Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

songletter

51 M Southgate, MI

My Details

Last Online
Jul 23
Orientation
Gay
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 10″ (1.78m)
Body Type
A little extra
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Not at all
Drugs
Never
Religion
Catholicism, and laughing about it
Sign
Aquarius, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Education
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), German (Okay), Latin (Poorly), Italian (Poorly), French (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I'm a serious-minded guy, with a good sense of humor, reserved at first but affectionate. I'm a professional with a job I love. I try to work out daily, and do yoga a few times a week, though I wish the results were a little more obvious!

But love me for my mind! I try always to be learning, and I have a deep interest in the arts, particularly music and literature. Book and antique stores attract me, as do museums, arts festivals and good, simple neighborhood restaurants (and there are far too few around!). I love to cook.

I have a lot of interests, and would love to share them with someone. I'm looking for a long-term relationship. Stability and thoughtful, personal connections are important. Nothing's better--well, almost!--than a great conversation.
What I’m doing with my life
I work in education south of Detroit, near where I grew up, and I like to get away for museum or concert runs to big cities, now and again.
I’m really good at
I'm an excellent writer, and good explainer (that work of art you just don't get? let me give it a try...); I'm also good at appreciating others--sometimes it feels as if I'm too optimistic, or too forgiving, or not hard-headed enough, but I always find something to praise.
The first things people usually notice about me
Probably my voice (I've been told it's sexy), or my vocabulary--I'm not afraid to sound smart; I am, I worked hard to get here, and it's part of what I take seriously about myself.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
There are too many! I love anything that's truly great (and I do consider what's genuinely excellent and what's not, with occasional detours for geeky affectations), and will spend time with something to understand it. Movies: Buster Keaton, the Godfather and Aliens movies (I like well-written horror films), Pan's Labyrinth, A Very Long Engagement, and lots of others. Books: I just finished reading everything by Steven Millhauser--yes, everything--Chabon's The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay, The Great Gatsby, Graham Swift's Waterland, and lots of others (I'm always reading, more than one book at a time, and can't go to sleep without it!). Music: I lean toward classic rock (the Beatles are Holy Writ), but my heart and my background are in Classical. I struggle with jazz, but sometimes it's a rewarding struggle! Food: yes! Indian, Thai, and Mexican, but I always come home to Italy!
The six things I could never do without
A peaceful, well-ordered and visually attractive home environment.
Mental stimulation.
Naps.
The freedom to be alone, now and again.
Coffee.
The New York Times.

I also have a co-dependent relationship with a white terrycloth bathrobe!
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Others--which is sometimes a good thing, and sometimes a bad thing.
On a typical Friday night I am
Cleaning the house, so that I can start the weekend waking up on clean sheets with the chores done. Yes, I'm organized--it's what works for me.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
It's hard to be gay and Catholic, but the tradition is very important to me. It's like background music--always there, whether I'm listening or not.

(And of course there's more, but that's for later.... )
I’m looking for
  • Gay guys only
  • Ages 35–55
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating
You should message me if
You're interested, of course (go on--what's the worst that could happen?), and articulate, thoughtful and sincere--with a love of the arts a plus. Enthusiasm and optimism about others are both great qualities. Be serious about yourself--dedication to a job, or to a talent, is impressive!