scuba_eric
28 Mountain View, CA
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
scuba_eric
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Athletic, driven, and easily-fascinated guy seeking partner in crime for outdoors adventures, romance, country concerts and more. My current obsession is climbing - I'm climbing outside as often as my buddies will put up with! Last year I blew through my goals had over 45 adventure days - I'm still trying to pick a goal for 2016. Oh also worth noting I'm totally hooked on the soundtrack to Hamilton!
What I’m doing with my life
Software engineer in the bay area, how original right? Stanford seduced me away from the mountains of Colorado, and I stayed because, well, it's Silicon Valley and so many of my friends are out here! I'm loving my job for now, so we'll see where it leads. It also doesn't hurt that on any particular weekend I can dive, hike, cycle, climb, dance, and/or play tennis - so many options :).

I really enjoy traveling... I've been on a few short trips and a couple big trips, and I've hiked on every continent I've been to (only missing South America and Antarctica!). My greatest accomplishment in life (okay not really) was getting a geoguessr in a place I'd been and nailing it down to 0.04km.

I bought a guitar so I could teach myself to play. So far all I can say for that one is that my guitar looks good in my living room.
I’m really good at
Loudly singing off-key.
Failing to remember people's names.
Losing my keys.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
TV - Outlander, Modern Family, Glee, Suits, Bojack Horseman, Orange is the New Black...most netflix shows really, Downton Abbey, Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother.

Movies - The Perks of Being a Wallflower blew my mind - so good. Frozen too (kinda expected my little brother to give me shit for that, but he had the same reaction I did!)

Books - Mistborn, Harry Potter, Game of Thrones, Earth's Children, some Vernor Vinge books, Michael Crichton. Misc non-fiction. Also, call it a guilty pleasure, but I really enjoyed Atlas Shrugged (as fiction, I swear!)

Music - pop (the good, the crappy, and especially the a Capella renditions), oldies, and the kind of country that has more rock than twang.

Food - Thai, quinoa, Vietnamese, eggs, Indian, scallion pancakes, Chinese, sweet potatoes, Japanese, really big salads, Mexican, and Chipotle (yes that gets its whole category).
The six things I could never do without
Exercise, challenges, companionship, girl scout cookies?
On a typical Friday night I am
Hanging out with friends and getting ready for a weekend of climbing or diving or hiking, or headed out to dance at the Saddle Rack, enjoying a stout, or witnessing proof my gbff's perfection of the art of drink-mixing.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I love bathrobes. I have 3 of them, so I can wear one no matter how hot or cold it is. When they talk about robes in Harry Potter, I totally pictured them wearing bathrobes.
You should message me if
You're a pretty happy person, you enjoy the outdoors but have a nerdy streak, and traveling / climbing / scuba diving your way around the world is a life dream.
More