Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

puggleasaurus

39 M Brooklyn, NY

My Details

Last Online
Jun 3
Orientation
Gay
Ethnicity
White, Other
Height
5′ 6″ (1.68m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Often
Drugs
Never
Religion
Sign
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Education
Income
$60,000–$70,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Wants kids
Pets
Has dogs
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Okay), German (Okay), French (Poorly), Russian (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm a big geek. But in a down to earth, relaxed kinda way. I love dogs, IPA's, brooklyn, Futurama, lefty politics, books of any and all types, walking in brownstone brooklyn, drinking outside in the summer, travelling, and always learning. Nothing's better than coffee or beer with great friends, talking the night away, and the geekier the conversation, usually the better. But in all that, people first. Empathy's a huge thing for me, a life-ethic, or at least, an ideal I strive towards, even if it's more a path than a state.

Looking for a relationship that's substantial, intellectual, emotional. Most guys out there say they want a relationship, but those take work. If you're looking for a real emotional, intellectual, and physical relationship, that's what I'm good at. Money and power are turn-offs for me, as is the need to prove yourself as this or that. Mainstream gay culture hits me as a cult, but no less than mainstream straight culture, I like people who are free to be themselves, whatever that means. So yeah, I guess I'm a 'non-scene' kinda guy, whatever that scene might be.

I'm messy, and people who've gotta have everything in order don't make much sense to me, I find some degree of creative chaos important in life. Shorts and t-shirt all the way, but the occasional sports jacket is always fun. Brooklyn over manhattan, and I prefer backpacking to expensive hotels when travelling. Luxury odds me out, makes the socialist in me feel pissed off. Pizza is one of god's gifts to food (at least if it's from nyc!), though a great meal is always appreciated, especially tacos or sushi. INFP describes me pretty damn well.

For what it's worth, I tend to get attracted to guys my age or a little younger, usually more to the masculine side of things (though that comes in many forms, being yourself is essential), and usually with dark hair and eyes. But attraction for me starts on the emotional level, this is just in general.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I feel like I've got the coolest job in the world. I'm a professor, but unlike most, I've got a lot of freedom, so rather than hyperspecialize, I'm able to teach myself about cool stuff, then teach and write about it. What could be more fun than that? Generally I teach at the intersection of film, media studies, and philosophy. But I'm not your ivy-tower type, just a big geek that gets paid to do what he loves.

Oh, by the way, I'm Italian-American, Sicilian to be exact. Family's really important to me, and it usually involves lots of family dinners, food, visits, etc. And as a good Italian-American, I find I yearn for bambinos, so oneday hope to be a father, with a partner or by myself.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Teaching. Which in my book, means sharing your passions with other people in a way that they get excited about them too. And hopefully they show you their passions, and everybody learns from everyone! To me, being a good teacher means being a lifelong learner, and everyone, no matter how young or old, or even my silly dog, has stuff to teach for someone with an eye to learn.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
They don't. I'm the guy you notice when all the flashy people already did their thing, but then you realize this guy's quality. That's me. I hope!
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Soo many! I read like books are candy, usually philosophy, theory, but also tons of non-fiction about anything and everything from history of languages or math or religion or anything that gives me a new perspective on some aspect of the world. Literature was a big thing in my past, but not at the moment. And I teach film all the time, so it's a big part of my life. I love anything too complicated,
that through that can somehow produce some powerfully deep simplicity.

Some random faves:

Music: Lotta prog rock (classic 70's Genesis, love King Crimson (specially the recent stuff!), Yes, Rush, Floyd, Mars Volta, Tool, etc.), Shoegaze (Catherine Wheel, Hum, My Bloody Valentine), Electronic (Depeche Mode, Duran Duran), 90's alterna creative stuff (Jawbox, Blur, STP), Retro (Bowie, CSN, Beatles, Hendrix), etc.

Films: Tarkovsky!! Lotsa art films, everything from from Fellini to Oshima, Godard, Hitchcock, Welles, etc. But lots of guilty pleasures like LOTR, Dune, sci-fi, etc

TV: Futurama is the best thing, ever. Gotta have my dose of Stewart and Colbert most weeknights. South Park, Game of Thrones, smart cartoons (Frisky Dingo, Venture Brothers, Archer, etc.).

Other hobbies: Play several musical instruments, guitar and piano mostly, used to spend all my time doing that, but my creativity's shifted to the writing now. My silly doggie. Learning languages (I'm pretty good with German and Spanish, can read French, took Russian for a while in college).
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
I'm a socialist. I think doing with less is healthy for the soul. Granted, I need a pretty steady stream of books, but once I've read them, not so much. Most material things are negotiable.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
radical market socialism.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
On a thursday, usually with friends at a pub having a few pints, hopefully in the backyard of a brooklyn bar if it's warm enough outside. Friday's tend to be more chill than thursdays for me.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I embarras myself all the time, I think I find it kinda fun. I'm kinda clumsy, have a tendency to trip while going up the stairs, I'm that guy.
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like guys
  • Ages 25–43
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
you're a nice geek too.