Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

skyflame

45 M Overland Park, KS

My Details

Last Online
Jul 6
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 1″ (1.85m)
Body Type
A little extra
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Leo, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm a single guy living in the Johnson County area of Kansas City. I'm tall, not all that dark and somewhat handsome. I tend to look at things with a quirky bent and see dark humor in almost any situation. I'm more comfortable in small group/one-on-one activities instead of large group parties. I played the saxophone through college, and occasionally pull it out when I feel adventurous.

I am fun, intelligent, and cuddly.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm a technical writer, which in real terms means I write stuff that people glance at and then toss in the corner while trying to figure it out on their own. I've worked in telecommunications, health care and a Big Bank.

I go to the gym on a regular basis. Sometimes when I feel like throwing up on the pavement I'll run outside... but not fast. I've done two indoor triathlons in February and March 2011 and the Heritage Park Triathlon in May 2011. I was the last person to finish...but I finished. I also ran the Crossroads 5K in July 2010 and '11, ran my first Hospital Hill run in June 2012 (5K) and ran the MB All Star Game 5K and the Glow Run 5K (City Market down to the river and back) in July 2012. (I told myself after doing that stretch that I was never doing three runs in five weeks again... but I got a brain lock and did three runs - 10K, 5K and 4 miles - in four weeks during Sept-Oct 2013). I've also run the Plaza 10K in Sept 2012 & 2013 and the Hospital Hill 10K in June 2014. I'm in a continuous battle trying to reduce my souffle top to a muffin top.

I like to get out of town every once in a while. Recent trips have been Detroit in January 2012 and November 2013, Des Moines in July 2013, and Austin in September 2013.

I also spend way too much time on Facebook when I'm at home. I feel like the commercial where the daughter has 721 friends and her parents have 19...which is why I try to get out of the house occasionally. I have several friends involved in the local music, performance and burlesque scenes and I try to go out and support them whenever I can.

I also make a pretty good pulled pork and cranberry jam.
I’m really good at
figuring things out, which is a good match for my job.

Note: This does not necessarily apply to things like troubleshooting computers, cars, and relationships. :P
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm tall, quiet, and have a dry, dark sense of humor.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: history (Stephen Ambrose), alternative history (Harry Turtledove, Bernard Cornwell), science fiction/fantasy (Jim Butcher, Simon Green, John Scalzi, Glen Cook, Anne Rice, Rachel Caine, Jacqueline Carey, Naomi Novak), humor (Hunter S Thompson, P.J. O'Rourke), mysteries (Andrew Greeley), biographies (a lot... mostly politicians, military and scientists), cooking (again, a lot, both cookbooks and books about the culinary world - Anthony Bourdain, Eric Ripert, Michael Ruhlman).

Movies/DVDs: an eclectic mix from comedy (Ferris Bueller's Day Off, Office Space, Spaceballs, Blazing Saddles, Stripes, Monty Python and the Holy Grail) to action (Gettysburg, Kill Bill, Basic, The Italian Job, The Hours, LOTR) to documentaries (The Capitol, The White House) to TV series (The West Wing, SportsNight, Doctor Who, Eureka, Firefly, Farscape, Band of Brothers).

TV: Travel Channel (No Reservations, Bizarre Foods, Man vs Food, Ghost Adventures, Off Limits), ESPN, SyFy (Ghost Hunters), and BBC America (Doctor Who, Torchwood, Top Gear). Occasionally the Science Channel and NatGeo are also on my radar for specific one-off shows.

Music: classic rock and r&b, jazz, funk, blues. Currently in my car I have Prince, James Brown, The Eagles, Men At Work, Barenaked Ladies, Devo and local band The Latenight Callers.

Food: meat. My diet is theoretically restrictive, low on starch and sugar, so some high-carb foods like Italian can be challenging (I get my pasta fix via a company called Dreamfield). Basically, it's a modified Atkins diet. I have a weakness for tortilla chips, though, and it shows.
The six things I could never do without
The laptop and the TV are on virtually all the time when I'm home, whether I'm paying attention to them or not. I like to know where my cellphone is, although the ringer isn't always on.

I also have at least one book in the car so I have a date when I go out to eat by myself.

Three more -- my wallet, my watch, my car/house keys.

(Okay, that's seven. I'll learn how to count.)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
how to get from here *points to the ground at my feet* to there *points that way*.
On a typical Friday night I am
either downtown watching friends perform, or at home on the couch watching ghost shows on the Travel Channel.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have lots of goofy scifi props and toys, from Star Wars to Star Trek to Firefly to Blade Runner to Doctor Who.

(I'm a single guy in his 40s -- what did you expect?)
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 33–48
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
you like good conversation, in-town activities, and/or just relaxing on the couch.