Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy


35 New York, NY Man


Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 24-34
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My details

Last online
Today – 10:46am
5' 8" (1.73m)
Body Type
Judaism but it’s not important
Post grad
Doesn’t have kids
English, French
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I'm glad to be back in NY, after spending eight years living in Portland, Oregon and one year teaching in southern France. I enjoyed my time in “Portlandia,” but it's nice to be back in a place with more diversity and culture, and to be settled into a job that I genuinely care about.

I’ve always had a curiosity about discovering new places and cultures, and I love hearing other people’s travel stories. I've done a lot of traveling over the years: from going on safari in Tanzania, to scuba diving in Australia, to wandering through the maze of covered markets in Marrakech.

I also do my best to explore this incredible city as much as possible. I like checking out different neighborhoods, going to museums and concerts, and trying new restaurants (let me know if you have any recommendations). In my down time, I like watching movies, and have a particular interest in French New Wave films. From my time living in the rainy Northwest, I've developed a fondness for reading in coffee shops, but I equally enjoy getting outdoors to go hiking or skiing whenever possible.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Teaching French at a high school just outside of the city. I really enjoy teaching, especially being able to share my interest in French language and culture with the students. It’s important for me to have a job that challenges me, and teaching definitely keeps me on my toes.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Learning languages, whistling, singing (a student once told me I should be a professional musician - being that it came from a 9th grade One Direction fanatic, I did not take this advice), making my students laugh, sarcasm, being an uncle.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Perhaps my hair or eyes.
I've been called "charmant" a few times while walking around the streets of Brussels.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: The Sun Also Rises, A Moveable Feast, Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, L'Étranger (The Stranger), most writing by David Sedaris and Paul Auster.

A few of my favorite French movies: À bout de souffle (Breathless), Les quatre cents coups, Cléo de 5 à 7, La grande illusion, La double vie de Véronique, La haine.

Some of my other favorites: Manhattan, Annie Hall, City Lights, Casablanca, Dead Man, The Third Man, Strangers on a Train, The Big Lebowski, Kicking & Screaming (Noah Baumbach), Rushmore...

TV: Breaking Bad, Newsroom, Parks and Rec., Arrested Development, Louie, Daily Show/Colbert Report, Broad City, True Detective.

Music: Bob Dylan, Leonard Cohen, The Beatles, Neil Young, David Bowie, Elliott Smith, Magnetic Fields, alt-J, The Shins, Bon Iver, Rilo Kiley, Neutral Milk Hotel, Otis Redding, Django Reinhardt, Chopin, Beethoven, Schubert, Serge Gainsbourg, Françoise Hardy.

Food: Ceviche, tom ka gai, anything with salted caramel, cabécou and many other types of cheese.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Family and friends
My espresso machine
Good food
A meaningful job
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
When and where I can go traveling next, what to eat for lunch/dinner, education, the story I just heard on the radio.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Out at a bar with friends, trying a new restaurant, watching a movie at home, or making s’mores in my fireplace (update: I recently moved, so sadly the working fireplace is a thing of the past).
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I fell in a canal in the Amsterdam when I was about 5 years old.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You found something interesting about my profile and think we'd get along.