Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

sita9277

25 F Oakland, CA

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 7:57pm
Orientation
Bisexual
Ethnicity
Hispanic / Latin
Height
5′ 2″ (1.57m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism
Sign
Education
Working on university
Job
Education
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Speaks
English, Spanish (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I hate thinking stuff up to say, so I will use a literary crutch:

The Sun Whose Rays are all Ablaze
With Ever-Living Glory
Does not Deny His Majesty
He Scorns to tell a Story
He Don't Exclaim "I Blush for Shame"
So Kindly be Indulgent
But Fierce and Bold, In Fiery Gold
He Glories all Effulgent
I Mean to Rule the Earth, As He the Sky
We Really Know our Worth, The Sun and I

Observe His Flame, That Placid Dame
The Moon's Celestial Highness
There's Not a Trace Upon Her Face
Of Diffidence or Shyness
She Borrows Light That Through the Night,
Mankind May All Acclaim Her
And Truth to Tell, She Lights up Well
So I for One Don't Blame Her
Ah Pray Make no Mistake, We are not Shy
We Are Very Wide Awake, The Moon and I
- The Mikado

-> I have this tattooed on my back
What I’m doing with my life
I'm a little bit of a misfit - I have a few vague notions, but haven't quite settled yet - don't intend to anytime soon. I'm currently teaching at a middle school in East Oakland and love it. I don't think I'll stay with teaching, but I'd like to stay in the school system because I really enjoy working with kids (High School/Middle School, the younger ones overwhelm me way too much with all those sticky hands & boogers). I still haven't finished college myself mostly because I really love my job & have been spoiled by it considering that I am already teaching, but I am working on it. I'm more interested in mental health services and making it more accessible to students and their families. It's something I'm passionate about and I strongly believe that it's value & importance are too easily dismissed and under appreciated. I've too often come across students who were struggling in school because of on going issues in their home lives that were too difficult for them to shoulder.

Although I'm very social, I'm very independent and prefer to spend a lot of time on my own. I have been known to take off for day trips either up or down the coast, just for the sake of driving & exploring.

I also write a lot and have been trying to take it more seriously in terms of revising/editing and working towards getting things published. I've always written and as much as I love it, up until recently I never gave myself much credit for it because it's so difficult & competitive to pursue, but I figure why not.
I’m really good at
listening

traveling (Canada, Chile, Cuba, Mexico, Spain, Morocco, & Germany)

laughing, smiling

sarcasm & being optimistic, but not in a excessively cheerful sort of way.

and I love to paint, dance, & write.

I've also recently discovered that I'm moderately good at darts.
The first things people usually notice about me
I suppose that I'm short.

and that I have a septum piercing.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
books: Beloved, Jurassic Park, David Ives, The God of Small Things, Johnny Got His Gun, Lorca, Female Chauvinist Pigs, We The Animals, Chuck Palahniuk, The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, Stiff, The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, Watchmen, Open Veins of Latin America, No Exit, Shakespeare, Neruda, 1Q84, children's books, & a massive biography on Caravaggio that I'm slowly working my way through

Lisbeth Salander is my personal hero

Wuthering Heights is my favorite book of all time; I have no patience for romantic films or novels, however this book is the most romantic thing I've ever read - I'm fascinated by the idea that the only redeemable thing about these two horrible selfish characters is their love for one another.

short stories: The Veldt, Where Are You Going, Where Have You Been?, and The Flowers

poetry: Neruda, Plath, & on a good day Whitman

movies/tv: Walking Dead, Forrest Gump, Good Will Hunting, Star Wars, In Bruges, The Big Lebowski, Let The Right One In, Brick, Wall-E, Kiss Kiss Bang Bang, Y Tu Mama Tambien, Moonrise Kingdom, Fantastic Mr. Fox, El Laberinto del Fauno, Super 8, Mad Men, Arrested Development, 30 Rock, Girls, The Newsroom, It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia, Masterpiece Theatre, and Home&Garden television

music: Otis Redding, Beatles, The Shirelles, The Four Tops, Bon Iver, Kings of Leon, Mumford and Son, CSN(Y), Joni Mitchell, Black Keys, Alabama Shakes, King Krule, Paul Simon, Al Green, Marvin Gaye, Juan Luis Guerra, Led Zeppelin, Blood Orange, Michael Jackson, Kendra Morris, Jose Gonzalez, Fleet Foxes, The Shins, Little Richard, Kisses, Guardabarranco, Dr. Dog, Nina Simone, Debussy, Paul Simon, Maná, BOY, Laura Nyro, Laura Marling, and a bunch of other stuff

I bought a record player a while ago and I'm enjoying building up my collection.

food: ethiopian, thai, & my mother's enchiladas - but really I'll eat just about anything
The six things I could never do without
solitude
books
music
good food
good company
my laptop, but I could settle for pen&paper
I spend a lot of time thinking about
dinosaurs. what my next tattoo should be. quantum foam. ballet. exercising more. Neruda. energy. what to paint. being in bed. being outside. how I'd decorate my house if I had a million dollars & actually owned my own house. the crossbow really is the best weapon for the zombie apocalypse. the difference between "estuve" and "estaba" in spanish. theatre. red wine & beer. where to travel to next. and how many issues I have with the education system in this country. seriously. I have a monogramed soapbox.

also my students who are amazing and brilliant and never cease to amaze me - recently I was very impressed when one of my 7th graders pulled out a book about chicanos fighting in the Vietnam war to read for SSR, while another asked if he could read my copy of Female Chauvinist Pigs instead of Harry Potter - HELLA PROUD
On a typical Friday night I am
refining my dart playing skills.

home relaxing. (usually Netflix or painting or both)

writing workshop with writer friends.

in general I really enjoy impromptu picnics by lake merritt or pursuing milkshakes with friends

and beer. I firmly believe that you can't go wrong with a good pint o' beer. Preferably a porter or stout.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I don't know how to ride a bike. I really do want to learn, and almost did once, but I kept falling off due to my horrible un-graceful balance.

also SPICE GIRLS - no shame
I’m looking for
  • Everybody
  • Ages 24–36
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
you don't define yourself by any one aspect of your life, you get shit done, you know how to relax and have fun, you're flexible and open-minded, you're patient, you take the time to reflect on your thoughts and actions, you're compassionate and easy-going

you like to discuss art, literature, social justice, or if you'll go dancing with me

or if you feel so inspired, but I should warn you, I am slow to respond

however, I can also guarantee that I will not respond if you do not write more that a few words - 'hey hows it goin' is not going to cut it

I should also mention that although I put "bisexual", I'm interested in people, first and foremost. I'm not interested in trying to put myself or anyone else in a box.