Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


37 New York, NY Woman


Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Men
  • Ages 30-45
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My details

Last online
Oct 10
5' 10" (1.78m)
Body Type
Post grad
Doesn’t have kids but wants them
English, French (Somewhat), Spanish (Somewhat)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm a native Manhattanite who's spent much of her adult life in academia. In my spare time, I'm a daydreamer, a giggler, and an idealist. I did my graduate work in developmental psychology and public policy and am passionate about what I do, which is policy-relevant child development research. I'm career-oriented, a bit of a workaholic, and can be introverted, but I'm also really good at having fun.

I'm a pretty trusting person, which sometimes comes across as naivete, but I'd like to think it has more to do with my ability to see the good in others. People are often surprised to learn that I grew up in NYC. I must not seem hardened enough. I am, however, a fast walker and an aggressive pedestrian (especially at intersections) and I can bargain with street vendors like nobody's business.

I have a global sensibility thanks to having spent 13 years at an international school, and I seek out others with similar inclinations.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I'm likely headed for a career in academia but haven't ruled out the possibility of doing something more directly policy related. In fact, I recently stepped out of academia to do a stint at a policy research firm here in NYC. I study the effects of early education programs on low-income children and am interested in forging connections between child development research and public policy for the benefit of disadvantaged kids.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Listening, taking other people's perspectives, making people laugh, singing harmony, stepping all the way into the subway car to make room for others, and pretty much anything that requires being detail-oriented.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
That I'm tall and have auburn curly hair.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
These lists are not exhaustive, but here goes...
Books: On Chesil Beach, The Road, Pnin, La Nuit, The Grapes of Wrath, Anna Karenina, An Unquiet Mind.

Movies: Goodfellas, The Usual Suspects, Memento, American History X, Unforgiven, Life is Beautiful, 3:10 to Yuma.

Music: Alternative, rock, pop, dance, hip-hop, jazz, classical. Some favorites include: MGMT, Muse (Starlight always makes me happy, no matter what my mood is), My Morning Jacket, Radiohead, Death Cab, The Postal Service, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, The Flaming Lips, Passion Pit, Coldplay, U2 (old stuff), Imogen Heap, Bassnectar, Coltrane, Miles Davis, Joao Gilberto, Beethoven, Mozart, Handel, Bach, Barber.

Food: Italian, Middle Eastern, Latin American, Indian, Asian, Spanish, French... Anything, really, as long as it's not too spicy.

Other things I'm partial to, in alphabetical order: Ali G, alliteration, ballet, biking, cilantro, fall colors, Flight of the Conchords, Frank Gehry, horseback riding, hot chocolate, Marimekko, Mark Rothko, marzipan, onomatopoeia, palindromes, Richard Serra, Seurat, string ensembles, tea of all kinds, The New Yorker, violin concertos, volleyball.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Music, laughing, singing and dancing (either in the privacy of my apartment or in public), meditation, NPR/my shower radio/NPR on my shower radio, and long, leisurely dinners with friends and family.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Arcane statistical methods, how to convey research findings to policymakers, life's big questions, like: What are the odds of my running into someone I met on OkCupid on the street? Pancakes or eggs? Where can I get the best chai latte in NYC? Why is it so hard to find medium-sized garbage bags? If CVS carries extra-strength Tylenol but not regular-strength Tylenol, is it really extra strength? Are human beings capable of altruism in the purest sense?
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
No such thing... I might be home relaxing or working, out having dinner with friends or family, taking in a movie, or dancing the night away at a bar.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm a Luddite at heart. I'd be very content if I never had to replace my clunky blue Sanyo Qualcomm cell phone. Update: I got an iPhone! Yes, I'm now an iPhone-toting Luddite (I don't really know how to use it).
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You have a curious mind, a kind heart, a great sense of humor, and you know where you're headed in life.