Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

runnicles

29 M Ithaca, NY

My Details

Last Online
Online now!
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 9″ (1.75m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Judaism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Capricorn, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Education
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently), Ancient Greek, Spanish, Hebrew

Similar Users

My self-summary
I like theatre, singing, bowling, good movies, and meaningful conversations. I thrive on seeing issues, situations and people from several sides. I like classics (ancient kind) and understanding why people behave how they do. So I enjoy studying psych, comm., mythology, fairy tales, Vikings, Ancient Greece/Rome/Egypt, animal behavior, evolution, and history.
What I’m doing with my life
I am currently on a break from my PhD deciding what I want to do with my life. In the interim I am living in Ithaca and have part-time work, sing choirs, and have volunteered and interned at various local venues such as Hangar Theatre, Museum of the Earth, Referral Institute, Melodramatics Theatre Company (served as Marketing Director for Sweeney Todd last fall), and various activities based out of Risley Hall. At present, I am applying to jobs, was recently Director of Marketing for a giant Disney concert that took place at IC in February, and just finished directing Cyrano de Bergerac at Risley Theatre.

For the past two years, I have been a PhD student in Communication at Cornell studying intergroup bias, the evolution of cooperation and defection/deception, and science communication. I frequent local theater events, sing in the Cornell Chorale and also do karaoke on Saturday nights, meet lots of interesting professors in dining halls, and am Public Relations Representative and co-founder of the Cornell Society of Whovians (so if you like Doctor Who, you know where to find me). I was also Founder/President of the David Attenborough Documentary-watching Club at Cornell at one point during undergrad (so if you like David Attenborough, you know where to find me).

In the past six years, I have traveled to: Canada; Israel; Greece; England; Wales; Scotland; Spain; France; Netherlands; Germany; Czech Republic; Austria; Bavaria; Italy.

Before my PhD, I tutored ESL and SATs and was an adjunct professor in psychology at a community college. This was after returning to the U.S. from Liverpool, UK, where I lived for a year and a half and graduated with an MSc in psychology with distinction. In between that and returning home, I took a month and a half Eurotrip fulfilling a lifelong dream.

Prior to that I worked with troubled youth at a residential treatment center and attended some field courses at Shoals Marine Lab on Appledore Island, where I studied animal behavior (in the field with crazy gulls).

Before embarking on these crazy journeys, I studied at Cornell University and majored in psychology while studying a variety of other subjects and living in a castle. I directed a play in Risley Theatre my senior year of college called The Visit by Friedrich Durrenmatt. After graduating, I traveled to Europe for the first time to tour (Ancient) Greece, another big deal for me as I love Greek culture so much (old and new).

I am enjoying figuring out where life will take me next.
I’m really good at
I'm great at making new friends. I have good emotional intelligence and am a very good listener. I am also good at acting, directing and singing. I will kick your butt at Scrabble or Bananagrams no doubt.
The first things people usually notice about me
I easily approach people I don't know to meet them. Even those who hardly know me feel they can easily confide in me. I've been told I have pretty sweet eyes. They're bright green and have sweet yellowish-brownish starbursty things around the pupils.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
A. Books/Authors: Terry Pratchett; Neil Gaiman; Harry Potter; Lord of the Rings; all plays; Strindberg; Durrenmatt; O'Neil; Greek tragedies; Euripides; Sophocles; Aeschylus; Greek comedies; Aristophanes; the complete works of Lucian; Roman Comedies; Plautus; Terence; Shakespeare; Alice's Adventures in Wonderland; Cat's Cradle and all Kurt Vonnegut works; The Brief and Frightening Reign of Phil; Howl's Moving Castle; Poirot novels of Agatha Christie.

B. Movies: Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind; Amelie;Woody Allen films (e.g. Midnight in Paris; Stardust Memories; Purple Rose of Cairo); Hot Fuzz; Little Miss Sunshine; The Royal Tenenbaums; Science of Sleep; Aladdin and sequels; all good Disney Movies; Hook; Donnie Darko; ET; Angels in America; Forest Gump; Rear Window; Across the Universe; Scott Pilgrim vs. the World; Batman; Spiderman; The Muppets movies; most foreign films; independent films.

C. Music: Les Miserables; Avenue Q; most Musicals; Soundtracks; John Williams; Classical; Disney; Billy Joel; Cake; Styx; Moody Blues; George Winston; Beatles; Dark Side of the Moon; Anime music; Final Fantasy music; Legend of Zelda music; Forest Gump soundtrack; Amelie soundtrack; Jazz; Cowboy Bebop.

D. TV Shows: Breaking Bad; Eureka; Warehouse 13; Once Upon a Time; Chuck; Doctor Who; Torchwood; Firefly; Sherlock; Game of Thrones; Dr. Horrible's Singalong Blog; House; Lost; Black Books; Scrubs; Coupling; Castle; Mad Men; Spaced; The Goodies; anything old-school Nick-at-Nite

E. Musicals: Oliver!; Les Miserables; Sweeney Todd; Fiddler on the Roof; all of Gilbert and Sullivan operettas, especially The Pirates of Penzance; Music Man; My Favorite Year; Merrily We Roll Along; Avenue Q; Grease

F. Food: Chinese; Japanese; Thai; Jewish; vegan; mushrooms; parsnips; beets; baby corn; breakfast foods
The six things I could never do without
A good friend; plays and being involved in them; my two class rings; my analytical brain; music to listen to; 5 alarm clocks
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I muse about how understanding human behavior (through psychology; communication; evolution; theater) can help me make the world a better place and alleviate social conflict. I try to invent ways of translating theory into applied practice. Also, where in the world IS Carmen Sandiego anyway? Seriously!
On a typical Friday night I am
I can be doing any number of awesome things, like seeing a play, hanging out with friends, watching movies, going bowling, drinking, eating at a local cafe, reading books, or playing Scrabble or video/board games (and winning). It's always nicest with the right company!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I don't like the Rocky Horror Picture Show.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 21–33
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
you've always wished you had a library in your house; you identify with Belle; you like Terry Pratchett or Doctor Who; you like anything or everything in my profile; or, if you just want to.