Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

sparrows33

32 F Heidelberg, Germany

My Details

Last Online
Feb 2
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 1″ (1.55m)
Body Type
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism
Sign
Aries, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Income
Relationship Status
Seeing Someone
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Speaks
English (Fluently), German, Spanish (Okay)

Similar Users

My self-summary
[update: currently seeing someone, but still looking to meet new people in the area]

I have what in my family we call a high nerd factor. I care a great deal about books, words, ideas and interpersonal relationships. I'm passionate and serious and like to be around people who are the same, but I also feel better when I'm free to be very silly and unserious, too. The best people, I think, are those with whom you can be both shallow and deep.
What I’m doing with my life
Working towards a PhD in Art History. That means: I visit a lot of museums, read a lot of books, try to learn a few languages, and wrestle with a lengthening Word document. I also enjoy my wonderful friends and family as best I can given their geographic distribution. In general I'd say "what I'm doing with my life" is getting to know them, and myself, and the world, better. In that sense there is no "work" and "outside of work"--it's kind of all the same thing. Sometimes I forget things I've learned, and have to learn them all over again. That I find frustrating and exhilarating, both.
I’m really good at
School. Making lentil soup. Being a supportive friend. Choosing great gifts. Knitting. Giving unsolicited advice. Exaggerating. Ice-skating (hockey-skates not figure-skates). Using the phrase "that's bananas!" more than is really acceptable. Feeling bummed that things aren't as well-made as they used to be. Feeling glad that I live in the moment of the iPhone. Making horizontal, illogical connections between things. Viewing the world metaphorically. Boy-talk.
The first things people usually notice about me
In this order: Short. Firm handshake. Fast talker.

Greatest compliment I have ever received from a stranger (at a poetry reading, he was the (gay) poet reading): "People should hire you to come to poetry readings because you have such an expressive face. I felt like you were the one person in the audience I was reading directly to." It has to do with having an extremely elastic brow. Basically my feelings are always in my face.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Movies: The Last of the Mohicans, Clueless, among others. But really I'll watch the most atrocious crap. I'm a sucker for romantic comedies and historical dramas. I don't care if they turn out in expected ways. It's a ritual like Easter: you know what's going to happen, that doesn't make it any less satisfying. But I guess I also appreciate more sophisticated films too.

Books: Too many to list. My favorite book as a child was a cookbook for dolls called "Mudpies and Other Recipes," so, non-fiction. And: I feel weird putting, like, the Aeneid on here. But, yeah, that.

Shows: Daily Show, Colbert Report, Girls

Music: Whatever my friends send me. Right now: M83.

Food: Anything made out of potatoes.
The six things I could never do without
- my people (they're good people)
- books
- metaphors
- certain stilling, stunning moments in the natural world, like an owl heard at night, seeing a special planet, really feeling the earth against your back, what an ice storm does to trees, those kinds of things
- driving while listening to music
- feelings of awe and gratitude
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Coincidence. The fifteenth century. How surprising and interesting and complicated people can be. What "being an adult" means. Time management and why I'm bad at it. How much I want to know and how much I still don't know. How small and inconsequential the human body really is, and how beautiful.
On a typical Friday night I am
Oh, I don't know. Depends where I am. At home, probably at someone's house for dinner. Abroad, probably at an exhibition, or at a bar for a drink with a friend, or coming home to just kind of process the week. Ideal situation is, in summer, being outside in a greenspace, with little things to eat and a bottle of wine, and someone(s) to watch the people go past and what the setting sun is doing to everything.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have a kind of chronic addiction to watching internet television.
I’m looking for
  • Everybody
  • Ages 26–32
  • Near me
  • For new friends
You should message me if
You might like hanging out with a short, sensitive, intelligent chatterbox with a very expressive face.
You definitely do like car rides and movies and bookstores and coffeeshops and telling stories.