Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

phunkus

28 M Boulder, CO

I’m looking for

  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 23–31
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 7:42am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 8″ (1.73m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Sometimes
Religion
Judaism, and laughing about it
Sign
Leo, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
Relationship Status
Seeing Someone
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Likes dogs
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Fluently), German (Poorly), Hebrew (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I am a drum playing physics graduate student who works on farms, loves books and comics, considers "dance" to be a major nutritional food group, loves traveling and backpacking, is obsessed with music (in nearly any form), and occasionally remembers to meditate. Also, I'm a dancer in a burlesque troupe.
(Really.)

I am just as likely to nerd out about the renewable energy physics I work on for my research as I am to go on about how amazing Bonobo or Soul Coughing or March Fourth Marching Band are or how much I enjoy climbing my favorite tree in Boulder and indulging in a pot of tea. I love playing music and board games and working in machine shops. I pretty much need to go dancing at least a few times a month to stay sane (blues dancing is my current passion, but I'll dance to any good music).

I am on okcupid wondering if I can find a partner in crime. An adventure buddy, lover, mentally and emotionally challenging and inspiring, independent whole-on-her-own-but-more-whole-together, badass of a partner. That's not something I'm looking for on a first date, but it's something I'm open to.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Right now I am four years into a physics PhD program doing research to develop better organic solar panel technologies (for the organic part think "cheap, more environmentally friendly and plastic-based" rather than "pesticide/gluten free, free-range veggie fed solar panels"). Which pretty much makes me the dirty hippy in the physics department.
:-)
It keeps me plenty busy and I love it.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Beatboxing, playing conga drums, dancing until way the fuck past closing time, climbing trees, impromptu tea parties in inappropriate places (rooftop of the Celestial Seasonings warehouse at midnight, anyone?), sleeping, and somehow staying in both the burner/burlesque/dance world and the grad/physics world without colliding the two together in a fiery explosion of awkward.

Also, air hockey.
Bring it.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I've got a lot of energy and enthusiasm. I like enjoying life (it seems preferable to the alternative) and I tend to bring that into my interactions with people, whether it's trying out some totally wacky new thing for the first time, sharing an intimate story, dancing our hearts out, or just enjoying good company with a good pot of tea.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books are wonderful. Some my favorites are: House of Leaves (Mark Danielewski), Stranger in a Strange Land (Robert Heinlein), The Name of the Wind (Patrick Rothfuss), anything by Jorge Borges, Terry Pratchett, China Mieville, Oscar Wilde, and plenty of other good ones. The existence of bookstores is pretty much a guarantee that I will never become overly wealthy. I spend way too much time and money in those places...

Music: A eclectic selection of nearly everything - Medeski, Martin, and Wood; Ojos de Brujo, Four Tet, Toubab Krewe, Bonobo, Led Zeppelin, Mussorgsky, Milky Chance, Devotchka, Barenaked Ladies, Gotan Project, Gomez, The Flaming Lips, Quantic, Paper Bird, Tunng, David Grisman, Caravan Palace, Alt-J, Andrew Bird, Beck, Barenaked Ladies, The Weepies... I'm always down for listening to new music and especially for going out to see live music. I'm currently obsessed with Disclosure. Trashy in all the best ways :-)

Food: Pretty much anything. I love cooking - especially luxurious breakfasts and sumptuous omelettes - and will pretty much make and eat anything at least once. Especially if it's Thai or Mexican food. Seriously, those two countries hit the jackpot in the cultural cuisine lottery.

Movies: First place goes to Fantasia. No question. Second to that come The Stuntman, The Fifth Element, Repo Man, Lock Stock and Two Smoking Barrels, Dark City, Alice in Wonderland (animated), Citizen Kane and who knows what else. i'm always open to good movies but rarely seem to get around to watching them.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Music Music Music.
Intellectual Stimulation.
Adventure.
Dancing.
Intimacy (in any form - conversational, physical, emotional).
A digestive tract.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
How I need to spend more time drumming. And dancing. And how achieving balance by doing sixteen things all at opposite ends of the spectrum may or may not actually be "balance" at all.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
dancing, drinking tea, having a long drawn out discussion about politics/polyamory/polyglots/polar coordinates, partying, hopefully not staying late in lab, making music, camping, and/or happily reading a book in my room.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm an utter physics geek? I'm secretly a dirty hippy? Burlesque is not the most scandalous thing I've been a part of? I've been (multiple times) to a self-descriptive party called Food Orgy? I used to generally be in polyamorous relationships but now I'm looking for a long-term monogamous relationship? I'll answer any question put to me? Will any of these confessions suffice?
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
you are into music, you appreciate the brain between your ears and take pleasure in using it, you are not afraid of life (and are hopefully thoroughly enjoying it), and enjoy hiking/skiing/biking/camping at least occasionally.

I find myself mainly looking for a long-term relationship right now. I would love to meet awesome people to adventure, friend, go out dancing with, drink tea with, etcetera. And, I would really like to find someone I can connect with, hopefully long-term.