Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

maroonedislander

25 M Carrboro, NC

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 6:10pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 9″ (1.75m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Other
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I act mindfully. I lead with that simple sentence because I can hopefully avoid some of the discomfort and triteness that comes with opening paragraphs often found on dating sites. Yes I'm kind, empathetic, thoughtful, can carry on interesting and enjoyable conversations (PhD students actually know more about the world than simply what they study!), and dare I say somewhat handsome (something I actually believe--that's not my mom typing for me). But I say mindful because I really mean conscientious. I am very driven to act in ways that help others and try to be conscious of that every day.

But just because I'm conscientious or sincere doesn't mean that I'm super-serious. There is a time and a place for seriousness. But I see that as generally confined to school. I work to help solve problems related to women's health and development internationally (it's a bit more complex than this though--but I'm happy to explain!), and I think given the severity of those issues, some level of seriousness is warranted. But after 5 pm (or sometimes 10 pm since I'm a graduate student...), any pressure or expectations that I have for myself are eased, and I tend to be fairly relaxed.

I'm always on the hunt for adventures--life doesn't seem too much fun unless there's variety and challenge, and I like to find new ways to have fun. On that point, if anyone who is reading this knows how to kitesurf, please message me--I really want to learn! But in the interim, I'll just have to settle for running, biking, hiking, and open-water swimming (the latter is really fun--if you haven't done it before, it's really worth trying).

I also have a strong sarcastic streak about me. I'm fairly good at knowing when to butt in and provide some witty remark, although this sometimes gets me into trouble if people don't know me too well. (I once suggested to someone who does health work in Kenya that she should visit the hospital where President Obama was born--it took her a little while to pick up on my intentions).
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Surviving graduate school (ie. studying a lot). And reading books and baking cookies--both have their own delights.

I also try to get outside. I do actually get outside. That's a great thing about North Carolina--there are still plenty of places to hike, bike, and swim where I won't see too many people, and get to reconnoiter with nature.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Finding cheap airline tickets--I wrote an ebook about this back in the day. (You weren't expecting that, were you?)
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm often quiet in social settings and I usually don't get noticed until I make some pointed joke. So probably some bit of sarcastic social commentary is what ends up getting noticed first.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: White Teeth (it's not about dentistry, despite being asked about this on an airplane once), Catch 22, Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy, and Twilight in the Desert are a few of my favorite books across genres.

TV shows: The Simpsons, Arrested Development, The Office

Food: Indian food. That's not to say there's anything wrong with Thai food, Chinese food, or Mediterranean food, but Indian food is really the best.

Music: Celtic music, for the most part. I'm trying to gather as many versions of the tune Calliope House at the moment.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
My computer
Running
A good book (a recent issue of The Economist might be an appropriate substitute)
Ice cream
Family
Mint tea
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
I suppose school work and my research consume a lot of my brainpower, for better or worse. But, as hard as it sometimes is to believe in graduate school, there is more to life. I ponder where I might go hiking or travel in the near future. I always have plenty of good ideas for trips floating around--just not the time nor the money to take all of them!
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Watching a movie or baking something. I bake really good cookies, according to other people.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I am one of the three people in America who actually has a Discover Card. Yes, I am pretty sure that there are only three of us.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 21–28
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You have a story to tell and want someone to tell it to.