Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

poliphon

34 M Paris, France

My Details

Last Online
Today – 9:03am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 11″ (1.80m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Often
Drugs
Religion
Sign
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Speaks
English, French (Fluently), Italian (Fluently), Spanish (Poorly), German (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm very active, always hopping from one thing to the next, but can get passionate about something quickly, especially the things that move me or bring out my natural curiosity, creativity and sense of adventure. I love to go out and explore, travel, try something new, something I never thought I could do. I like to defy the limits I unconsciously set myself.
What I’m doing with my life
Trying to blend the active and contemplative life as well as possible. Finishing a PhD - that piece of paper is so close I can almost touch it! And on a grant this year so I'm buckling down but also free as a bird. A scary proposition to someone who likes to engage in many activities.

For sports I seem to like things that involve working with or against the elements: yoga, swimming, sailing, biking, hiking... I'm always looking for new recommendations for places to go for outdoorsy activities and new partners to explore with.

I love to make music on the piano. And always interested in meeting other musicians. Maybe we can play together...?

Traveling is also huge for me. I'm not the kind of person who collects stamps on their passport, though if you are that's cool too and I'd be fascinated to hear your exotic travel stories... I often travel to places I've already been but which felt like they were still beckoning somehow. Southern Italy is my current obsession. I've been a handful of times already but would like to return soon.

I'm also big into languages but have little time (or patience) to sit down with a book and learn or take classes. If you speak another language (especially German or Spanish) let me know if you'd like to language swap with me for French or Italian (or English for that matter)!
I’m really good at
Connecting, putting people at ease, picking up foreign languages, cooking for ten people, playing piano, crow posing, weaving my vehicle through traffic whether it's a bike in Boston or a Fiat 500 in Palermo
The first things people usually notice about me
My eyes, or my hipster glasses, my permanent bed-head hair, and that I look like a bizarre cross between Daniel Day Lewis and Ben Stiller... I guess it depends on the day
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books - Don Quixote, Montaigne's Essays, Proust, Rabelais, Boccaccio, Christ stopped at Eboli, Italo Calvino, Saul Bellow, Tristes Tropiques, Martin Amis, Vonnegut, Marquez, Murakami, Ishiguro, Nabokov, Paul Auster, Stendhal, Flaubert, Diderot, Baudelaire... you get the idea.
Movies - In the Mood for Love, Barry Lyndon, Blade Runner, Breathless, L'eclisse, La strada, films by Wes Anderson, Peter Greenaway, Jim Jarmusch, Terry Gilliam, Kurosawa, Almodovar, Truffaut, Woody Allen, ...
Shows - Arrested Development, Daily Show, Blackadder, Allo Allo
Music - I love music and just can't pick favorites. As a classical pianist, I'm particularly sensitive to composers like Schubert, Chopin, Scriabin and Debussy, and jazz pianists like Monk and Bill Evans. Otherwise all time favorite groups and musicians would go something like the Smiths, Morrissey, Death Cab, Arcade Fire, Belle & Sebastian, Yo La Tengo, the Pixies, Les Savy Fav, Dandy Warhols, the Doors, Catherine Wheel, Ride, Slint, the Decembrists, Camera Obscura, Kings of Convenience, Grizzly Bear, Aesop Rock, Deceptikon and on and on and on... Really. I listen to just about anything. And always open to your favorites which I very likely haven't heard of yet.
Food - I also love food too much to pick favorites. Stilll think back fondly on the dried worms in Mexico City, the frog legs in France and the steamed whole octopus in Palermo.
The six things I could never do without
Long ambling trips in foreign countries, attempting to make beautiful music on the piano, cooking and savoring taste-bud popping meals, long idle conversations with family and friends over said meals and a generous dose of wine, dancing, moving, shaking, and generously paying heed to the appetites of body and soul...
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Where I'll go in southern Italy next.
On a typical Friday night I am
Grabbing food and drinks with friends, going dancing if the booze has inspired enough, or yes perhaps just enjoying the company of my old friends Ben and Jerry over a movie or a book.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I once thought my cat was an incarnation of Mozart
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 23–40
  • Near me
  • For new friends, short-term dating
You should message me if
you enjoy getting to know people, which to my mind means accepting chance, spontaneity and creativity, being curious about others and their different choices and views on life, refraining from squeezing the person in front of you, attempting to hold onto them obsessively or forcing them to fit into a rigid box. Practice goodwill and patience to find out what you never thought would be there in another person.