Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

stevegillman

68 M Oakland, CA

My Details

Last Online
Today – 2:31pm
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 4″ (1.63m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Sometimes
Religion
Buddhism, and somewhat serious about it
Sign
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Art / Music / Writing
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Has kids, but doesn’t want more
Pets
Has dogs
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Okay), French (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Here’s what one of my women friends wrote to me this morning while encouraging me to do this online thing: “You are so wonderful and such a catch, with such a lively sense of humor generous big, warm hearted- you have nothing to prove and so much to offer without even trying.” Embarrassing, but true if not a bit over the top.

I've been divorced from a 20 year marriage since 2007.

I've spent vast majority of my adult life in long term relationships. It’s the way of being that I had naturally gravitated to. Over the past year or two, my notion of what a partnership/relationship might look like has been transforming. What that relationship might look like would most likely be driven by the interplay of the two personalities involved and how the relationship might naturally evolve.

My ideal companion would be smart, wise, compassionate, kind, quick to laugh, a traveler, and voraciously curious, progressive in her politics, and most likely not part of an industrial/organized religion. She’d be physically active not out of desperation to look good, but because it just feels amazing to be active and well. She might even be a meditator. An interest in the arts is a good thing.

You may have noticed that I've just described Super Woman, a fictitious being that may not exist in nature. So I must emphasize that this is an “ideal”.

My professional life has been spent doing art projects in public spaces. Some projects are in the area, many scattered about the country. It’s ongoing. I have no plans to “retire” from sculpting. I have a web site: stevegillmansculpture dot com.

You know that saying; "Lonely? Get a dog."? I thought that was a joke. It turns out that there's a lot of wisdom in that quip. The dog you see in the photos is new to me (February 2013) . An Oakland Humane Society rescue, she's been a real life saver (figuratively) for me. You know those "long walks by the beach, quiet evenings at home enjoying a good meal"? It turns out that those things can be done quite well with a dog. My turtles and fish have no opinions about the dog that they've shared with me.

I love traveling, having been to Europe (France, Italy, Turkey, and Greece), Japan, China, Kenya, and Mexico. I'd love to see south east Asia, South America, and more of Europe. Locally, my antique open top Alpha Romeo is great for day trips up and down the coast, out the Delta Highway, or any number of beautiful back roads that abound nearby.

My high school Spanish can get me by. I'm learning French.

Lately I've augmented a long time meditation practice with work shops and have joined a local meditation center which has helped move me off dead center…so to speak.

I have a generous back yard with many fruit trees, a frog and turtle pond, and I love my huge banana trees and bird of paradise plants.

For 68, I'm in great physical shape from running, biking, gyming, stretching, dancing, dog walking. People are usually surprised when they find out my age assuming I’m younger than my years would suggest. I like feeling and looking fit. I am attracted to physicality and athleticism in my partner as well. For my partner, age is not as critical an issue for me as conditioning (maybe at our age it’s state of preservation!).

I have two great daughters; one 41 who lives in Berkeley, and teaches yoga and yoga teacher certification courses as well as myriad body work disciplines. My older daughter, 44, is a landscape architect living and working in Oregon. I also have three grand kids, two in high school, in middle school.

So there you have it.
What I’m doing with my life
Having made myself financially stable, I'm concentrating on going back to doing studio art. I've also begun developing my studio hopefully transforming it into a place as beautiful as the south of France where, for a number of years I wanted to move. I finally realized that where I am is already almost as lovely but more useful for the making of artwork.
I’m really good at
I think I'm a good listener/communicator. I also value the opinions of my women friends and partners.

Taking care of my self, my health, and well being.....meditation has been key to the latter.

I build and make things that don't fall down, and work well. Often they're beautiful or at least interesting. I've managed to do this all my life and still have all my fingers intact.

I'm pretty good at making people laugh. For me, mirth is essential. Laughing with friends/companions/grand kids is the best.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books; All Elmore Leanard, William Shirer's The Night Mare Years; 1930-1940m All of David Sedaris', Charles C. Mann's 1493, Germs, Guns, and Steel by Jared Diamond, Hanna Arendt, All of Michael Pollan's....etc.

Any movies by John Sayles, Lina Wertmuller, Ang Lee, most of Woody Allen, Christopher Guest, the Coen Brothers, the list goes on and on, you get the idea.

Mad Men, Doc Martin, Sopranos, 6 Feet Under, Dead Wood, Foyle's War, anything by Ken Burns, much of Master Piece theatre, Steven Colbert and John Stewart (if only I had cable, which I don't), and again, you got the idea.

I don't sit and listen to much music; preferring to dance mostly to Cajun/Zydeco music which is a kind of like rhythm an blues. But I can be gotten to sit still for a wide range of blues, blue grass, old rock, some jazz, space (ambient) music as in Music from the Hearts of Space on KALW. there's so much great new world music out there, and too little time!

AH food! All Asian, fusion, a really good burger. Prefer healthy, trying to get off red meat but too many lapses backwards. I'm a pretty good cook and enjoy cooking up a lovely stir fry even just for myself, but preferably to be shared. All fresh fruit, especially off the tree.
The six things I could never do without
AIR, WATER, FOOD, COMPANIONSHIP, GOOD HEALTH, SEX. Pretty much in that order.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The next project. The current project. My next meal.
On a typical Friday night I am
There's a great Zydeco dance venue in Alameda every Friday night. You'll find me there unless on the rare occasion when I've gotten a better offer.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'll have to stew over this one.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 58–69
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
If much of what's written strikes a chord with you.
You're looking for someone who falls in love with conversation.
You're looking for someone who will listen to you and respect your ideas, and wants to strike a balance between shared time, and needing space.
You're looking for someone who doesn't hang out in bars, but prefers a walk in the woods, coast trails, the Delta Highway in an ancient open top car.
You're looking for someone who doesn't own a new flashy car, a trophy house in the suburbs.....or for that matter a trophy anything!
Preferably you have been in long term relationships, raised children, has graduated from college or is smart enough to have done so. Are physically active, with a fit body. Needless to say, you can process oxygen on your own.