Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

sapphirelady1

38 F San Jose, CA

My Details

Last Online
Apr 10
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 2″ (1.57m)
Body Type
Full figured
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Christianity, and very serious about it
Sign
Pisces, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Education
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Likes dogs and has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Okay), Korean (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I am a temporarily-grounded world traveler, educator, and writer in search of new ideas, eclectic experiences, and dynamic interactions with everyday people. I am a bit of an "eccentric character," which is probably why I am still single.

I am also a practicing Christian. My philosophy is "Love is action," with a focus on the action part.

I have a definite academic bent, but I also have a very artistic streak - that said, I am INFJ all the way. I love getting out and doing various activities, from live theater to hiking. I also love to get outdoors when the weather permits, but I also love the rain. I am not really a "girly-girl," but I do "clean up well" after an adventure or two.

I am looking for an internationally-minded life partner who has a sense of adventure.

"A journey is a person in itself; no two are alike. And all plans, safeguards, policing, and coercion are fruitless. We find that after years of struggle that we do not take a trip; a trip takes us." John Steinbeck
What I’m doing with my life
I am teaching ESL at the moment, and focusing on finding that ever elusive full-time ESL job in academia.
I’m really good at
laughing. I have an odd sense of humor because I can see the comedy in almost any situation - though not always at the moment of the situation! This I attribute to having traveled much and having lived overseas. If you can't laugh at yourself, you do not know yourself well.

listening to others. I am that person who can find out a random stranger's life story in 5 minutes or less - just ask my friends and family. I love hearing stories, and I love telling stories.

talking. Although I am an introvert by nature, I am also a communications educator. I can carry on an intelligent conversation on almost any topic because I read obsessively when I have time. Currently, I am reading about Saudi Arabia.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Too many to list, so a few of each -
Books: East of Eden (fiction)- John Steinbeck, The Oracle Bones Trilogy- Peter Hessler (non-fiction); Better - Atul Gawande; anything by Bill Bryson and David Sedaris
Movies: Lost in Translation, Old Boy, The Lord of the Rings Trilogy, Les Miserables (except for the bad singing), The Last Unicorn
Shows: anime, historical/political documentaries, Korean dramas (except rom-coms)
Music: Queen, Bon Jovi, pretty much any classic rock; non-jukebox Broadway shows
Food: Korean, Mexican (sometimes together!), anything new - but I HATE seafood!!!
The six things I could never do without
-my books
-my passport
-my cats (love me, love my cat - but I'm not a crazy cat lady;)
-my students
-a pen and paper
-my family
I spend a lot of time thinking about
intercultural communication and the role of globalization - it's my job and passion.
the benefits of settling down vs. the benefits of traveling
On a typical Friday night I am
resting - sigh. I work too late and get home too late to do anything on a Friday night.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have always wanted to compete (with a partner) on "The Amazing Race."
"A woman can look both moral and exciting - if she also looks as if it were quite a struggle." Edna Ferber

That's my girl;)
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 27–45
  • Located anywhere
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating
You should message me if
you think we have something in common. I am really a friendly person who is open to communication with anyone. I believe that all good relationships start with a solid friendship.

SO what am I looking for? I am looking for someone who is open to explore the world and go on adventures with me (or vice versa - I make a pretty good Ruth). I am looking for that person who is not afraid to take chances, but can balance risk-taking with practical life skills (paying bills, staying out of debt/reducing debt, keeping a steady job, etc.). I am looking for the man I can lean on in times of trouble; in turn, you will always be able to lean on me - I am very dependable and loyal that way:)

As far as dating is concerned: I will only date Christian men - no exceptions. If you are not a Christian, we can certainly hang out, but that is as far as it goes. I don't want to lead anyone on...Likewise, if you aren't feeling it, please don't lead me on:
"Life's too short, babe,
Time is flying,
I'm looking for baggage
that goes with mine!"
Bonus if you can name the musical;)