Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

snacktician

36 M Oakland, CA

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 7:26pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Strictly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Sign
Gemini, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Technology
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Born in Iceland (dad was in the Navy briefly), grew up on the East Coast, followed my tech career to the West Coast.

Along the way I took up competitive sailing, learned to cook, forgot Latin but learned some Mandarin (and then forgot it again, long story), worked way too hard and now I value that work/life balance thing. I'm still active and outdoorsy but these days I'm also spending quiet evenings with the sofa and a book (sometimes a movie), hanging with friends at bars, and looking for someone who enjoys good companionship.

Friends say I'm laid-back, humble but straight-shooting, warm, funny, even-keeled and reasonably "figured out" these days (but why should you trust my friends? you don't know my friends).

My last Myers-Briggs came out ENTJ if you care about those things. I actually think it's pretty accurate.
What I’m doing with my life
working at a great tech firm in the education industry
sailing, skiing, swimming, hiking, crossfit
playing guitar, learning the harmonica, practicing my spanish
cooking, eating (and drinking) out
rediscovering old friends, making new ones
trying to learn how to dance
learning constantly
and exploring the world.
I’m really good at
apples to apples
capsize recovery
hugs. No seriously, I get compliments all the time.
trying new things

... oh, and apparently I'm a Love Guru.
http://www.okcupid.com/quizzy/results?quizzyid=7221344024086339504&userid=4120498592816500990
The first things people usually notice about me
Strangely enough, I hear that my photos don't do me justice. It's true most of them are of me in sporty or outdoors situations with odd lighting, hair mussed ... but I guess I must clean up pretty well.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I'll eat anything -- some favorites include Mexican, Mediterranean, very good sushi ... and fresh vegetables. I'm an unabashed carnivore but I don't mind if you aren't.

Movies and TV: The Princess Bride, Blazing Saddles, Good Night and Good Luck, Iron Man, Mythbusters, Deadliest Catch, Pulp Fiction, 30 Rock, and Doctor Who. Only seen one season of Game of Thrones so far ...

Books: I'm reading Harry Potter now, right after re-reading Neal Stephenson, Robert Louis Stephenson, The Emperor's New Mind and Change.edu. Does that tell you anything useful?

Music: J.S. Bach. FUN. Imagine Dragons. Stevie Wonder. Clifford Brown. Fountains of Wayne. Michael Jackson. Guns and Roses.

I love live music. I think this year I saw FUN, The Who, Bon Jovi, Return to Forever, Jake Shimabukuro, Dave Matthews, Soundgarten, Hardly Strictly Bluegrass, Reckless Kelly, the Dirty River Boys, Tower of Power, and other things I've already forgotten.
The six things I could never do without
Music (including an instrument to doodle on)
Sunshine, and the great outdoors in general
A cold beer on a hot day.
My kindle. I miss turning the pages on a paper book but packing an entire library in the space of a paperback is addictive.
A smile.
and ... a challenge.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
what I should write in this space.
On a typical Friday night I am
Someplace, anyplace, with friends.

... or, sometimes, if it's been a crazy week (happens a lot these days) at home on the sofa with the guitar, a touch of bourbon, and a decent movie.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have a plate in my left wrist after a bicycling accident a few years ago. I asked if they could install some SpiderMan web-shooters while they were in there ... they turned me down.

So, sadly, I am not SpiderMan.
I’m looking for
  • Straight girls only
  • Ages 25–40
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
you're active, inquisitive, intelligent, don't mind dry humor, and are looking for someone similar.

You'd like to go do something beyond just drinks at a bar -- that's a fine first date, but I'd rather hit a museum or see a concert or just walk in the woods most of the time. Or cook you a great dinner and watch a movie, but that'll have to come later ...