Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

prof_pensive

36 Newark, DE Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 26–36
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Aug 24
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 8″ (1.73m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Religion
Agnosticism
Sign
Gemini, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
$80,000–$100,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Likes dogs
Speaks
English (Fluently), C++ (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Recovering academic, recently entered into the so-called real world. I like to joke around, enjoy food & drink (and cook), converse about outlandish things. Well-read with a lot of intellectual interests. I find dogs hilarious.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Last year was a big transition for me and I've gotten my life on a new path that I'm pretty happy with. I switched careers from academia (theoretical physics, if you believe that) to software engineering. I moved back to Newark, my hometown, after living in Ann Arbor, Santa Monica and Vancouver, mostly so I could see my family more.

My new career is interesting but demands less of me than my old one (and pays better) so I'm liberated to pursue other interests more, and in general have more of a life.

My big thing now is that I'm looking to buy a house, which is totally new to me since I'd been living in apartments for years.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Knowing a little bit about sorta obscure stuff. Knowing a lot about really obscure stuff.

People tell me that I cook well, but I think maybe they are just being polite. I do like cooking though, and it's an activity that I'd definitely like to share with someone.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My commanding physical presence and devilishly handsome good looks. For real, I don't know, probably that I use weird words.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books - Anything by Neil Gaiman. Foundation series, Gothic horror and ghost stories (original, not modern ripoffs), Hitchiker's Guide to the Galaxay, the Wheel of Time, books about food/cooking, Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell, anything by H.P. Lovecraft. I like miscellanies and reference books like Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable. I've been reading a lot about mythology and folklore recently. Some art books - I like Mark Ryden a lot. Finally, have gotten into graphic fiction in the last couple of years. Favorite series are Fables, Sandman (Neil Gaiman, again), anything by Mike Mignola.

Movies - Don't watch a lot of movies although I'm kind of a sucker for Hitchcock

TV -Right now, I'm watching Walking Dead, American Horror Story and Once Upon a Time (I know it's dumb but I don't care).

Music - Camera Obscura, Modest Mouse, the Who, Cardigans, Zeppelin, Land of Talk, New Pornographers, Metric

Food - Cajun/Creole, Philly cheesesteaks, Japanese, Mexican, Korean, fancy cheese, craft beer
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
1.) Good food & drink (craft beer, particularly)
2.) Wikipedia & Wiktionary
3.) genre fiction
4.) family
5.) gravity
6.) another thing
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
In ascending order: philosophy, food & cooking, the English language, quantum mechanics, butts
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Maybe have some beers with friends and family, reading, watching hockey, going out to dinner or cooking, catching up on tv
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I choked up a little at the end of Terminator 2.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You appreciate people of an intellectual bent. You want to cook with me. You read.

Add a photo to:

Stay fresh with Instagram

Are you sure you want to delete this album?

Where's your photo?

Drop it like it’s hot

Photos must be at least 400 x 400px
Edit thumbnail
Add a caption

You look fantastic!