Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

skander

30 M Austin, TX

My Details

Last Online
Aug 18, 2009
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 11″ (1.80m)
Body Type
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Judaism, and laughing about it
Sign
Capricorn, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Student
Income
Relationship Status
Seeing Someone
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Likes dogs
Speaks
English (Fluently), Arabic (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
لا اعرف لماذا يصر اوكيكيوبد على كتابة هذا التلخيص بالعربية. فشروا.

Ok, so here goes. I'm a Ph.D. student in Arabic Linguistics at UT. Like all Ph.D. students, I'm nerdy, but I try to stay away from pretentiousness as much as possible, and I like to think I have pretty good social skills. I do get an excited gleam in my eye if you ask me stuff about my field and once started may be difficult to stop.

I was just in Damascus, Syria for a year, so I'm trying to get back into the sway of American life a bit. It was a good experience, but the reverse culture and language shock is tricky at times.

I should mention that I'm (mostly) from Minnesota. I often miss snow, proper fall (the best season of the year) and the unexpected cosmopolitanism of Minneapolis. And no, I don't talk with really round "o"s.

I am allergic to planning, verbose, and fan of thunderstorms
What I’m doing with my life
Student, student, more student...and then, when I emerge from the student cocoon, I'll be a professor. Whether you think that is a moth or a butterfly is probably indicative of whether we'd get along.

I'm spending this summer learning puzzling through bizarre German readings (Berholt Brecht? Hessian Soldiers? A German review of a book in Spanish about Arabic?) and trying to seem old and wise enough to be a TA.

It looks like I'll have free time, so I will actually be able to read for pleasure for once. Taking capoeira lessons, though I have no plans to grow dreadlocks or start wearing patchouli oil.

I'm trying to regain my personality after a year of drowning in another language.
I’m really good at
Cooking. I love the satisfaction of turning raw ingredients into food.

Arabic. I don't know if I can really call myself "fluent" yet(or ever), but OKcupid doesn't have the requisite "pretty damn good" category for languages.

Martial arts. I've been doing some sort of martial art since I was a kid, though I haven't stuck around in one place long enough to earn particularly high ranks, though I don't really care what color my belt is.
The first things people usually notice about me
I honestly don't know. Presumably you have a better idea than I do.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books, and reading, are really important to me, though I've not been reading much for pleasure in English of late. Usually during breaks from school, I just go for intellectual candy like Terry Pratchett or Douglas Adams. Among my favorite books are Catch-22, Siddhartha by Herman Hesse, anything by Kurt Vonnegut, Lord of the Rings, Calvin and Hobbes, graphic novels(Sandman series, Cerebus V is for Vendetta), various "juvenile" lit: The His Dark Materials trilogy by Phillip Pullman, Hatchet by Gary Paulson, The Phantom Tollbooth, The Missing Piece by Shel Silverstein, Roald Dahl,and many others, though I tend to not have read that much of the Western "canon," less due to dislike as much as apathy. One of my favorite plays is Death of a Salesman, as well as the very beautiful language of Dylan Thomas's Under Milkwood. After school in Madison, WI, I became addicted to The Onion. A huge fan of the Savage Love column.

I'm a huge fan of Arabic TV miniseries, and hauled back a couple dozen from Syria. I also enjoy reading in Arabic (and hauled back an ungodly amount of books) - some of the better known authors I enjoy are Ghazi al-Qusaybi, Ghasan Kanafani (Men in the Sun, Return to Haifa) and Tayyib Salih (Season of Migration to the North).

My musical tastes are all over the map, though generally I avoid heavier rock and metal. I listen to an ungodly amount of Bob Dylan, a good amount of Johnny Cash, though not in a hipster sort of way, older blues, jazz with actual soul, hip-hop(Blackalicious, Atmosphere, Jurassic 5, Immortal Technique,etc), a bit of that newer indie-ish stuff that the kids listen to these days(my inner English major embraces The Magnetic Fields), and a random assortment of other stuff. Also, of course, an absurd amount of Arabic pop music.

Among my favorite movies/directors in no particular order: Cohen Brothers, Harold and Maude, Harold and Kumar, The Usual Suspects, most Terry Gilliam movies, The Emperor and the Assassin,Life of Brian and The Holy Grail, Hayao Miyazaki, The Seven Samurai, Dr. Strangelove, Amelie, Mystery Science Theater, M

In terms of food, I love more or less all kinds except sea food. Particular favorites are: Texas BBQ, Phở, good Thai (a bit fan of what are translated as "drunken noodles", which I can make a fair version of given the ingredients), Ethiopian/East African (damn Austin's single, overpriced Ethiopian restaurant - I want my injeera!), (preferably dark) beer, tea with sage in it (try it, it's better than it sounds), Middle Eastern of course and probably anything else I haven't mentioned or haven't tried. I have a special place in my heart for anything pickled or pickle like, particularly kimchi.
The six things I could never do without
Books, and lots of them. Music. Friends and physical contact. A kitchen to cook in - I eat out, of course, but that just fills the stomach. Cooking fills the soul. Learning.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The complex interplay between Standard Arabic and regional dialects...it is my job after all. In fact, I would say that Arabic occupies an ungodly amount of my thoughts these days.

My future as an academic.

Overanalysis of everything, and whether it's overanalysis to analyze one's overanalysis. Grad school is bad for your brain...

Why there are so many social workers on OKcupid. Either there are a lot more social workers in the world than I thought, or they're simply massively overrepresented here. Also, do they all know each other?
On a typical Friday night I am
Out doing something. Or in doing something. Friday nights should never, ever be devoted to work or homework if possible. I like dancing, but know too few people who do as well.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Being the extremely dorky little kid I was, though thinking I was totally cool, I used to ride my unicycle around town for miles at a time. Sometimes, if I was feeling particularly cool, I'd ride it to a friends house for a game of D&D...
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 22–46
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends
You should message me if
You know you want to...just do it.