Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

samenor

39 Tempe, AZ Man

Man

Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 25–42
  • Located anywhere
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating

My details

Last online
Online now!
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Hispanic / Latin, White
Height
5′ 7″ (1.70m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Other, and laughing about it
Sign
Gemini, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Technology
Status
Single
Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Has dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Okay), Spanish (Okay), Chinese (Poorly)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm religiously unreligious. That's probably a good place to start. Also, I'm not a fan of smoking. That will take a 10 to a 2 for me.

I have a robotics startup. That sucks most of my time and attention now and for the foreseeable future.

When I was younger (and probably when I answered half of the questions here), I was much more opposed to having kids. Now, much less so. I have a dog who I spend a lot of time with. Took her with me when I lived in France, and I drive to LA and SF for business trips so she can come with (she is too big to fly in the cabin and I'm not fond of lying and claiming she is a service dog when she is not).

I'm a big fan of traveling - especially being someplace else. I love big, walkable cities (New York, London, Paris, etc), but the desert has its own charm (though I do find the relentless clear blue skies a bit depressing at time and could stand a few more thunderstorms).

I go climbing at Phoenix Rock Gym a couple times a week and I enjoy vinyasa / flow yoga (not hot and sans woo). I have a membership to a place that I love for that in Los Angeles but only rarely go when I'm in Tempe, which is now the bulk of the time.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I was a research professor in Supercomputing at Arizona State. I was getting paid well but for doing things that I didn't feel like mattered. I got sick of seeing tuition skyrocketing with lots of it going to buildings and paying people $100-$200k / year who seemed to get in the way more than help, while the tenure track positions were being replaced with cheap lecture positions.. so I quit [/editorialization]

I'm in the process of starting up a robotics company. That involves a lot of R&D (probably at least another Ph.D. worth so far) and a bit of travel.

I don't mind being on my own, but it'd be nice to find someone like minded to share my life with, so I'm here.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
I'm great at solving problems and learning new things.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
You'll have to tell me.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Wouldn't it be more interesting to discuss in person?

I like a variety of all of the above. My favorite movie is probably Joe vs the Volcano - not a great movie by any means, but I like it.

Showing my age but Quantum Leap is probably my favorite show. There are lots of good ones, though. Recently probably Last Week Tonight if I had to pick one, in particular.

All sorts of music is good though less on the country / western side, and if I'm being honest with myself (and you), my favorite is probably comedy (think: Weird Al and Garfunkel / Oates).

I love lots of kinds of food. I eat meat though I think it's ethically wrong, but I like spicy things with veggies. I'm not a huge fan of vegetarian foods that are trying to be meat (think: Green) but I love ones that are their own thing and work well (think: Udupi). I enjoy hamburger and steak from time to time but could easily live the rest of my life without eating cow or pig (chicken and salmon would be much harder to give up).
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
The obvious - shelter, clothing, a chance to relax, challenges, my computer, my dog.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Whatever I'm working on at the time. How to solve problems. What I'll focus on next.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
I don't feel any «Friday Night» pressure. It's great to go out with friends but I'm not a huge fan of fighting crowds and I hate clubs.

On the modal Friday Night recently, I'm probably at home working.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My favorite thing about OK Cupid so far is just answering questions and reading other people's explanations.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
Aside from the obvious (something about my profile made you think I might be worth saying «hi» to), message me if you're interesting and interested in / curious about things and people.

If you've never gone climbing before and would like to try it out with someone who is friendly and supportive, or if you're just looking for a good conversation (online or over coffee) without any expectations or pressure of it going anywhere (it'd be great if it does, but there's nothing wrong with just getting to know somebody new).