Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

sveacja

62 M Leverett, MA

I’m looking for

  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 37–58
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Sep 18
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 1″ (1.85m)
Body Type
Thin
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Rarely
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism
Sign
Scorpio, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from Ph.D program
Job
Medicine
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids
Pets
Likes dogs
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I am an active person. My day job is intellectually and emotionally challenging; it provides continual surprises; the work is difficult but gratifying. When not working I can be very active: I hike, ocean kayak, bicycle, and work-out regularly. And I am equally capable of quiescent things, reading is big, I love watching films, cooking a meal with a friend is great. Finally, I derive great satisfaction from serious conversation, especially if I am talking with someone who likes a little passion, even contentiousness, in the mix. I have always learned a lot from spirited discourse.

I have done many home renovations over the years (here and in Cambridge where I lived and worked for a long time) and while all but one big home project is behind me, I expect I'll always be doing something of that nature.

Fitness is very, very important to me and I seek a similar orientation in any potential match.

I have an inordinate dread of entropy balanced by a healthy respect for chaos. On that continuum I lean toward chaos because in the abstract it is more fun and interesting. That written, I confess to being financially solvent, having a long term commitment/investment in my work, owning a lake house, respecting history, and showing up--in all senses of that phrase.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
More than ever trying to balance metaphysical pursuit (asking the big questions: how, why, what next, etc.) with the quoditian, and in both cases trying to incorporate fun, profundity, sensuality, humor (super important), variety, a little attitude, and pace.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Making people laugh (it's a gift and a commitment), asking questions, never slaking my curiosity, carpentry, word-smithing, and kindness.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I dress well, having decided awhile ago that appearance is a kind of self-portrait. At various points in time I settle into a "look," but today's is different than yesterday's, and they recycle.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
I read all the time and usually have two things going at once, one serious (technical, scientific, non-fiction), the other short or long fiction and some poetry---a lot of TC Boyle recently (I highly recommend his Drop City), Jonathan Franzen, a Sylvia Plath jag last month, Cormac McCarthy, and Scandinavian noire.

There have been times in my life I've retreated into film (for weeks at a time it has become my primary focus/recreational activity). My viewing is informed by broad ranging taste, from the silly to the sublime, from documentary to scifi.

My grandparents taught me the joy of every kind of food.
The music I like is varied, although I often come late to a good thing, it having passed me by in its prime. I'm very open to "tutoring" in this realm.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
Hope and wonder
Skepticism
Literature: books and more books; the NYT, The New Yorker; the NYRB...
Adventure
My libido
The night sky
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
I spend a lot of time thinking. But I find intellectual and psychological space for timeless moments as well. I've always been able to go away, either in response to something tangible or just some distant call.
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
It really depends, somewhat on the season, somewhat on my relationship status, somewhat on what's happening "out there."
I admit to being partial to having dinner with a friend in a "Friday night kind of place," casual, local folks, good food, comfortable, etc.

At certain periods of my life Friday was wind down time with family: cooking something simple or getting take-out, a film, a drink, and planning the weekend.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
Most of the chapters in my book are open.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
You like what you've read, embrace life, view this as an opportunity (of what nature to be determined), recognize that fate/karma frequently needs a helping hand, and like men (inevitable reservations aside and accepted).