70 Guelph, Ontario, CA
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Always curious about the strange and wonderful world we live in but very concerned about what havoc we humans are wreaking on this planet and every living thing on it.
I am an spirituality has to do with the beauty, complexity and diversity of the natural world.
I am a very left leaning liberal....both politically and socially.
I'm outgoing, like to meet and talk to all kinds of people.
My friends would describe me as very intelligent, sensitive, empathetic and generous with a dark, cynical? sense of humour. I like to help and be supportive of those with whom I am close. Some volunteer work......writers' festival. Love animals although I have no pets now for the first time in more than 40 yrs.
I like to be openly affectionate with my partner.....touching, holding hands sometimes while walking, kisses (not in public except a peck).
What I’m doing with my life
I am a semi-retired residential renovation designer/contractor
First career was 25 years in the IT telecommunications industry

Currently taking a hiatus from work except for small projects that interest me. Instead I've been designing/renovating the place I'm now living.
Spend a lot of time reading.....history, politics, literature.
Love going to movies and having dinners with friends either in restaurants or cooking for them.
Want to do more travelling in the next couple of years.
Would like to find a motorcycle riding companion for ambling along two lane roads and highways.
I’m really good at
Design, renovations, landscaping, gardening, cooking.
Interested in history, politics, movies, theatre.
The first things people usually notice about me
I am quite outgoing because I am very interested in people generally.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
History, politics in general....especially the unbelievably f....cked up Middle East....grimly fascinating. Books....biographies, autobiographies, travel, some fiction. The Alexandria Quartet although I haven't read it now in about 30 yrs. Graham Greene, The New Yorker, Granta, Atlantic, Harper's, London Review of Books, New York Review of Books, Times Literary Supplement. almost all ethnic cuisines.
Like indie, foreign movies and 'small' Hollywood movies.
The Lives of Others, Tell No One, I've Loved You So Long...dozens and dozens of great foreign movies as well as some current Hollywood and lots of older Hollywood.
Not typically interested in big blockbuster action movies.
Classical....Spanish composers...Granados, de Falla.
Dvorak, Prokofiev. Jazz...Gershwin, Ellington, Art Tatum, Coleman Hawkins, Bill Evans, Dexter Gordon, Bix Beiderbecke, Charlie Parker, Billie Holiday, Keith Jarrett...too many others.

I love animals...especially dogs....always had pets as a kid. As an adult had cats for many years then 6 dogs over a period of 30 yrs...typically 2 at a time. Miss them!
The six things I could never do without
Being outdoors...especially in the summer.
Intimacy, domesticity, nirvana like sex.
Close friends, books, movies, travel.

Like ambling along on country roads on my motorcycle.

Also like to take relaxed auto trips anywhere stopping here and there to see what's the country and in towns and cities. Stopping at lakes, rivers, ponds and just sitting there listening to nature....water, birds, wind, etc.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global politics and the environment and social issues.
On a typical Friday night I am
Out for dinner with or cooking for friends.

Or going to a movie and dinner
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I am only interested in slim or thin women.
I consider it a character flaw of mine.
You should message me if think you might like to email chat with the purpose of meeting to determine whether there might be some chemistry between us......or, if not, some common intellectual ground for an easy friendship.