suiisuris
26 Bethesda, MD
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
suiisuris
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hey! I'm a 26 year old Montreal native who moved to DC to pursue the American dream...or just grind out years of my life in grad school, eh?

I love learning new things and try to live my life by the philosophy that everyone has something to teach you. My most rewarding relationships have been with people who are completely different than I am - artists, gardeners, whatever - who changed the way I think and opened me up to new hobbies or ideas. In the last couple years I've picked up frisbee, homebrewing, D&D, gardening, Argentine tango and swing dancing and I wouldn't have it any other way.

I'm not one to sit around watching TV. I find reading books a lot more rewarding, or cooking something, or going out with friends...or pretty much anything. Lately I've been getting into swing dancing and tango a lot although I have to admit I'm definitely still a beginner!
What I’m doing with my life
I'm a grad student at the University of Pennsylvania (currently pursuing my degree in DC) studying immunology by day, training to become a professional ultimate frisbee player by night (kidding - I suck at ultimate but inflict myself on summer league teams anyways). My thesis research is focused on pediatric immunodeficiencies - basically, we try and figure out why some young children get sick really often and use what we learn to help them and other people!
I’m really good at
Accumulating free T-shirts I would never wear in public. Seriously, they just pile up in my dresser somehow...

Incorporating motivational messages into the program I'm writing so that when I run it a week later it cheers me up :)
The first things people usually notice about me
Probably my piercings, or the fact that my pant leg is still rolled up from riding my bike and I forgot about it.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: This list should be pretty eclectic because I'll read just about anything I can get my hands on. Some recent ones would be Apt Pupil, Catch-22, American prometheus, Anathem, Jpod, any sci-fi/cyberpunk/fantasy novels to come out in the last half-century, anything by Agatha Christie. If I had to pick a single book to have with me for the rest of my life it would have to be Surely you're joking Mr. Feynmann.

Movies: My favorite movie of all time is definitely C.R.A.Z.Y., a coming of age movie from Quebec, or Bladerunner. Some other favorites are Donnie Darko, memento, 28 days later, requiem for a dream, most of the even Star Trek movies.

Music: Also pretty eclectic, I generally go through phases where I get obsessed with a band and listen to nothing else and then get tired of it. If you put a gun to my head I'd say my favorite band ever was Weezer but I've been all about RAC lately.

Shows: A game of thrones, The big bang theory, Adventure time...I don't really watch much TV anymore.

Food: Anything I cooked myself over something from a restaurant. So far my favorites so far have been pan-seared mahi mahi, my homemade spaghetti sauce or fruit pies and cheesecakes from scratch. When I do go out I've always had a soft spot for british style fish and chips or hip city veg.
The six things I could never do without
Strong cheese and baguettes (I know, French Canadian stereotypes eh?)
Board games! D&D!
My bike
Reddit
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The white supremacist capitalist patriarchy, privelege and all the awful conventions society forces on us.
On a typical Friday night I am
Definitely dancing somewhere :)
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I've seen every episode of Friends multiple times. I may also have gotten drunk and rapped the theme song of Fresh Prince of Bel Air to my friends the night I found out I was moving to West Philly...
You should message me if
You're looking for a tango/swing dancing partner. Seriously!
More