Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

silversoul7

32 M Portland, OR

My Details

Last Online
Today – 4:17pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 0″ (1.83m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly other
Smokes
Sometimes
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Sometimes
Religion
Christianity
Sign
Cancer
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Mostly monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Has dogs and has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm a strange mix of worldly and spiritual, intellectual and emotional, rational and intuitive. I'm a radical leftist who's also a sentimental traditionalist. I have a deep passion for philosophy, history, social sciences, theology, and mysticism. I try to constantly expand my intellectual horizons. I have a huge stack of books that I'm currently reading or planning on reading sometime in the future, and I love cerebral conversations with fellow intellectuals. I know a little about everything and a lot about some things, and I'm always looking to learn more.

Spirituality has become increasingly important to me over the past year or two, especially since my mom died. I tend to straddle the line between traditional forms of religion and more esoteric forms of spirituality. I'm utterly fascinated by world religions, but realized after several years that I couldn't follow all of them and had to choose one. I'm a religious pluralist, but I don't like the whole "all paths leading up one mountain" metaphor (different faiths are distinct, and they are valid in their distinctness). Most of my friends are not religious or don't have an active spiritual life, so I usually don't bring this stuff up unless asked.

Social justice is a big deal for me. I used to be more heavily involved in activism, though I've taken a step back over the past year. I still keep in touch with my radical friends, but I haven't really found much to do. I do plan on plugging into something eventually.

I'm anti-capitalist, anti-authoritarian, anti-racist, and pro-feminist. I try to be a good ally, but I realize I still have a lot of patriarchal shit to work through, so if I sometimes fail to live up to my ideals, I apologize. I like to think I've made a lot of progress in that area over the past couple years, but I recognize how much further I have to go.

I went through a recent breakup, so it may be a while before I'm willing to make a serious commitment. I hope you understand.
What I’m doing with my life
I recently got laid off and I'm looking for another job. But I've also had ideas for stuff I can make and sell online, so I'm looking into that route as well. All things considered, I'd rather not have a boss to answer to. I've also been writing a book, though it's been on hold for the past couple months.
I’m really good at
Pontificating on a wide range of intellectual topics. Reading dense philosophical books. Strumming out a large repertoire of tunes on guitar. Spelling and grammar. Having inappropriate dinner conversations. Dancing. Cuddling. Kissing. Being generous. Introspection. Learning new things.
The first things people usually notice about me
I almost always wear black. It matches my soul. Also, my fabulously long rock star hair. My last girlfriend said I looked like a "metal god."
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
The vast majority of what I read is non-fiction, particularly philosophy, but also including books on politics, economics, history, and science. Philosophically, I'm into process philosophy, embodied cognition, and speculative realism. I like sociology and anthropology, particularly anything by David Graeber or Bruno Latour. I have a love/hate relationship with Marxism, post-structuralism, and critical theory.

In terms of movies, I'm particularly into documentaries, sci-fi, historical dramas, and comedies. Favorite TV shows include Star Trek (especially DS9), Doctor Who, and various HBO/Showtime series like the Tudors or the Borgias.

I constantly try to expand my musical horizons. In High School, I mainly listened to alt-rock and electronic music. Since then, I've expanded my horizons to hip-hop, metal, punk, country, and jazz. I've recently started getting into classical music.

As far as food, I eat a mostly pescetarian diet (ie. fish, but no livestock). Could never fully commit to vegetarianism, but this diet seems to work for me pretty well. I like Italian, Greek, Mexican, Chinese, Ethiopian, and Middle Eastern cuisine.
The six things I could never do without
Friends
Books
Wine
Meditation
Weekends
Tattoos
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Anarchism, revolution, radical politics, feminism, intersectionality, process philosophy, emergence, embodied cognition, extended mind, panpsychism, speculative realism, liberation theology, mysticism, world religions, sociology, social ecology, social justice, the nature of power and authority, reconciling faith and reason, whether I might be full of shit after all, civilization's downward spiral, how utterly fucked capitalism is, maintaining optimism in the face of doom, living a more virtuous life.
On a typical Friday night I am
Hard to say now that I'm not working. Probably drinking and watching Netflix with my roommates.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I voted for President Drone Strike in 2008.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 21–35
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
- You prefer intellectual conversations over small talk.
- You have radical political tendencies
- You were struck by something I said.
- You recognize me from somewhere else.
- You think we might have fun together.

I recently got out of a relationship, so I need to take things slow for a while. Thus, I'm looking more for short-term dating that may or may not become long-term as things develop.