Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

roundhouse027

26 F New York, NY

My Details

Last Online
Today – 3:45pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 9″ (1.75m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism, and somewhat serious about it
Sign
Leo, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Banking / Finance
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, and doesn’t want any
Pets
Likes dogs and has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm from San Diego originally but my personality is more NYC than SD. I walk fast and work hard. I prefer doing things to hanging out. I devour information. I plan things out relentlessly. I have lots of strong opinions and am not afraid to share them. I am a dreamer and an explorer, and I hate Explorer. When I want something, I find a way to make it happen. But I'm not all in your face about it. I'm friendly and I love talking to new people and learning all about them.
What I’m doing with my life
Trying to keep things exciting and avoid boredom. Going cool places whenever possible. I'm always doing side projects. Recent ones include some 3D graphics work, and making a Melisandre costume from scratch including sewing the dress and resin casting the jewelry (you can see it in my photos, but I'm guessing if you're reading this you probably already have). I don't do things half way.

As far as my job, I work as a quant/trader for a finance firm doing high frequency trading. Basically what this means is I write computer programs that buy and sell stocks to make money. It's a mix of mathematics, trading strategy, and software development. The challenge is rewarding to me, I'm always learning new things, and I have a lot of respect for my colleagues. I definitely disagree with what Michael Lewis has to say about HFT.
I’m really good at
Math.
Counting cards. Think Zach Galifianakis in the Hangover without the unnecessary Fourier transforms floating around my head. And I look better doing it. I've been kicked out of more than half the casinos on the strip.
Cooking. More of an occasional hobby than a routine lifestyle thing. I recently made some phenomenal confit pork belly. Fat makes things taste good.
Throwing parties. Walking the fine line between getting people happy drunk and having them puke in the bathroom.
Making things.
Taekwondo (I used to compete in college, but I stopped a couple years ago after an ACL tear just before my black belt test. Now I'm doing crossfit, but I leave TKD here because it explains the username).
Brain teasers. Try me.
My regular expressions are almost always correct on the first try.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm pretty tall, especially when I wear heels. My nerd glasses when I'm at work or my eyes when I wear contacts.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I read a lot of science fiction. I just finished Embassytown by China Mieville. Ender's Game and Hitchhiker's Guide got me into the genre. I found His Master's Voice (Stanislaw Lem) to be brilliant, and I love pretty much everything by Alastair Reynolds. Probably half of my reading time is for fun-reading, and the rest goes to reading articles about history/politics/science/economics/other topics I'm interested in. Most recently read non science fiction: a programming textbook (yawn), Dark Pools (work-related), the Game of Thrones books (extremely cool).

I don't watch a lot of movies or TV. My current shows are Game of Thrones and House of Cards. My roommates and I watch Jeopardy together and compete to answer the questions.

For food, I try to cook at least a couple times a week, but that doesn't always happen. Mostly I try to follow a paleo style of eating (lots of meat and veggies), with an emphasis on organic and local. When I cook for other people, I tend to get carried away making everything elaborate. I love Korean and Mexican food, and I like going to the great restaurants in NYC and other cities I visit (if I had to pick favorites, I'd probably say Eleven Madison Park and Arzac). I'm currently in love with a hole in the wall Brazilian place in Astoria. I'm also really into wine - I've gone through a good amount of dry riesling recently.
The six things I could never do without
- Sources of new information (books, the internet) and especially my Kindle. I burn through Kindles at an alarming rate. I recently got my sixth. The fifth one died when I plunged it underwater - I was reading in a hot tub when a bee landed on me. That two day period between the Kindle death and Prime getting me my new one is always slightly traumatic.

- Friendly animals. Dogs in particular. My roommates' cat is an inferior substitute, but it works for now.

- Interesting problems to solve. I'm always trying to think about ways to improve an algorithm or solve a math problem. I'd rather do a crossword or a nonogram than play flappy bird.

- Goals, ambitions, plans, challenges. I'm happiest when I'm motivated by something. If I'm not working toward a goal, I feel lost.

- A Leatherman in my purse/pocket. This is useful way more often than you might think.

- Coffee. Lots of coffee.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
- the economy, and interesting things that are happening in the world.
- statistical models.
- cool start-up ideas that I'll probably never implement, and some that maybe I will.
- how to get a spring and summer off work to hike the Pacific Crest Trail
- should I get a dog?
- someone should write a Game of Thrones fanfic from the perspective of Littlefinger that reads like House of Cards.
On a typical Friday night I am
I stay at work until 7:30 or so, and then if I don't have dinner plans I go to Trader Joe's (seriously that's when the lines are the shortest). Then I relax a bit at home before meeting up with friends for drinks or at home for games.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
One of my side projects - I design bots for online poker. Technically it's not cheating if it just acts as an advisor and "suggests" what to play as long as you click the buttons yourself.
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 26–34
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For short-term dating
You should message me if
You want to have a conversation. In person.

You like doing and accomplishing things more than hanging out on the couch.

You want to go on adventures and never settle down. You want to hike Vinson Massif and Olympus Mons.

You are smart and intellectual and passionate about something. You work on or read about cool stuff that you want to tell me about.

You aren't a bro. You don't have a clichéd American Psycho reference on your profile.