Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

simplegenius

27 F Portland, OR

My Details

Last Online
Apr 16
Orientation
Bisexual
Ethnicity
Height
5′ 11″ (1.81m)
Body Type
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Religion
Buddhism, and laughing about it
Sign
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Other
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Okay), French (Poorly), Chinese (Poorly), Korean (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm genderqueer, queer (attracted to people of all genders), and a feminist. I'm extremely communicative and looking to be taken at face value. I want someone I can take at face value, who finds me a comfortable audience for expressing their thoughts and feelings.

I am a sucker for enthusiasm - anything that involves in-depth knowledge (of chaos theory or the plot twists of Buffy the Vampire Slayer or the proper declensions of Russian nouns) and overly excited hand motions is sure to get my attention.

I myself am very enthusiastic about bicycle adventures, singing at any time in almost any place, queer community, building shit, my hedgehog (who recently became a grandpappy!), being a grumpy feminist, NBC's Hannibal, drinking excessive amounts of tea, and rambling on foot through Portland streets.

I am genderqueer, not that Okcupid has an option for that. Although my body is coded by the world as "female," I have no internal sense of being a man or a woman - I am a person. I would appreciate not being referred to with female-coded nouns (girl/woman/lady/mistress). If you just treat me like a person, we should get on fine.

Random facts: I wrote my senior anthropology thesis in college on alien cultures in science fiction novels, I volunteer at the Oregon Zoo, and I have SO MANY colored Sharpies.
What I’m doing with my life
I work at a nonprofit that provides community inclusion services for adults with developmental disabilities. It's awesome. I love my job, and plan to do it for several more years while I figure out the wheres and whats of graduate school, and the where and what of organic farming education as well. Or possibly planning a launch-off into social science research/activism abroad. Or here. Or translating some constellations into an address and going through a stargate. Whatever.

I am borrowing other people's cats and dogs for snorgling. I have an 11 month old hedgehog named Ambrose. Mostly he sleeps in my shirt, then does this: http://smg.photobucket.com/user/SimpleGenius/media/MVI_1890_zps3481362f.mp4.html
I’m really good at
misplacing stuff, and displaying common courtesy.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Booooks: For Whom the Bell Tolls, anything by Terry Pratchett, CJ Cherryh's Faded Sun series, Dautcher's Down a Narrow Road, anything by Oscar Wilde, and more books then I could possibly come up with at the moment.
Currently Reading: The People's History of the United States, White Queen

Movies and Shows: Stargate, Condorman, the Princess Bride, The Fifth Element, and Velvet Goldmine are my top five most watched movies.
Currently I'm on tenterhooks waiting for new episodes of NBC's Hannibal. I love Farscape, M*A*S*H, and am working my way through all of Star Trek (currently in the middle of Deep Space Nine).
Welcome to Night Vale - my favorite podcast bar none. The live show at Lewis and Clark was AMAAZIIING.

Music: I like to listen to stuff. Lots of stuff. I can be quite lazy about finding new music, so I treasure people who will actively introduce me to stuff.

Food: apple cider, WAFFLES, pesto and heirloom tomatoes, bacon, pineapple.
I am an omnivore and know how to be sensitive about dietary preferences/needs when they are different from mine. I live with people who are, variously, vegan, gluten intolerant, soy intolerant, dairy intolerant, and allergic to various items, and we cook communal meals, so I really mean that. I am mildly allergic to lentils. Everyone agrees this is utterly bizarre.
The six things I could never do without
Knitting supplies, fluffy blankets, thumbs, my hedgehog, my battered copy of the Hobbit, and noms.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Political fuckery. Twinkle lights. Identity. Tea. Xena the Warrior Princess. Sunshine. Books. Things far too complicated to make a pithy blurb.
On a typical Friday night I am
Sleeping. I work on Saturdays, what can I say? On my "Friday" nights, which are Saturdays to you, I try to be at parties or making them. I have variable levels of success.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
When I was twelve, I once saw Shel Silverstein in a coffeeshop on Martha's Vineyard. Or rather, I saw a sketchy-looking dude with a huge beard and a baseball cap who gestured me over. When I went outside to avoid him, a woman nearby ask me if I had gotten his autograph...Sorry, Mr. Silverstein.
I’m looking for
  • Everybody
  • Ages 25–35
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You should message me if you want to go on cheap Portland adventures, and you like humans who pretty much say whatever they're thinking.

Message me if you're queer and babely and looking for queer and babely friends too!