Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

spegley

38 Providence, RI Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 23–52
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 3:23pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 0″ (1.83m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Other, but not too serious about it
Sign
Taurus, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Education
Income
$60,000–$70,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
My name is Jerry. I was born in the Midwest, but have been living in Providence, Rhode Island long enough to call it home.

I am a nice and funny guy who is into dancing, philosophy, and movies. I'm enjoy science fiction, dressing up, and gaming.

I am interested and unusual people and prefer the off-beat. I like geeky women who enjoy fun and have a good sense of humor. I tend to be very jokey and love making people laugh and smile.

I am understanding, amusing, and friendly
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
Well professionally, I am a philosopher professor. I teach at a number of different area colleges and universities. I have taught Intro classes, Asian Philosophy, Social Philosophy, Ethics, Environmental Ethics and Logic. For the most part, I enjoy teaching, though there are a number of cases where my limits have been pushed beyond reason (e.g., the guy that was farting so loudly and so often that I had to ask him to leave).

In the personal life, I am quite a movie and television buff. I prefer Action Movies, Superhero Movies, Science Fiction and some Horror, but I tend to enjoy all sorts of movies. My knowledge of genre film is quite impressive and I pride myself on being able to pick a movie that will satisfy a diverse group of people.

I enjoy reading though nowadays much of my reading is philosophy. My favorite genre is sci-fi. I particularly like Ian Banks and David Brin. I also enjoy Stephen King.

I play RPGs. I enjoy LARPing quite a bit and am a fan of Vampire. I recently taken to boffer LARPing and enjoy it when it involves particularly good roleplaying. I currently plot staff a game and am finding the story-telling side it of to be quite enjoyable. I like good costumes as you can probably tell from my pics.

I also enjoy dancing quite a bit. Not just clubbing! I like the waltz, tango, and rhumba. More people should learn dance.

Despite my geeky interests there are certain stereo-typical geek pursuits that I am not into. This includes Monty Python and Buffy. For some reason or other, they rub me the wrong way.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Philosophy, talking, analyzing people, memory, story-telling], having fun, and making mixed alcoholic beverages.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I have long straight black hair. I am tall with an athletic build.

I can be somewhat intimidating when someone first meets me, but I am funny and sympathetic if you manage to stick around.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Books: Anything by Lovecraft, Much of the short fiction by Stephen King, The Postman (by David Brin, The Player of Games by Ian Banks, and Protector (by Larry Niven). Having to read lot of philosophy, however, sort of prevents me from reading much fiction I am afraid to say. I enjoy a good book on Epistemology.

Television: Millennium, Battlestar Galatica, The X-files, Star Trek: Deep Space 9, Twin Peaks, Babylon 5, and The Twilight Zone. More recently, I have discovered Jericho and The West Wing. Good stuff!

Movies: The Thing, Gattaca, They Live, Hostel, Rob Roy, Army of Darkness, Pan's Labyrinth, A Clockwork Orange, The Stuff, Saw, Fight Club, Total Recall, Night of the Living Dead, Dawn of the Dead, and many many more.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
(1) My Computer (2) Conversation (3) My Car (4) Relaxation (5) Entertainment (6) My Work
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
I tend to think a lot about philosophy, people,and creative stuff. I have a nice imagination and when I am not working or trying to understand someone better, I tend to let it take over.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Dancing, clubbing, LARPing, and just a little drinking/socializing.

Sometimes just sitting in front of my computer surfing the web.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I hate body hair. I am not a huge fan of it.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
If you are intelligent and like friendly conversation about trivialities (especially if you like to to geek out about sci-fi, etc.), I can be quite accommodating.

If you are looking for something deeper and like to share your insights, I can also be a good listen. I love talking about psychology and trying to figure out why people do what they do.

If you want to get to know me, I am more than happy to assist.