Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

renaissance83

30 M Berkeley, CA

My Details

Last Online
Online now!
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 6″ (1.98m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Catholicism, and laughing about it
Sign
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently), German (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Living in Berkeley, working in SF, running off on adventures whenever I can escape work or other commitments.

I like to get outdoors whenever possible: riding my bike on the
weekends, camping and backpacking trips, hiking, sitting
out in a park to read, pretty much anything. That being said, I do know what to do in a city as well. I've had weekends that involved dancing until dawn, bike racing, clubbing, than catering and hosting a dinner party. I never want to sit at home and be bored!
What I’m doing with my life
Making buildings not fall down in earthquakes! Seems to be a rather useful skill in this area. The really fun parts are when I get to put a model on the earthquake simulator. Ever seen a building dance?
I’m really good at
Cycling. On a good day, I can fly past all the little vespas, and regularly out-pace the bus. I've biked out to Fairfield for Brunch with a friend, just because it was a nice day outside. Is 100 miles supposed to be really far?

Social dancing, particularly swing, blues, and latin (salsa, cha-cha, little tango). I know a smattering of other things, and if you give me a few minutes to learn some basics and I can usually manage other styles.

Its been some time, but I need to get back into fencing (the Olympic kind, with swords). Physical chess is usually the best description for it - you have to out-think your opponent, in addition to actually out performing them. Chandelier swinging by prior arrangement only.
The first things people usually notice about me
Invariably "Wow! You're really tall!" (Am I a bad person for
pretending to be shocked when people tell me that, just to
see their reaction?)

If you start talking to me, I think fast on my feet. So if I start
telling you that I'm actually a secret agent for a foreign
government, being pursued by terrorists, and need your bottle of
tabasco to make my escape, I am probably making it up as I go
along. (I did get the bottle ot tabasco, after the laughter stopped)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Fun reading: Jacqueline Carey, Brian Jacques, Robert Jordan, Terry Pratchett, Shakespeare, Neal Stephenson
More serious stuff: Guns, Germs, and Steel, The Happiness Hypothesis, Cadillac Desert, Unweaving the Rainbow, Zinn and the Art of Road Bike Maintenance. There are few things to compare with a sunny afternoon, a good book, and a bottle of wine.

Movies and Shows: Not a big one for passive entertainments. Generally prefer movies that leave me with something to think about (Inception), or documentaries (Thank you for Smoking, Food, Inc). Things like Fraiser, Big Bang Theory, and How I met your Mother are always good for a laugh, and cooking shows usually send me scurrying to the kitchen to try something new.

Food: Italian will always be my favorite. (I've always been jealous of my cousins, who have Italian family on their other side.) My philosophy is to try anything, as long as I can get a fork in it before it runs off my plate. So far I haven't been given a reason to reconsider this!
The six things I could never do without
- Interesting people to talk to
- A bike. Definitely my preferred mode of transit.
- Sunshine - I swear its why I grew so tall
- A good book
- A good bottle of wine
- Adrenaline (far too many fun and exciting things to do)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What sort of mischief can I get up to this week/weekend? I take being irresponsible very seriously. Most of the time. Everything in moderation, including moderation ;)
On a typical Friday night I am
Here's what some of my recent Friday nights have looked like:
Catching a live jazz band. There may have been dancing involved.
Headed out of town to go backpacking for the weekend.
After party at a technical conference. Isn't it great when work and play are the same thing?
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Alton Brown approaches baking like structural engineering... and
this makes me very happy.

My career choice partly stems from playing with LEGO. This is not a
bad thing in my opinion.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 26–32
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You believe in taking chances.

I prefer to meet in person, rather than sending endless messages back and forth. That's the fastest way to tell if there really is chemistry, and much more fun than staring at our computers!