Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

shy_raven

41 F Vestal, NY

My Details

Last Online
Today – 11:54am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 7″ (1.70m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Other
Smokes
No
Drinks
Not at all
Drugs
Religion
Other, and somewhat serious about it
Sign
Aquarius, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Education
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Likes dogs and dislikes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm seeking a soulmate, someone who is fun and has love to give. I'm sort of a Renaissance woman. I love the outdoors--sunbathing, walking, running barefoot sometimes, swimming across a lake if I'm allowed to, camping, cross-country skiing, climbing trees, or just sitting out and reading. I love music and am a self-taught pianist and guitarist, and I used to compose electronic music. My tastes are eclectic: electronic (techno, trance, etc.), folk (especially Thistle and Shamrock), some classical, and heavy metal, among others. I belong to no church but consider myself very spiritual, tending toward a kind of eclectic Paganism after having explored many other religious avenues. I've always tried to stay on the outside of convention, which can be lonely. I've just ended a 2-year psychologically abusive relationship and am actively seeking someone.

I love adventure, yet I'm sensitive, intuitive, and introverted (INFP on the Briggs-Meyers test although I don't put much credence in psychometric tests). I also qualify for the label of "Highly Sensitive Person," or HSP. I'm often criticized for being too sensitive or emotional, so if you don't like people who show their feelings, I'm probably not the right person for you. I love to connect physically with the world around me (or my lover). Nature is my Church and healer. I value honesty above all things--honesty to others, and to the self. Sensitivity is more important to me than intellect, although I do appreciate intellect as long as it's not being used to manipulate others. I love to travel, and I'd love to see the Pacific coast--never been there. I want to try surfing again. I'm a night owl, and know the darkness, but love and worship the sun as well--vitamin D!

I solve my own health problems and am strongly against taking pharmaceuticals, having almost died from them a decade ago. My spice rack is my medicine chest. I am politically liberal. I do have a bit of a libertarian streak regarding the issue of health freedom, as a result of my traumatic experiences with the medical establishment.

My username has nothing to do with my appearance. I just happen to like crows and ravens and the freedom they represent.
What I’m doing with my life
Trying to meet my soulmate. Trying to find a tenure-track job. Trying to enjoy life as much as I can. I've been meeting people on here but nothing's worked out so far--hope that changes.
I’m really good at
Procrastinating, sleeping in late, swimming across lakes when allowed, sunbathing, learning about anti-aging science (particularly Mercola and Green Med Info), annoying friends loved ones with unsolicited health advise, and, um...other things.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: CEREMONY by Leslie Marmon Silko, HOUSEKEEPING by Marilynne Robinson, WALDEN by H.D. Thoreau.

Poetry: Marie Howe, Sharon Olds, Sylvia Plath, Maria Mazziotti Gillan (my workshop instructor)

Movies: KOYAANISQATSI, LORD OF THE RINGS, the TERMINATOR series, Monty Python's LIFE OF BRIAN. I don't watch many movies, actually.

Music: Loreena McKennitt, Philip Glass, Peter Gabriel, world music, Astralasia, Metallica, early Bob Dylan, Neil Young. I like variety and usually anything in a minor key resonates with me. I don't like rap, R and B, or most country except maybe Johnny Cash and some others

Food: I eat paleo with some variations. I enjoy unprocessed whole foods. I eat dandelions and wild strawberries from my yard. I'm making dandelion wine, even though I don't drink. No processed food, no soy, no seafood. Favorite drink--filtered water with lemon. I cook as much of my food as I can in glass cookware.
The six things I could never do without
Honesty. The sun. True love and good sex (hopefully they can they go together?). Dark chocolate. A trip to look forward to. My camera.

Things I CAN do without: television, GMO's, psychiatrists, mercury, fluoride, synthetic drugs, people who lie
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Human nature. Whether it's possible to meet a soulmate. The color of the sky. The good and bad things in life.
On a typical Friday night I am
It varies. Usually catching up on work.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm a psychiatric survivor. And as for other things... well, you'll have to get to know me better to find out ;-)
I’m looking for
  • Guys who like girls
  • Ages 25–59
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating
You should message me if
...you're honest and kind and adventurous. You're not controlling, emotionally phobic, or afraid of commitment. You're not 100% vanilla yet are capable of love. I'd love to hear from other writers/ artists/ grad students/ psychiatric survivors, but more importantly, someone who's honest and understanding. And adventurous. I'm specifically looking for someone who doesn't have kids yet but wants to at some point, and someone who likes to have fun and try new things.