24 Montreal, Quebec, CA
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hey, I'm a native Mexican who immigrated to Canada some years ago to pursue a better life for myself. I'm a permanent resident currently attending university where I'm almost done through my 2nd bachelor's degree in Translation. My first one is in IT, but now I'm interested in pursuing a degree that'll allow me to have more of a literary and social impact than working in IT would.

I'm fluent in English, French and Spanish. Additionally, I'm adding Japanese to the mix because... why not?

What kind of girl am I looking for?

Someone that is well read, open minded, adventurous; willing to try new things, and will change my world for the better just by knowing her. A short order basically...
What I’m doing with my life
Studying for a translation degree and greatly enjoying all the work that I do there.

Meanwhile, I'm constantly trying to improve as a person whether it be cooking, swing/rockabilly jive dancing, Japanese learning and myself through exercise (I go to the gym twice a week)... it's not about the goal but how you get there...

I'm also writing a stand-up comedy bit that I probably won't ever finish or act out.
I’m really good at
Cooking (see photos) usually it's Mexican, Chinese, Japanese, Thai, Indian or else whatever ingredients are on sale. I'm always down for whipping up a new recipe.

Swing and rockabilly jive dancing... I don't know if I'm good, but I practice often.

Retro video-games: I'm always playing old games in my cell phone while on the metro, like Mario Kart and Tetris.

The first things people usually notice about me
My hair and that I look younger than my actual age.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: The count of Monte-Cristo, The 3 Musketeers, 1984, the Harry Potter series, Philip K. Dick books, H.P. Lovecraft stories, George R. R. Martin's The song of fire and ice series (Game of Thrones for the less geeky), books of old advertisements (more details on that obsession in person) and finally grammar books.

Movies: I like quirky movies such as those from Wes Anderson's (especially Fantastic Mr. Fox) and Satoshi Kon (Millenium Actress). Lately I've been on an pre-80's movie streak.

Music: Mostly Twee, alternative rock, 80's music, shibuya-kei (Japanese music influenced by 60's French yé-yé music). From these tastes THE SMITHS and PIZZICATO FIVE trump everything else.

Food: Everything that I make (well, almost everything)

TV: Archer, Gravity Falls, Avatar, Bob's Burgers, Steven Universe. Also anime, but it has to have a unique and interesting enough premise.
The six things I could never do without
-an oven (in which to cook)
-dancing (getting better every week)
-video games (well, I need distractions)
-books (reading is cool)
-art (in all its forms... except pottery, not a fan)
-gym (picking up heavy stuff and putting it down again is relaxing)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What new experiences or challenges I want to undertake in my life, the problematic gender relations between men and women and how to respect and not just objectify women one is attracted to, different recipes to challenge my cooking skills, and unfamiliar artists to discover.
On a typical Friday night I am
Probably either out swing dancing, watching something on Netflix, reading a nice book, hosting dinner for friends or playing video games with friends. Certainly not in a loud place...
You should message me if
want to try out swing/jive dancing

think that books are awesome

want to know the secret to managing curly hair

think that cooking while singing 80's hits sounds like your idea of a good time

'd like to be instrumental in changing my life.