Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

science-writes

33 Edinburgh, UK Woman

Woman

I’m looking for

  • Men
  • Ages 25–42
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Dec 26
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 3″ (1.60m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Sign
Leo, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
…What, you were expecting a Nobel Prize for Literature?

I’m a scientist-in-training who wanted to be a costume designer when I grew up. That was because I liked designing clothing for people who didn’t exist in real life. I once had a job making corsets for a theatre department in college because I was the only one who could do the math to make them fit properly.

I freely admit to being a big nerd, but at least my friends never suffered when I got in trouble as a kid. Instead of grounding me, my mom would take away my books. Fortunately, that doesn’t seem to have had any major effects on my Pub Trivia Night scores.

And while I may have quit my job, and sold nearly everything I owned to move halfway around the world to go back to school, I haven’t forgotten my American South roots. Blood may run thicker than water, but family is who you make it. And most of the world’s problems can be solved over a margarita.

I’m not here to save the world; I’d be happy with meeting a great guy. The kind of guy who knows the perfect album to play while I’m cooking a Tex-Mex feast to share. The kind of guy who beats me to the punchline of “There are 10 kinds of people in the world…” The kind of guy who will pick me up from the airport and surprise me with flowers. The kind of guy who finds tickets to Something for Kate because he knows I’ve got a big crush on Paul Dempsey.

If you’re that kind of guy, what are you waiting for??
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I am going along, having adventures and looking for someone to share them with.

I recently gave up my life in Corporate America, sold my house, my car, and (almost) all my possessions to pursue an advanced degree in environmental science. I feel very lucky to have the opportunity, and will get to see Australia and the better part of Europe before I'm finished.

When I'm not in the lab, I enjoy taking in all that Edinburgh has to offer. I've found a few good pubs and restaurants, but would love to hear what your favourites are! I am learning to play guitar, and right now know just enough to be dangerous. In also enjoy dancing, a good book, or some time in the kitchen putting together a nice dinner or something sweet for my friends.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Learning, writing, dancing, solving problems, and cooking
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Probably my accent
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books...I enjoy reading, so there's always something going. Laurie R. King is my favorite author. Beyond that, anything goes. Like everyone else, I'm working through the Game of Thrones series. I take lots of breaks to read other things, though. I'd also like to read more local authors--got any recommendations?

Movies...I like lots of movies. I don't go to see nearly enough. Keeping up with blockbusters is about as much as I can do!

TV....I'm afraid I don't watch that much, but I'm hopelessly in love with Mad Men and Sherlock. I also like South Park and the odd episode of How I Met Your Mother. I love watching university-level American football (gridiron) and AFL.

Music: My tastes are eclectic, and I can usually find something about any genre to like. Electronic/ambient dominates my headphones at work, such as Hecq and Aphex Twin, but I'm a total sucker for a guy with a guitar. Paul Dempsey and John Mayer are a couple favourites.

Food: At home, I try to keep it mostly healthy. I enjoy cooking, and I enjoy sharing it with others. Stick around long enough, and you will be fed :) Mexican food is my favorite, since I grew up in Texas, but I'm picky about it. I like sushi, Thai, and curry.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
1. My friends and family
2. Tea
3. A good book
4. My passport
5. Good conversation
6. My phone (for the maps)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
The current problem with my research, and my next adventure!
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
I would love to say that I'm out partying it up, but I'm usually in, doing a bit of cooking, enjoying a movie and unwinding from the week. But if you've got a hankering to go out, I'm game!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I've lived in a haunted house....twice!
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
Something here interests you or you think we'd have something in common.

P.S.
One-word messages won't be answered.