Go Play NW gathers 100 or so people together just to have fun playing tabletop story/role-playing and board games throughout the weekend, with a catered banquet to kick things off on Friday evening. We've been running it since 2007, and it's a blast every year.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Probably my really curly hair, which I'm currently keeping on the longer side.

I have a bit of an accent, partly from being from New England but more as a result of overcoming my childhood speech impediment. People seem to like it, when they notice it.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: Some of my all-time favorite books are The Lord of the Rings, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Neuromancer, Cosmos, The Phantom Tollbooth, anything by Sarah Vowell, and The Odyssey.

Movies: I seldom go out to see movies, but I have been enjoying the various Marvel films. I'm always happy to re-watch the Lord of the Rings trilogy, The Matrix, Eddie Izzard: Dress to Kill, Gigantic: A Tale of Two Johns (a documentary about They Might Be Giants), The Incredibles, and Scott Pilgrim vs. the World.

Shows: I don't have cable, or Netflix, or any of that, and rarely watch TV. The last series I watched was The Legend of Korra, the sequel to the animated Avatar: The Last Airbender.

Music: I'm still really excited about local artists Katie Kate and Vox Mod, and see them whenever I can. My list of albums to pick up this year currently includes releases by Courtney Barnett, Chromatics, Pinkshinyultrablast, Public Service Broadcasting, and Tamryn. Last year's favorites included Katie Kate's Nation, Todd Terje's It's Album Time, Vox Mod's The Great Oscillator, Aphex Twin's SYRO, and Warpaint's Warpaint. And old favorites among my collection include Joe Jackson, The Police, Mistle Thrush, Freezepop, Tara Jane ONeil, and Steely Dan.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
The sight of the mountains, the city, the sea
The sound of that song
The taste of chocolate
The smell of a crisp autumn day
The feel of the beat
The thoughts on the page
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
hanging out at Bauhaus Books & Coffee; having dinner with friends; hearing some great bands; or dancing until the wee hours of the morning. (Actually the dancing is typically on a Saturday night, but the idea's the same.)
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'll dance in the living room with my cat when a good song comes on the radio.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
To expand on what I'm looking for:

I left out "long-term dating" because I'm trying to focus on short-term goals of meeting people and seeing how we click. Although I'd like to be in a long-term relationship, I believe that in most cases that's something you figure out by spending some time together, not something you decide up front by browsing profiles and checking off a list of qualities. My long-term goal is to be in a long-term relationship, so you're welcome to message me if that's what you want too; but let's start with the short term and see how it goes.

At the other end, although it's always good to make new friends, I'm here because I'm looking for some fun and romance, including sex. So I left out "new friends" and "activity partners" as well. That's where "casual sex" comes in for me; I'm not just seeking one-night stands (though I'm not strictly opposed to that), but I've got friends, I don't have benefits. It'd be nice to have both.