Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

studentoflifesp

31 Tallahassee, FL Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 18–36
  • Located anywhere
  • Who are single
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Nov 30
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 7″ (1.70m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Religion
Atheism, but not too serious about it
Sign
Scorpio, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Working on Ph.D program
Job
Student
Income
Less than $20,000
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Likes dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), German (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I love traveling, reading, writing, hiking, and watching movies. I've lived in India and two countries in Africa. Those experiences were amazing and changed my life. I really want to see more of the world, especially Africa and Asia. The world is such a big place with so many amazing people in it.

I lucked into having these interests since I don't come from a family that travel much. I was fortunate enough to have good parents. When I was 21 I saved up money and went and worked as an English and math teach in some village schools in India. My life has not been the same since then. I got very interested in learning about severe poverty after that experience and after a couple of years of working in Virginia, went back to school and made international development the focus of an MA. I took out loans to go and study for a year in Ghana, in West Africa and again learned more than I ever could here.

While working on my thesis I put out PhD applications and job applications for aid and nonprofit organizations. Did not get any bites on the latter, but got into a PhD program here at FSU. Now in my third year, I always wonder if this was the right decision for me, but on the other hand I really do love what I study and all the opportunities that being at a university brings. I actually get paid to take courses! (Well, technically I get paid to grade papers, but I can take whatever courses I want for free!)
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
As I wrote, I am in a PhD. program at FSU. I am taking as many classes as I can and making an effort to publish papers too. I am not interested in pursuing the traditional academic route because the academic job market is terrible and even if it wasn't, I want to see more of the world after I graduate.

I try to take every opportunity to learn about all different things and see more of the world. Once I finish I will either teach at a university overseas or work overseas for an international NGO. My dream job is probably getting to teach classes I love and then consult for Oxfam or other really good organization.

I started a student organization on campus aimed at educating students about poverty and raising money for effective organizations. I think we have done good work so far!

I keep this page in the hope that I might meet someone on here, but the results have been underwhelming. Finding a "soulmate" in Tallahassee to travel the world with is probably not going to happen, but I would settle for a fun person and a few good dates!
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Writing, listening, adapting to other cultures, traveling, annoying certain family members. I'm a good cook too, when I put my mind to it.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
That I am friendly!
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
Ok, this is a lot for one question.

Books: I love reading philosophy, literature, and social science especially. In no particular order, some ones I have liked and have impacted me are: Discipline and Punish, Ishmael, The Second Sex, The Life You Can Save, The State of Africa, Siddhartha, The Idiot, The Death of Ivan Illyich, Public Philosophy, Experiments in Ethics, Beyond Good and Evil

Movies: I like drama, suspense, comedy, documentaries, horror. I usually can't remember the names of movies for lists like this.

Music: I tend to like all sorts of rock, hip-hop, electronic, and genres I have picked up from other cultures - Bhangra and Hip-life. Some bands I like are Outkast, Red Hot Chilli Peppers, Oasis, Cee Lo, Lady Gaga, Akon, Nirvana, 4x4.

Food: I am a vegetarian, and I love trying all sorts of new food. I love Italian, Indian, Ethiopian, and Chinese food especially. I also like West African food.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Books
The Internet
Travel
Coffee
My camera
Movies
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Right now I am thinking a lot about how good it is the semester is almost over, how much grading I still have to do, all the amazing things I could be doing this summer instead of staying in Tallahassee, an experiment I am trying to design, how to get papers published, and ethnocentrism.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You actually read my profile. If you think I sound interesting and would like to talk to me, please message!

You are looking for a relationship.

Add a photo to:

Stay fresh with Instagram

Are you sure you want to delete this album?

Where's your photo?

Drop it like it’s hot

Photos must be at least 400 x 400px
Edit thumbnail
Add a caption

You look fantastic!