Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


36 San Francisco, CA Man


Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 25–45
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My details

Last online
Online now!
6' 0" (1.83m)
Body Type
Used up
Atheism and laughing about it
Post grad
Might want kids
English, French
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm a Bay Area native and, apart from some time in France, I've lived in the Bay my entire life. I'd like to live other places in the US, but it's rather hard to leave--for many reasons.

I'm definitely the bookish type. I read a lot. Maybe a novel a week with a major philosophic work thrown in here and there. French writers are my favorite (from Baudelaire to Duras and Bergson to Bourdieu) and I read them in the original (conversation partners? My spoken French is getting terrible). That being said, I'm also interested in other literatures from other places and time periods. But I am pretty ignorant of contemporary stuff (recommendations are always welcome).

This is not to say that I spend my life locked up in my room. I certainly need to get out and grab a few (too many) beers with some friends. In fact, if I'm seen with that 300 page novel two weeks in a row, it probably means I've been throwing back a few too many.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Bartending and editing.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
The fact that there is more hair on my face than my head.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
I never used to watch TV, but, thanks to friends that turn me on to good stuff, I enjoy the following: The Daily Show, Colbert Report, Al Jazeera English, Arrested Development, Trailer Park Boys, The Wire, Louie. (Although I do have some perennial favorites: Twin Peaks, Monty Python, Faulty Towers).

Although I used to be a music junky, these days it serves mostly as background music to my daily activities (perennial faves: Tom Waits, Miles Davis, Coltrane, Mingus, Bartok, Steve Reich, Sonic Youth, Wu Tang, Ornette, Black Sabbath).

Authors: Beckett, Deleuze, Foucault, Proust, Nabokov, Blanchot, Borges, Bataille, Duras, Lispector, surrealism, le nouveau roman, Woolf, Jacques Rancière, WG Sebald, Emily Brontë.

Cine-stuff: The Battle of Algiers, Antonioni, Bela Tarr, Tarkovsky, David Lynch, Resnais, Godard, Woody Allen, Jarmusch, Buñuel, Marcel Carné, Orson Welles, Jean Renoir, Agnes Varda.

As for food: I pretty much love it all and pride myself on at least trying everything (except for Sannakji).

Radio: I used to like listening to NPR on the rare occasions I drove my car, but now I just listen to GZA's LIQUID SWORDS.

Visual stuff: Bellmer, Bacon, Cezanne, Delacroix, Ernst, Kandinsky, Magritte, Dali (even though he's a fascist-lover).
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
In this precise order: books, red wine, coffee, whiskey, urban walks, film.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Gentrification, capitalism, elitism vs populism, the literary canon, my favorite writers/filmmakers/thinkers, politics and aesthetics, national and international politics, race, class, gender, the history and future of the Bay Area, basketball, the Warriors.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Either out drunk on cheap shitty beer in the Mission or at home reading a novel and drinking a decent glass of wine or whiskey.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I smoke crack every night before going to bed.