rangerm13
37 Denver, CO
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
rangerm13
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hi guys, I'm Dave. Here's a little about me:

What I'm into: I am a big music nerd! I love to search for new bands, catch concerts, and make mixes for friends. I play guitar and sing for fun. I take lessons twice a month and would love to form a band some day. I am also a big hiker. I go hiking just about every weekend from early Spring through late Fall. I am also trying to visit all 59 US national parks. By the end of this year, I should be about half-way to that goal. I'm kind of a political junky. I love to be a spectator and armchair quarterback when it comes to governing our country. I have strong opinions but I am always repectful of those who disagree with me. I'm also a big Broncos and Avalanche fan.

Who I am: From a personality standpoint, I like to define myself as somewhere in the middle of the introvert/extrovert continuum. I like being around people and making new connections, but I also value my downtime and independence. I strive to be a considerate and loyal friend. I also love to make people laugh. My sense of humor can be pretty irreverent since I don't take too many things too seriously (including myself). I'm a serious day dreamer, so it's not uncommon to find me lost in thought!
What I’m doing with my life
I work for a large financial firm in Denver. I recently made a career change within the same company and it has been a great move overall. I was definitely ready for the change and the new challenges that came with it. All that said, I don't necessarily like to define myself by what I do for a living. I like that my career choice gives me the time and freedom to pursue my outdoorsy and creative hobbies.
I’m really good at
Creative stuff. I get a lot of satisfaction out of engaging my need to create, be it writing, playing music, or finding a unique way to present a topic at work. Oh yeah, and I consider myself to be pretty good at karaoke.
The first things people usually notice about me
My loud voice and big smile. And I supose my ears... they do stick out a bit...
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I tend to read Sci Fi and my favorite series is Dan Simmons' Hyperion Cantos. I just got into David Mitchell (Cloud Atlas was incredible). I also like to read about politics and history. I tend to find myself reading The Economist more than anything else these days.

Movies: The Godfather Trilogy, V For Vendetta, Ghostbusters, Mel Brooks films (Spaceballs, History of the World, Blazing Saddles), The Lord of the Rings Trilogy, Almost Famous, High Fidelity, Kill Bill, etc.

Music: My favorites are Pink Floyd, Peter Gabriel, U2, Yes, Talking Heads, and Depeche Mode. In general, I'm into modern and classic rock, blues, classic soul, and some electronic stuff. I'm not generally into top 40 pop, rap, or country.

Lately I've been really into Orphan Black, the Black List, and Under The Dome (admittedly a guilty pleasure). How To Get Away With Murder, Twelve Monkeys, and Looking have all held my attention lately. I like to laugh so I usually try to catch the Tonight Show, Drunk History, and @Midnight whenever possible.
The six things I could never do without
Music, music, music, warm weather for hiking, New York pizza, my family, and... oh yeah... music.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Politics and (you guessed it) music. I also spend plenty of time dreaming up new story ideas. I suppose that I also think a lot about where life is taking me/where I'm taking my life. I don't really believe in fate or destony, so I guess its more of where I'm taking my life.
On a typical Friday night I am
Hanging out with friends. I'm happy going out or staying in as long as the company is good!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I hate cleaning. Dishes pile up in the sink and dust collects all over my apartment. I'm the only one who ever sees this though, as I become a cleaning whirl wind before guests come over!
You should message me if
You've reached this point and like what you've read. I am primarily looking for guys to date at this point. New friends are great too. I have an allergic reaction to game-playing and flakiness. Arrogant people piss me off. Only non-smokers, please (trying to quit doesn't count). My ideal guy is considerate, funny, and someone who can laugh at himself now and then. People who like to hike, travel, and go to concerts should move to the front of the line!

PS: It bares repeating that I have a cat. Keep this in mind if you have a feline allergy.
More