Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

smg82

32 M Brooklyn, NY

I’m looking for

  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 24–32
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Sep 29
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 6″ (1.68m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Atheism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Capricorn, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from law school
Job
Technology
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), French (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I just moved back to New York after spending five years practicing law in Brussels and fifteen years before that leaping around the US from one city to another.

I suppose there's a lot I could write here, but, frankly, I'm not great at the whole introspection and self-assessment thing, so the chances of any of it being all that accurate are pretty slim. You should just send me a message and get to know me in person - you'll like me, I swear.

If you want some vaguely objective info, I'm INTJ (though fairly weakly J). I'm not sure I put much stock in Meyers-Briggs, but I thought I'd throw it out there in case you do.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Well... I was a lawyer, practicing EU antitrust law. I got pretty bored with working 80 hours a week at a job I didn't much care about, for clients that I didn't care at all about. So I quit.

Right now I'm kind of transitioning. I'm getting an MBA, working as an IT analyst, and doing a bit of freelance development work. Eventually I'd like to get into IT consulting.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Trivial Pursuit(s). Actually, trivia in general. I was even on a trivia-based game show once upon a time.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
If it's my eyes, I've got a shot. If it's my height, I'm going home alone.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: Pynchon, Chabon, Robbins, Wolfe, etc. John Le Carre novels are a guilty pleasure too.

Movies: The Godfather (I and II), Annie Hall, The Three Amigos, Ferris Bueller's Day Off, War Games, The Hunt for Red October... I really like the Hunt for Red October. I'm also not at all embarrassed to admit I like predictable but heartwarming movies about kids, like Super 8 and The Way, Way Back.

TV: I watch more of it than I should, and definitely more than I care to admit.

Music: Tom Waits, Guy Clark, Gram Parsons, Steve Goodman, Counting Crows, The Black Keys, Okkervil River, Alabama Shakes, The National, and others of the same ilk. I was recently reminded of how awesome the Zombies, the Hollies and the Troggs were, so I'm kind of on a late-British-invasion kick at the moment. Serge Gainsbourg was pretty badass too, but that was more uncomfortable performance art than music.

Food: Mexican food (I spent the last five years in Europe lamenting the lack of good Mexican food, and I've kind of binged since coming back). Also, bagels. And all Italian food really. Oh, and Thai food. I think the point here is that I like food. A lot. Not really in a foodie way though - I don't need any kind of high-minded refinement.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Back when I was a smoker, I used to think I could never do without cigarettes. Now that I've quit, I'm inclined to believe there are very, very few things that I absolutely could not live without. So I'm not going to make any kind of absolute statements here.

However, six things that I think make my life a whole lot better:

1. Coffee

2. Someone to tell me whether my clothes match before I leave the house (position currently vacant)

3. Family

4. Old friends who can remind me of what a moron I used to be and/or have become

5. The internet (more specifically, Wikipedia, Udacity, Coursera and other sites devoted to bringing endless amounts of information to my eyeballs for free)

6. A solid pair of running shoes (I run a lot.)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
What to do with the rest of my life.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Solving the great problems of our day. Or at a bar. Or, as often as not, both.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm terrified of snakes. Absolutely terrified. I have been ever since I moved from New York to Texas when I was nine (the video for Enter Sandman had just come out, and the only thing I knew about Texas was that they had lots of snakes). It's just one of the many things I have in common with Indiana Jones.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
There's really no "if".

You should message me. I'm a smart, fun, devilishly handsome guy who is unabashedly romantic and good with kids, while still being surprisingly adept at traditionally manly stuff like building campfires, automobile repair and masonry.* I'm kind of your dream guy.** So what are you waiting for?

* I'm pretty sure at least most of this sentence is probably true.
** Admit it, you know you dream of masons.

Also, if anyone has ever described you as a female version of either Ira Glass or David Mitchell (the comedian, not the author), please get in touch with me without delay. [UPDATE: I've been informed that the female version of both Ira Glass and David Mitchell is Sarah Vowell. So, if you're Sarah Vowell, I'd like to meet you.]