Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

ste4en

51 Victoria, British Columbia, CA Man

Man

Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 40–60
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating

My details

Last online
Today – 1:33pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 8″ (1.73m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Buddhism, and laughing about it
Sign
Pisces, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Technology
Income
Rather not say
Status
Single
Offspring
Has kids
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Hebrew (Poorly), Japanese (Poorly)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Calm, creative, unique, imaginative, intelligent and thoughtful. Well, that's what I'm told and I think it's fairly true. I'm honest, relaxed, determined and a good listener and communicator with an open but questioning mind. I'm an artist and writer in my spare time with an MA in psychology and a good career in technology. I work in a friendly university setting where I have been for over 16 years and maintain good relationships with many people. I enjoy challenging myself to learn and try new things like ballroom and swing dance, African drumming, Japanese language, Chinese poetry, knitting, refinishing furniture, carpentry, playing piano and more. I sometimes plant vegetable gardens and I grew up fishing and camping but haven't done any of those in a while. Sometimes I like to stay home and be quiet, watch movies, occasionally go to classical or jazz concerts and poetry readings or going out to Wildplay Park to climb the ropes courses and whizz along the zip lines.

I exercise regularly but not obsessively. I used to run and work out with weights and I've practiced yoga and meditation off and on for many years. I have learned a lot in men's groups as well as personal and couples counseling, journaling, breath-work, improv dance and art. I like to walk and hike in the forest or along the beach. I eat a healthy diet and I'm in good shape and in excellent health with longevity in my family. I generally have a positive attitude but also question things deeply. I've learned to value my relationship with my parents since becoming a parent although they live far away and my grandmother was one of my best friends. Most of my friends live in San Francisco and I like to visit with them once in a while. I have 2 boys in their teens; one who lives with me part time. As they are growing to greater independence I have more free time every year. This does not limit me but give me opportunities to grow and learn new things.

I grew up in a Jewish family and culture in the Boston area, went to school surrounded the forests, rolling hills and farmland of Vermont and then to Grad school in the bustling crazy quilt of cultures of San Francisco. I've travelled throughout the U.S. by car, plane and hitchhiking, I've studied and travelled throughout India for 5 months and lived in Dharamsala with a Tibetan family and studied their culture, art, language and religion. Eventually I plan on travelling more but for I now my life is focused on enjoying life on this friendly little island.

I've been on enough dates and made some new friends here but I would prefer to find a long term relationship that is nurturing, passionate, healthy and inspired. I don't expect anyone to have all the same interests just an open heart and mind. Learning to dance together would be nice but I'm open to learning and trying new things that interest my partner as well.

Please feel free to say hello. It's ok for women to initiate contact too.

A Gril Who Reads:
https://youtu.be/lmEbF2uhsZk

The Secret of Desire in A Long Term Relationship
http://www.ted.com/talks/esther_perel_the_secret_to_desire_in_a_long_term_relationship
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I work as an IT Professional doing technical support among other things. What I like about this kind of work is that it is a helping profession that provides a nice balance between personal relationships based on kindness and generosity as well as interesting technical challenges.

In my spare time I'm writing my second novel, editing a couple of volumes of my poetry, exercise and go for hikes regularly. Sometimes I watch movies, bake something or play board or card games and crafts with my son. I've started a couple of new paintings and sometimes haunt book stores.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Staying calm in the midst of a storm.
Listening and talking openly and honestly.
Creative collaboration
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
From what I've been told...
My inner calm, open mindedness.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Movies:
Fiddler on the Roof, My Fair Lady, Shawshank Redemption, Everything is Illuminated, Little Miss Sunshine, Stranger Than Fiction, The Red Violin, The Straight Story, A Serious Man, Despicable Me, Wall.e, 2001, Inception, Howl's Moving Castle, My Neighbor Totoro, Spirited Away, Fellowship of the Ring, Avatar, Dreams: Kurasawa, Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead, Young Frankenstein, Blazing Saddles, the Power of Myth, Dr. Who and Sherlock.

Favorite Books:
Thesaurus, People of the Book, A Tale for the Time Being, Dandelion Wine, Something Wicked This Way Comes, The Epic of Gilgamesh, the Odyssey, the Hobbit, Dune, Shambala: the Path of the Warrior, When Things Fall Apart, The Dhammapada, The Universe Story, The Dream of the Earth, Why I Wake Early, The Cryptonomicon, My Name is Asher Lev.

Food:
Japanese, Thai, Greek, Indian, Chinese, ... anything tasty

Music:
Rock: ELP, Kansas, Queen...
Ambient: Brian Eno & Harold Budd
Electronic: Tangerine Dream, Trance Mission
Folk: Greg Brown, Dave Carter & Tracy Grammer, Pentangle.
World Music: Ladysmith Black Mambazo, Ayub Ogaba, Ravi Shankar and Ali Akbhar Khan...
Classical: Beethoven, Bach, Mozart, Vivaldi, Scaralati, Britton, Mozetich and many more.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Creativity
Nature
Inner Peace
Friends & Family
A little Yoga & Meditation
Music, Art and Movement
A good book
A handmade mug
Not limiting myself to just 6 things.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Finding the balance between knowledge, wisdom, and compassion in my daily life.

The Art of Loving
What makes relationships work:
http://www.psychologytoday.com/articles/200410/relationship-rules
Not believing everything I think.
Not taking myself too seriously.
How to help my children grow into great human beings.
The curvature of spacetime
Simple solutions for complex problems.
The melting point of technology, nature, spirit, & psychology.

On falling in love:
http://mobile.nytimes.com/2015/01/11/fashion/modern-love-to-fall-in-love-with-anyone-do-this.html?_r=1

"To straighten the crooked you must do a harder thing and straighten yourself."
Gotama Buddha
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Sometimes at home alone for a quiet evening with a book and the candles lit, sometimes over a friend's house or having dinner with a friend, sometimes watching a movie. As I learn more dance I'm open to going out dancing.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I find it strange that people in this culture are obsessed with shaving most of the hair off their bodies.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
If you are creative, love nature and are interested in cultivating an depth connection.