Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

sea-violet

52 F New York, NY

My Details

Last Online
Today – 1:11am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 3″ (1.60m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Judaism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Scorpio, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Education
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Likes dogs and has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Japanese (Poorly), Yiddish (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Urban gal who enjoys groovy friends, two cat pals, self-employment, yoga and poker habits, and a rich diet of NYC street life and culture. Would love to hit it off with a smart, sexy mensch for the collaborative art of romantic companionship.

Highlights: Born and bred in the wilds of Long Island, a Manhattanite since 1985. Lived in Japan and snorkeled in Australia. Never married or had kids, though open to life's possibilities. Close with my sisters and dazzling nieces and nephews.

Like a piquant dish, I'm a mix of flavors: sweet and tart, pungent and mild. My courteous exterior hides a surprisingly punchy sense of humor. Also a soft heart. I try to treat people and animals with fairness and kindness. Politically progressive, I'm comfortable with non-conformity and attracted to the artistic.

What excites me? I seek the romance of old New York--highballs at the Algonquin or a rendezvous at Grand Central Station. (I'm a sucker for 1930's Hollywood movies.) A $5 pot and a good poker hand make my heart beat faster. I tear up when I hear achingly beautiful singing. I'm devoted to my book group of nearly 25 years. The wilderness beckons--love to hike, camp and swim. I attend, and occasionally understand, esoteric lectures and poetry readings. I generally/genuinely like the company of kids.

I believe in my work teaching communication skills to budding doctors and nurses. I also appreciate my flexible schedule--the gym is best in the afternoon when everyone else is at work!

Among my good habits: I’m into healthy, vegetarian food (snaps to my neigborhood greenmarket) and regular workouts. Among my bad habits: I like to stay up late, may leave dishes in the sink, have watched "Wife Swap" more than once.
What I’m doing with my life
Learning how to live it well.
I’m really good at
schmoozing. My friends say I'd make a great talk show host. I hope that means I'm sensitive to social nuance and good at drawing people out.
The first things people usually notice about me
Likely, as Katharine Hepburn says to Spencer Tracy in "Desk Set," that I'm female.

Secondly, probably my "naturally curly hair" (like Frieda of the Peanuts gang) or my blue eyes. I get nice comments on both.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Activities: Yoga, vegetable and apartment gardening, studying Yiddish, winning at poker, adventurous travel (rather rough it than take a cruise), my book group of 24 (!) years, hiking, dancing, swimming, smooching, strolls in Central Park (my backyard), lectures/talks, films, opera, concerts, museums, meditation (is that active?).

Books: Two favorite genres are popular science books (I like learning about how people and the universe work) and 19th c. British novels.

Poetry: H.D. Doolittle, Robert Frost, Shakespeare's sonnets (I like to recite them in private). A favorite poem: http://quod.lib.umich.edu/a/amverse/BAD4143.0001.001/1:19?rgn=div1;view=fulltext

Movies: Satyajit Ray and Michael Powell (directors), 30's and 40's Hollywood, X-Men.

Music: Folk/rock (Richard Thompson, Donovan, Joni Mitchell, Neil Young), alternative/indie (Belle and Sebastian) standards (Ella, Sinatra), classical--particularly opera (Handel, Mozart).

Food: Diverse ethnic cuisines, spicy. My current favorite fruit is a small yellow mango with bright orange flesh.

Least favorite things: Narcissism, right-wing politics, cutting in line, the street corner odor of honey-roasted nuts, highly processed food, cruelty in any form.
The six things I could never do without
Kinship
My cats
Seasonal fruit
Books
Physicality
The great outdoors
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm not perfect. (Shocking admission in a dating profile, I know!)
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 45–59
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
you've got a hunch about us.

My wish list: You’re brainy though not self-serious, engaging, competent, physically fit/at ease in your body, into the arts and/or progressive politics, a keen observer and a graceful conversationalist (both give and take). Extra points if you can change a flat. Of course, none of us is perfect, so I'm prepared to appreciate your lovable quirks. And I won't mind at all if you are nice to look at.