Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

ste4en

50 Victoria, British Columbia, CA Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 40–60
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Today – 11:54am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 8″ (1.73m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Buddhism, and laughing about it
Sign
Pisces, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Technology
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has kids
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Hebrew (Poorly), Japanese (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
"There is a fountain of youth: it is your mind, your talents, the creativity you bring to your life and the lives of people you love. When you learn to tap this source, you will truly have defeated age."
Sophia Loren

I'm a creative, thoughtful guy who likes a reasonable amount of inner peace but stays active in body, mind and spirit. For the most part I'm a calm person who strives for a good balance of a sharp mind and a good heart.

Various friends have described me as a Renaissance Man; something I at least aspire to. I place a high value on intimacy, creativity, intelligent conversation, nurturing and honesty. I enjoy exploring and learning new things and sharing and supporting others in their creativity. Generally, I have a calm and friendly disposition and I'm sometimes silly when I get comfortable with someone.

While I have a career working with computers I do have an MA in East -West Psychology. I grew up in a distinctly Jewish family in an old town in the suburbs of Boston, went to school in Vermont and San Francisco, traveled throughout India and hosted foreign students, so I quite enjoy other cultures and different ways of seeing and knowing.
**********************
More In Depth:

Several times throughout my life I’ve been through different forms of individual counselling, as I am in now. This combined with having also studied psychology and done other forms of inner work and exploration, I know myself fairly well. I’ve also been through couples counselling and found it immensely helpful. Once upon a time in a life far, far away I participated in and facilitated regular community meetings, lived in a cooperative household, taken a classes in group dynamics and men's psychology, participated in a men’s group and went to college in a school where the educational style was based on both study and dialogue.

Dreams are important to me. I’ve always remembered and often have vivid dreams, documented them in my journals and thought about their meaning. Sometimes I explore them through dance embodying different characters and significant parts of the dream story. They are a good mirror to what is going on in our lives and feelings that aren’t always clear to us in the waking world. I’ve journaled most of my life, sometimes write poetry and short stories. Some have been published online and while I work to continue improving my craft I have also self published my first novel on Amazon to thankfully very good reviews and feedback from others. Along with that I can be a very imaginative and creative person.

Despite the fact that my work is technical, it is also very social. Doing computer support at a big school means I don’t sit at my desk all day. I get up, move around and visit clients in their offices, their spaces to resolve difficulties they have with their computers, software and connectivity. For me this is a path of service and I take this opportunity to get get to know and maintain good relationships with everyone and they often say they also benefit from my ability to listen and my calm and patient manner. I work, sometimes with great effort to let go of my judgements and frustrations to listen, be friendly, compassionate and helpful. My work is an extension of my inner work and I enjoy what I do.
***********************
The Doing:

Many of my friends and most of my family live in the states but I'm happy to live in this peaceful little shire. In my spare time I like to go for hikes, read, write, do a little yoga, meditate occasionally, go out to hear live music, dance, hang out with friends and sometimes watch movies. I sometimes play a wooden flute while I am walking in the woods and paint or draw when the inspiration comes to me. My major creative medium for the past 7 years or so has been writing a novel, short stories, some poetry and painting. I've enjoyed taking dance classes including modern-improv, ballroom and 5 Rhythms.

While I like my alone time and time with friends and my teenage kids, I would love to find someone to grow and explore with and develop an intimate, nurturing, life long relationship. I really enjoy sharing creative work and growth with others in support and collaboration and I understand that there are many forms of creative expression from cooking to movement, drama, crafts, photography, painting, ritual, music and more. I've got significant longevity in my family and I'm pretty darn healthy so age matters less to me than maturity.
*********************
Some Background:

I started off with Jung and Yoga when I was in my teens and began meditation when I was 16. I have continued exploring different forms of yoga and mediation off and on since then. In my 20’s I went to India wanting to learn more about Ayurveda and Yoga Philosophy but instead started learning about poverty, suffering, Buddhism and my place in the world. The beggars, the homeless children I fed, the priests, the wealthy and the lepers became my teachers. The Tibetan family I lived with and those in the community having lost their homes and their land became my teachers. The monks, nuns and others whom I studied under also became my teachers. The arrogance and selfishness of the wealthy both East and West became my teachers. I used to be fascinated with extraordinary states of being but now I am more focused on mindfulness, kindness, clarity and insight.

One of the most pivotal life experiences in my youth was completely unplugging for a year and living on some farm land. I did nothing but watch the progress of the seasons, wrote poetry, did art, sat by a stream and discovered a profound sense of being in the heart of nature. And I have been going back to nature ever since, to stay connected to the peace, beauty and wisdom I find there.
********************
Some Inspiration:

A Girl Who Reads:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lmEbF2uhsZk
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
While I have a MA in Psychology and Comparative Religion I work as an IT Professional doing technical support among other things. What I like about this kind of work is that it is a helping profession that provides a nice balance between personal relationships and interesting technical challenges.

In my spare time I exercise regularly, like to go for hikes, sometimes do sports, games and crafts with my boys who live with em part time. I often do a little yoga, art, meditation, hang out with friends with whom I break bread and sometimes watch movies. I still enjoy climbing trees, and though there aren't many to climb around here I immensely enjoy going to Wild Play park. I have a didgeridoo and a piano that I am interesting in learning to play and in the past I have taken classes in African drumming, Japanese language and Jewish philosophy. This past summer I got back into refinishing wood furniture so I can see the grain better.

While I work with computers and software I prefer things made of natural fibers and wood and reading actual books. Handmade mugs and pottery are better by far than fine china as far as I'm concerned.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Staying calm in the midst of a storm.
Listening and talking openly and honestly.
Creative collaboration
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
From what I've been told...
My inner calm, open mindedness.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Movies:
Fiddler on the Roof, My Fair Lady, Shawshank Redemption, Everything is Illuminated, Little Miss Sunshine, Stranger Than Fiction, The Red Violin, The Straight Story, A Serious Man, Despicable Me, Wall.e, 2001, Inception, Howl's Moving Castle, My Neighbor Totoro, Spirited Away, Fellowship of the Ring, Avatar, Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead, Dreams: Kurasawa, Young Frankenstein, Blazing Saddles, the Power of Myth...

Favorite Books:
Thesaurus, People of the Book, A Tale for the Time Being, Fahrenheit 451, The Epic of Gilgamesh, the Odyssey, the Hobbit, Dune, Shambala: the Path of the Warrior, When things Fall Apart. The Dhammapada, The Universe Story, The Dream of the Earth, Moby Dick, Why I Wake Early, The Cryptonomicon, My Name is Asher Lev.

Food:
Japanese, Thai, Greek, Indian, Chinese, ... anything tasty

Music:
Ambient: Brian Eno & Harold Budd
World Music: Ladysmith Black Mambazo, Ayub Ogaba, Ravi Shankar and Ali Akbhar Khan and on
Electronic: Tangerine Dream
Classical: Beethoven, Bach and Mozart, Postcards From the Sky
Folk: Greg Brown, Dave Carter & Tracy Grammer, Pentangle
Rock: Progressive Rock
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
My children
Friends
Nurturing
A little Yoga & Meditation
Creativity
Music, Art, movement
Nature... especially trees, mountains and wild flowers.
A good book
A handmade mug
Not limiting myself to just 6 things.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Finding the balance between knowledge, wisdom, and compassion in my daily life.

The Art of Loving
What makes relationships work:
http://www.psychologytoday.com/articles/200410/relationship-rules
Not believing everything I think.
Not taking myself too seriously.
How to help my children grow into great human beings.
The curvature of spacetime
Simple solutions for complex problems.
The melting point of technology, nature, spirit, & psychology.

"To straighten the crooked you must do a harder thing and straighten yourself."
Gotama Buddha
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
Sometimes at home alone for a quiet evening with a book and the candles lit, sometimes over a friend's house or having dinner with a friend, sometimes watching a movie. As I learn more dance I'm open to going out dancing.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I find it strange that people in this culture are obsessed with shaving most of the hair off their bodies.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
If you are creative, love nature and are interested in cultivating an depth connection.