Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

ptfe

27 M Mesa, AZ

My Details

Last Online
Today – 9:01am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 2″ (1.88m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism
Sign
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Student
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
I can often seem reserved, but I have a big personality when I'm comfortable. I'll talk about anything, but I'm better at talking about nerd- and NPR-culture than reality TV.

I moved to the Tempe area from Minnesota in early August to start my PhD studies at ASU. In other words, a high quality air conditioner was really important to me when I was looking for a place to live.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm getting my physics PhD at ASU where I'm also researching materials for use in solar power. At the moment, I'm more interested in the private sector than a university position after I graduate.
I’m really good at
Applying the scientific method. Doing so works well in my academic pursuits, but it can get a little peculiar when buying groceries.

I also try to stay active by running, lifting, and I try to bike places rather than drive there. So I guess I'm good at not sitting on my butt all day? Wait, I sit on my butt while biking, so...shoot.
The first things people usually notice about me
The constructive criticism that I've received says that you've noticed that I look like a wax sculpture in my profile picture. But, I promise you, I'm flesh and blood.

As far as my personality goes, people probably notice my ironic sense of humor.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
As far as novels go, I'm a vocal advocate for "Moby Dick" and "Lolita". More broadly, "Godel, Escher, Bach", and Plato's "Republic" are books that have profoundly affected the way I think.

I like a broad range of movies, it all depends on mood. I almost never want to watch horror though. "Network" is the most terrifyingly prescient movie I've ever seen. I think that "In Bruges" is the most underrated movie of the last decade. Also, I'm "that guy" who's seen "Primer" enough times that I actually, kind of, sort of get it.

As for music, I don't like much jazz, but everything is fair game. I love well-constructed dumb pop music, somber indie stuff, and classical alike.

I like to fancy myself a reasonable cook when really I'm only good at following directions. I'll cook and eat most any style.
The six things I could never do without
Family and friends. Everything else can be replaced.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The assumptions we make without knowing we make them.
On a typical Friday night I am
Either working, or doing something low energy. As much as I hate to conform to stereotypes, this physicist just isn't into crazy partying.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
First I look at your picture. Then I look at the last time you signed in. Then I read your profile. That last part is the most important, but it's also the most time consuming so some weeding is done first.

That's another way of saying I'm forthright to a fault.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 21–30
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You're a complete person with your own hopes and dreams, independent of any man. If you define yourself by your relationships to men, I don't think we'd get along very well. I'd also like to be able to rage with you about whatever socioeconomic injustice has just been perpetrated, which I guess means that you have to be the kind of person who knows we're not post-racial, post-feminist, or post-class.