sparklyblues24
40 Palo Alto, CA
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
sparklyblues24
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am a kind-hearted, adventuresome soul who is intellectually inquisitive, socially-comfortable , environmentally-aware, and spiritually curious. I often start my sentences with, "I wonder why...", love my friends and community, and take great joy in planning and partaking in adventures and gatherings (most recently, a camping weekend with good friends and live music, rodeo, a nonprofit fundraising gala, an investment dinner, a hat party, a photo shoot, and a get-lost hike.) I love the night, but am past the days of all-nighters. I love sports, but like to play more than watch. I love a glass of wine at dinner, but am not interested in the bar scene. I love a good movie, but rarely watch them. I love music and my taste is highly varied. I love to cook, and you will eat well if you hang out with me. I have an infectious laugh and cry at movies. In addition, I am a physical person and need to be with someone who is comfortable in their skin. Favorite activities include dinner parties with friends, and pretty much anything involving nature- especially rivers and hot springs. I wear many hats and would like my match to have an eclectic hat collection too. I have worked on a dude ranch in Wyoming, as a river guide in Sierras, a program coordinator for mentally and physically disabled kids and adults, a massage therapist which included a stint at the 2002 Olympics, and am currently in private practice on the Peninsula.
What I’m doing with my life
I work in healthcare in a somewhat obscure field that inspires my day. I feel grateful to be able to say that I love my job, the people I work with, and the life it allows me.
I’m really good at
Adventuring in the buffet of life.
The first things people usually notice about me
My smile or the mischievious glint in my eye.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Favorite Books: The Little Prince, Jitterbug Perfume by Tom Robbins, Prince of Tides, Lonesome Dove, The Color Purple, After the First Death, Way of the Peaceful Warrior, Tuesdays With Morrie, Author David Deida, Poetry by Rumi, Rilke, Mary Oliver, T.S. Eliot...

Music: I listen to a little of everything - Folk, Rock, Classical, Jazz, World. My home base is probably folk rock though...Alison Krauss, Beats Antique, Ben Harper, Be Good Tanyas, Bob Dylan, Bonnie Raitt, Brandi Carlile, Brett Dennen, Bright Eyes, Buddha Bar, Bjork, Colin Hay, Daniel Lanois, Dar Williams, Dave Matthews, David Grey, Eddie Vedder, Elephant Revival, Eva Cassidy, Feist, Gillian Welch, Greg Brown, Harry Belefonte, Ingrid Michaelson, The High Kings, Hot Buttered Rum, Ingrid Michaelson, Iron and Wine, Jimmy Cliff, Joan Armatrading, Josh Ritter, Joe Purdy, Johnny Cash, Jose Gonzalez, Joshua Radin, Josh Ritter, Krishna Das, Ladysmith Black Mambazo, Leonard Cohen, Manu Chao, Mark Knopfler, Martin Sexton, Matt Nathanson, Mazzy Star, Michael Franti and Spearhead, Moby, Mumford & Sons, Natalie Merchant, The National, Neil Young, Nora Jones, Oliver Mtukudzi, Paolo Nutini, Simon & Garfunkle/Paul Simon, Ray LaMontague, Regina Spector, Richie Havens, Rickie Lee Jones, Rolling Stones, Sarah Mclachian, Smashing Pumpkins, Souad Massi, Stevie Wonder, Tom Petty, Tracy Chapman, Tuck and Patti, U2, Uncle Tupelo, Vampire Weekend, Willie Nelson, Wilco, Xavier Rudd, Yael Naim, Yo-Yo Ma. Also most things produced by Windham Hill Records.

Food: I love good food. I try to keep meat, dairy (though I love cheese), and empty carbs to a minimum and completely avoid fast food. I love going to the farmers market, eating what's local and in season. I can't think of any ethnic food that I don't enjoy but am perhaps partial to Thai and Sushi. I'd rather eat a number of small meals than a large one. Gelato (half dark chocolate, half raspberry sorbet). A slice of smoked salmon with avocado, lemon,
goat cheese, and cilantro/basil. Yum. And I have a liking for game- venison, ostrich, buffalo, etc. Somehow it feels higher quality. I'll try almost anything. I had an appetizer of fried lemon grasshoppers near Union Square not too long ago (granted, once was enough...). I enjoy a good Malbec. Though after spending 2 weeks in Kentucky, I developed a soft spot for Woodford.

Movies: Don't watch them that often. I haven't had a T.V. since 2001 and love it like that (except during big events like the Olympics and World Cup! and oh, er, the Daily Show). I like most quality media, from your brainless flicks to date movies to drama and suspense to sci-fi. I never watch horrors because my imagination is way too vivid for my own good. To name a few...Amelie, American Beauty, Usual Suspects, Motorcycle Diaries, Shawshank Redemption, American History X, 300, One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest, the Matrix, Dangerous Liasons, Amadeus, Slumdog Millionaire, Babel, Lord of the Rings, Sea of Love, Scent of a Woman, Little Miss Sunshine, Godfather, Easy Rider, Forest Gump, Secretary, Power of One, My Big Fat Greek Wedding, Good Will Hunting, Love Actually, Labyrinth, Goonies, Elf, Princess Bride...
The six things I could never do without
Nature
My phenomenal community of friends and family
Water (as in bodies of water, rivers, hot springs...),
Laughter
Dark chocolate
Earplugs
My inner anchor (ok, that's more than 6...)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The next adventure...
On a typical Friday night I am
Recovering from the week. However, a typical Saturday night is rarely typical. I love dinner parties with friends or family, dancing, or catching a show or film. In the summer, I'd rather be camping. In the winter, I enjoy snuggling up and watching a movie at home (bonus if with fireplace...)
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I stuck my tongue in a sea anemone while tide-pooling when I was 10 and my tongue was numb for an hour.

BTW, I can't tell you how many people say, "Er, if I admitted it, it wouldn't be private now would it" or some variation of the latter. Come on people. It doesn't have to be so literal or serious. Think of it as a one sentence opportunity for your creativity and sense of humor to shine. Also, it says "the most private thing you're WILLING TO ADMIT". Step up.

Okay, one more (b/c some part of me likes filling out these damn questions.) One time, I misread an OKC question and had to wait 24 hours before changing it. I THOUGHT it said, "What's your favorite public hair style?" so I wrote "All styles, depending on the person, the cut, and the head, but grab length is my favorite." Then I hit send. And THEN I noticed it said PUBIC hair not public hair. "23 hrs 55 min to go...."
You should message me if
You resonate with what I wrote.

My ideal partner will feel like a best-friend and coconspirator. They will lovingly challenge me, inspire generosity, and strike the balance between independence and merginess, strength and vulnerability. They must be witty enough to call me on my shit, but heart-centered enough to do it in a loving way. They will have a well-stocked tool box and know how to use its contents-but be okay with my having one too. I am a team-player, and have a deep desire to be with someone who both complements my strengths but can also collaborate on projects and visions. In addition, it is important to me that this person have some sort of regular physical practice that they do...be it martial arts, yoga, dance, or any sport that cultivates embodiment. And my perfect match will have a passion or calling in their life that puts a spark in their eye that matches mine. Did I mention canine-lover?

Brownie points if you've done some personal growth work, which may include individual therapy or organizations/work such as the Human Awareness Institute (HAI), Landmark Forum, David Deida (who wrote "Way of the Superior Man"), Meditation retreats, Tantra, OneTaste, NonViolent Communication (NVC), Enneagram, Diamond Heart, Authentic World, Men's Circle, Mankind Project, Nation of Men, or any number of other groups that support insight, growth and development that are so prevalent in the Bay Area. (And if you are wondering why I listed so many male oriented organizations, it's because the men I have met who have done personal work in some of the above named organizations have an adeptness in the breath and depth of their communication, authenticity, integrity, and intimacy that is generally unparalleled to those men I have met who have not dipped their toe in those waters. It is my hope that in posting the aforementioned groups, that you might be inspired to explore one or more of the above groups. Most men I meet crave some aspect of what these groups offer, but don't know how to find it.)

Other brownie points for following groups/events such as TED, Wisdom 2.0, Institute for Noetic Science (IONS), Science and Nonduality (SAND), the Edwardian Ball (or other costumed events), Hardly Strictly, etc. Sometimes being an adult feels like summer camp in the Bay Area. Too many interesting activities, too little time....

I generally keep it to the positive. That being said, you should NOT write me if you smoke, drink "very socially" or more, fast food is a regular part of your weekly intake, TV is a regular fixture in your daily routine, you strongly dislike your job and/or your life and/or you "live for the weekends", your doctor has recently given you "the talk" (ie "You should really consider cutting back on...."), you tend towards or have been described as argumentative, hypercritical, controlling, the jealous type, quick-tempered, critical, negative, narcissistic, have posted a tasteless bathroom picture of yourself (Note: regardless of how flabby or ripped you are, I always hit "pass" as do most women I know) or the idea of sleeping in a tent in the woods makes you cringe.

We are not a good match if you are fresh in the middle of a divorce or recently rebounding. I've been there. It takes some time to work out the kinks and reset. And, I'm not interested in being part of someone's "recalibration" at this juncture, though dating can be good medicine.

Lastly, I don't answer emails if I feel we're not a good match. "My cup runneth over" and I have better things to do than spend my evenings responding to OKC messages that are not a "yes" for me. One of the beautiful lessons of online dating is, "Don't take it personally."

SERIOUS brownie points if you actually read this far through my profile. It's a book. I know. I'm not War and Peace. But I'm also no Novella.

May you find what you are looking for...
More