Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

surlymtb

41 M Charlotte, NC

My Details

Last Online
Yesterday – 11:19am
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 7″ (1.70m)
Body Type
Average
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
No
Drinks
Often
Drugs
Religion
Atheism, and very serious about it
Sign
Taurus, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Management
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Strictly monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but might want them
Pets
Likes dogs
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Philosopher, Mountain Biker, Photographer, Hacker, Foodie, Traveler, Introvert, Meditator, Yogi, Extrovert, Puppy Squeezer, List Maker.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm originally from Upstate NY and have been living in Charlotte for about 19 years. I own a local technology company and it keeps me rather busy. I like my work and I'm a bit of a hacker; in all walks of life, not just technology. I like to try new things and see what works and what doesn't. Maybe it's the Taurus in me but finding stability and understanding things gives me peace and comfort.

A good day usually works out like this for me. I tend to sleep late and then work at my home office till the afternoon. I saddle up and hit the mountain bike trail in the afternoon and make myself a healthy meal when I get in. (Sometimes I just go the Y instead and swim.) I stay up late and work because I like the quiet of the evening. I don't watch TV - in fact I don't even have cable. I'll watch a movie occasionally on Netflix but I am to much of a busy-body to sit around watching the TV and all it's commercials. It makes be grow impatient and if I really want to watch a show, I can get it pretty easily commercial free. (Maybe, I just have a hangup about giving TWC more money.)

I like to eat well and be active. I'm not super skinny but I'm very healthy and tend to eat more vegetarian. (My friends say I don't look my age, but if I grow my beard out I get this great salt and pepper look.) I love the heat living in the south and a really good sweat when I'm out on my bike; something is really purifying about that to me.

I'm not very materialistic. I do like nice things, but I don't like 'lots' of things, so you will find my place rather spartan. My home is a temple that is relaxing and peaceful. I listen to a lot of chant and soothing ambient music when I'm home. I like soft light and tend to leave the AC off so the air isn't too dry. It's all about the mood right? I've been collecting art for years so my walls are rather colorful and my place is always clean and organized. I know some guys are real slobs, but you won't find that with me. My friends joke that I keep my place like a museum sometimes.

I have two other hobbies; travel and photography. They cross over quite a bit as I use my photography as an excuse to go on a trip. I shoot models occasionally, but I prefer nature and insect shoots. Kind of nerdy, but I get a great deal of joy chasing after the perfect picture of a dragonfly in the heat of the summer or getting the timing right shooting a geyser in Iceland.
I’m really good at
Update Oct 21st: Mom says that if I'm gonna tell people that I travel, I should mention some of the places I've gone. She's a sharpie. Let's see, in no particular order; Turkey, Belize, Iceland, Austria, India, Guatemala, Germany, Finland, UK, Slovenia, Italy, Costa Rica, Netherlands, Switzerland, Sweden and Canada. I don't really count Canada since they are our close friendly neighbor. Just seems like visiting my brothers house when I go there.

Mar 22 2013 Addendum: I'm really good at drinking smoothies with the following ingredients; bananas, dates, cacao beans and ice. Please blend it and make about 4 gallons in volume. Please don't skimp on the bananas, dates, cacao beans or ice. I will also need a wheelchair for post consumption mobility. I won't be talking much but I can make serious eye contact that says 'Thank you, my mouthgasm is going well.' Bendy straw is preferred.

A good bit of my time is spent with my camera, so I can occasionally snap a nice shot (http://perflexed.com). Much of my travel is driven by my desire to photograph new places, people and animals. I've been riding my mountain bike for 33 years; I'm not especially talented beyond managing to keep the rubber side down. I'm into music and art. I own my own business and it's going well. I own a technology company in Charlotte. I was a developer for many years, building large and small websites, e-commerce and other applications for desktops and touch screen kiosks. Now, I do the technical design and manage my teams of developers. I'd be willing to bet you've experienced my work at 'a large local store' (that I can't name here). I spend a lot of my time researching new technologies like Bitcoin, cloud computing and wireless mesh networking systems. I do a lot of hacking and yes, the NSA IS listening, in case you were curious.

I'm really good at fixing things. Think Anakin Skywalker.

I'm also really good at refusing to give up on my Full Pigeon posture. It hasn't happened yet but I remain hopeful.

Update Apr 7th 2013: Driving without brakes. The rear brakes gave out on the scooter today on a back road halfway to nowhere (in Costa Rica). The front brakes continue to work properly but in lose gravel and stone backroads in a 3rd world country, safety is usually the way to go. Imagine the irony as I passed a giant sign from the regional chapter of the Red Cross that said "Drive Safely" in spanish, of course.
The first things people usually notice about me
My sense of humor. I like to laugh and I have my own perspective on things. I really like others who can make me laugh. People also mention how much they enjoy having conversations with me. Especially people older then myself. I think it's because I like to surround myself with people wiser and smarter then me so I can learn and grow. It's funny, I get complements on this all the time. Parents like me. Oh and while it might appear otherwise at first, I can (and do regularly) laugh at myself.

Update Mar 23rd Apology: My friend just signed up on this site and she shared with me a selection of the male candidates that apparently you have been reviewing prior to reading my profile. I think this requires a list. I like lists.

1) I'm really sorry that you are being exposed to this salty experience of having to look at 12 profiles before seeing a POSSIBLE interesting candidate.
2) I have NEVER taken a picture of myself in the mirror with my shirt off.
3) The length of my tongue? No, I don't have a picture of it. Sorry, I strongly apologize.
4) While I occasionally abuse the language for a laugh, I do know how to spell and I am not afraid to get out my dictionary. I do make mistakes like everyone else. Also, I know what a 'knuckle dragging troglodyte' is. Please refer to item 1 again.
5) You know this already. But not all guys are like the spread you are seeing. Roger at the office is nice, isn't he? It's just too damn bad he is 'best friends' with Matt and they 'vacation' together so much.
6) I like women. I'm not insecure about it.
7) "My momma raised me right." As told by an 86 year old Mormon I met recently. Thanks Alice, you're not too shabby yourself.

Oh, I collect Poster Art. Over 300 pieces in my collection. Definitely fun to talk about.

Extra points if you "have a spaghetti policy"!
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Feb 21st: Just downloaded a bunch of Pixies albums. I feel like I really missed out on something great.

I like all sorts of music. Lately I've been drowning myself in The Black Keys, Johnny Lee Hooker, Aphex Twin and some weird meditation gong music stuff that is really strange but so much fun. It reminds me of some fancy spa that I've been to before where they put cucumbers on your eyes and children rub your toes and they whisper things in your ears like "you should use tea tree shampoo on your 5 head", and "don't eat the berries in the parking lot" and "don't squeeze the avocados". I don't know what it all means. It might have just been a dream. It's tough to tell.

I should mention, I have a penchant for Punk and Sludge Rock. I listen to Kyuss, Queens of the Stone Age and the Melvins (among others). I've been told the Melvins are 'woman repellant', and I can't really argue with that too much, so I won't force you or even pretend that you are going to groove on these sounds if you get curious and ask to hear (assuming you aren't already queueing up your Stoner Witch vinyl right now). Just thought you should know. No, I don't have any tattoo's or dive into mosh pits any more, but you'd think I have two arm sleeves. And as an FYI, when the Melvins come to town and I am in a catatonic state for two days following the show, just put up with it. The fuzz will wear off and I'll return to normal. Promise. Mostly.

Update Mar 15th Suggestion: I think it's a great idea to borrow or buy a copy of John Coltrane's Giant Steps album. When you listen to it, do it alone. Close the curtains. Turn off your phone. Maybe even takes your pants off - your call. Turn it up loud. Get comfortable. Maybe pour some brown water, I recommend 2 fingers of Blanton's with 3 cubes of ice. Let that glass breathe! Site back. Close your eyes. Get ready to have your world F'd up!
The six things I could never do without
My Camera (http://perflexed.com/), My Imagination, The sky and trees and sun, Encryption, Time and being close
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Steak Burritos
Bitcoin
What I actually am trying to say when I talk in my sleep
Mountain Bike parts
Quantum Physics
Evolutionary Biology
Technology
Bending Light
Photo-voltaic cell efficiency
software technical design
Scientologists
Photography
Phillip Glass
Boobs
On a typical Friday night I am
I don't keep a typical schedule so I rarely know when Friday Night actually is. I know Spring time. Does that help?
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
My monthly Texas Hold'em group has been playing for over 7 years and my nickname at the table is Dickie Stoneface. You don't want to see this face. It's a cross between Donald Trump and Jodie Foster holding a dead mouse. You will find yourself short a few bills and your panties will be missing.
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 32–45
  • Near me
  • Who are single
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
You want someone who is going to bring you a comfortable and caring relationship that is based on trust, honesty and respect. You want someone who will touch you on the back of your neck gently from time to time with a thoughtful intention of compassion, patience and love. You want someone that will take you on trips to distance places, try new foods and beers and don't mind waiting around while I get 'that perfect shot' of a temple, stranger or sunset. You like lots of hugs, spontaneity, intelligent conversation and tasting fine whiskey on a late Tuesday night.