Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

roguehistory

31 M Venice, CA

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 11:23pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 3″ (1.91m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, and laughing about it
Sign
Taurus, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Education
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Likes dogs
Speaks
English, French (Fluently), Spanish (Okay), Russian (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm a Texan traveling between here and Washington, DC, working in U.S. foreign policy, international relations, and global governance. I may first come off as tall, dark, and serious, but when you start a conversation with me, my eyes light up and I quickly turn irrepressibly talkative.

I've moved around often these past five years (Austin, The Hague, DC, Paris, Vienna, Ottawa, Virginia, Palo Alto, SF, Mexico City, back to DC, back to SF). I'm ready to slow down, have fun, sink roots, and explore.

I love to read, write, walk, hike, talk, listen, eat, swim, play with dogs, drink coffee, shoot pool, and see live music (that certainly runs the gamut doesn't it?). Though sometimes I prefer to stay in and binge on great dramas, provocative documentaries, tenderhearted indie flicks, or curl up with a volume--new, or preferably old.

I'm passionate about ideas, history, storytelling, political equity, legal rights, social justice, global threats, and world peace. I've always fancied myself brethren to Jason Segel's character in SLC Punk (kudos if you know what I'm talking about). I'm also deadly serious about the evolution of folk and Americana; the right cocktail; beaches, mountains, and valleys; coffee and breakfast tacos; and getting far, far away.

And, yes, I really am 6'3"; so, stand up straight.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm an academic at a university and a nuclear security and law fellow at a DC-think tank who studies the history of nuclear weapons, the dynamics of strategic stability, and the world's efforts to manage both. I've started to expand my interests into the surprisingly promising history of global environmental diplomacy and the many legacies of immigration, race, and gender on American social policy. I also write periodically for various papers and journals.
I’m really good at
My strengths are writing, analysis, reasoning, and teaching. I'm a diamond conversationalist. I live to explain things in ways that a tenured professor or an elementary student can grasp and seize upon equally.

My dream job is presidential speechwriter, or the reincarnation of F. Scott Fitzgerald.

I'm a pretty decent cook, have a deft hand at the grill, swim like a retriever, bike like an engine, run and play like a kid, and I was a pretty good lefty pitcher in my day. I play some guitar and trombone (long ago), sing (often) like an old crooner, speak French, and know some Russian and more Spanish.

I'm one of the best editors you'll ever meet whose grammatical knowledge is full of holes. I love word games, crosswords, and puzzles; however, I get excessively peeved when I can't recall the right word or clue.

I make righteous shrimp tacos, Moscow Mules, and Old Fashioneds, but I'm totally lost in a wine store despite having lived in Paris more than once. I'm now also learning that I'm really bad at yoga! But I'm getting better ...
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm tall and broad-shouldered with a deep voice--I once had an adorable, elderly gay professor tell me that my voice was mellifluous, which is to date the best pickup line I've ever heard.

I've since learned that mellifluous derives from the Latin word for honey.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I'm going to try and keep this short:

Books: Swamplandia!, The Master and Margarita, Darkness at Noon, Atonement, A Confederacy of Dunces, Catch-22, Vonnegut, Philip K. Dick, Ray Bradbury, Cloud Atlas, and bookshelves of non-fiction

Movies: 2001: A Space Odyssey, Dr. Strangelove, High Fidelity, Deerhunter, Children of Men, Best in Show, Midnight in Paris

TV: Breaking Bad, Game of Thrones, Girls, Newsroom, and Mad Men.

Music: Radiohead, Other Lives, Jenny Lewis, Real Estate, My Morning Jacket, Van Morrison, Ray LaMontagne, Rufus Wainwright, Neko Case, Classic Rock, Ryan Adams, Savages, Grizzly Bear, Tame Impala, Aphex Twin Pandora station while I write, and of course much more. I tend to get fixated on one album and listen to it until I can't stand it anymore (e.g. Beck's new offering, "Morning Phase")

Food: BBQ (sorry cows), Mexican, Chinese, and really good fish of any cuisine
The six things I could never do without
my library of books & my kindle
live music
lakes, rivers, oceans, and swimming pools
my hiking boots
my family
sunday morning french press
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Nuclear war! Seriously, that's without a doubt my defining weird characteristic, but also my job. I travel around the world digging up musty old de-classified documents in a quest to patch together how we ended up with the big, crazy, semi-stable world in which we now live.

Also: domestic and international politics; U.S., international, and global history; war and peace; international economics and finance; environmental diplomacy; contemporary non-fiction and fiction; traveling and languages; college football (this should be higher); music (thank you Pitchfork) and especially live music; anything theatrical; and that future house with lots of wood on a river or lake reflecting a skyline of snow-capped peaks, and two big slobbery dogs: one a Labrador retriever and the other a Bernese mountain dog.
On a typical Friday night I am
Recently, I've been asked to write three book chapters for edited anthologies, which is exciting but it's going to keep me fully engaged this summer.

Honestly, I work a lot. But my weekends are sacrosanct with at least one day spent aimlessly sun-dappled.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I once won a 5k by inadvertently cutting the course short.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 24–32
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You'd like to chat, grab coffee, dinner, or, best yet, see some music or go for a hike.

You're beautiful inside and out, look great in a dress but better in shorts, a tank top, and hiking boots. You like conversations for conversations' sake and people the same way.