Find better matches with our advanced matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

sweet-pete

29 M Oakland, CA

My Details

Last Online
Apr 22
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 0″ (1.83m)
Body Type
Athletic
Diet
Mostly anything
Smokes
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Sometimes
Religion
Judaism, and laughing about it
Sign
Aries, and it’s fun to think about
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Medicine
Income
Rather not say
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, but wants them
Pets
Has dogs and likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Fluently)

Similar Users

My self-summary
I've been thinking a lot lately of what's the best way to spend my energy these days...learning new skills? Practicing old ones? Connecting with the people I care about? Relaxing and rejuvenating? I tend to casually float my way from one pole to the next, and am looking to find that sweet spot in the middle. It's a work in progress. I can look back on these past few years and can say that while I haven't necessarily become an expert in anything new, I have traveled the world, had my mind blown at all sorts of festivals and shows, and danced my ass off in the desert a few times more than what most would likely consider reasonable. I feel like I have never before lived such a rich, interesting life.

I frickin' love nature. I feel utterly rejuvenated and inspired by it. I like to spread what I love. I've worked as a wilderness therapy guide. I take my clients outdoors to help them heal. I play out there too, love me some hiking, and I have been known to hop on a surfboard or snowboard if the timing's right. I just recently started to dabble in gardening too. It's great! While I still have no clue what I'm doing most of the time, I really enjoy helping plants grow.

Then there's Burner culture- give me some of that *)'(* love too please! I dig the values of creative expression and radical self-reliance. I try to keep the spirit going year-round too; my friends and I have been throwing desert parties in the Mojave for the past 7 years. It has brought me an extraordinary amount of joy to dance all weekend and frolic through the desert. Next party is coming up soon!

I'd be remiss not to mention underground electronic music- I'm a huge fan of deep house, minimal techno, glitch, dubstep, and breaks (things that go WHOMP in the night). I'd say I go to 1-2 shows per week, and I'm always glad that I did. If it's a good DJ, you're gonna have to drag me off the dance floor.

A lovely user of this site recently recommended the Ecstatic Dance community around here...and BAM! I'm hooked :) I love being able to dance to the music I love in an emotionally safe place free of the pretension/substance use/pitiful lack of boundaries that is sadly all too present at nightclubs. That being said, you'll still find me at Public Works, or Monarch, or Mighty...'cause that's where the best music is!

I've also recently come out of my seven-year retirement from competitive swimming and begun to practice and compete at the masters level. I found an awesome, supportive team here in Oakland, and have recently been convinced to train for nationals in May. Wooooooooooo! It feels good to get back in shape, although it's kind of annoying how much more I eat now!
What I’m doing with my life
Trying to be present with all of it: good and bad, difficult and easy, even when's it's painful. A lot of self-reflection. Oh yeah, I work too! Currently as a bilingual counselor for emotionally disturbed youth and their families in Alameda county.
I’m really good at
Behavior Analysis (what's the function?). Outdoorsy things. Aquatic things. Exploring new cities. Finding awesome events to do around the Bay.
The first things people usually notice about me
Depending on the context, I'll probably be smiling or dancing (or both!).
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: LOVE Tom Robbins (Jitterbug Perfume, Fierce Invalids from Hot Climates, and Half Asleep in Frog Pajamas), Vonnegut (Cat's Cradle, Galapagos), Orson Scott Card (Ender's Game, Speaker for the Dead), Asimov (Foundation Trilogy), Stephenson (Snowcrash), Pullman (His Dark Materials trilogy). Jared Diamond, Malcom Gladwell, Michael Pollan. And, if you put me on a 4 day train ride across Siberia, I'll read War and Peace and actually like it- true story!

Movies: Zoolander, Super Troopers, Baraka, Wes Anderson films, Werner Herzog documentaries.

Shows: Arrested Development, It's Always Sunny, Archer, Adventure Time, West Wing, South Park.

Music: My friends are amazing djs who play mostly deep house. My taste expands a bit beyond the 4:4, 120-123 BPM though, and I love to get down and dirty to glitch/hop, breaks, dnb, and the more spiritual and melodic side of bass music. Representative djs include Maya Jane Coles, Claude Von Stroke, Lee Burridge, MANDY, Magda, MartyParty, Mimosa, Vibesquad, Sub Focus, Netsky, Pumpkin, Beats Antique, Random Rab, Kaminanda, and Emancipator. Electro-Swing is pretty cool, like Parov Stelar. I like people playing actual instruments too- Red Hot Chili Peppers, Smashing Pumpkins, Sublime, Gorillaz.

Food: Sushi!!! BBQ. Chinese. Thai. Mission Burritos.
The six things I could never do without
-Love
-Physical Activity
-The Outdoors
-Music
-Dancing
-Traveling
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Life, the universe, everything...lots of existential questions. What is the Good Life? Friends/Family/Clients. Hypothetical conversations with hypothetical people. Fun new adventures, both near and far.
On a typical Friday night I am
At a show dancing, out exploring somewhere, cooking a delicious meal with friends.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Uhhh, I have conversations with my dog? I like to pee with the door open? Not sure where to go with this exactly...
I’m looking for
  • Girls who like guys
  • Ages 23–35
  • Near me
  • For long-term dating, short-term dating
You should message me if
-You'd be interested in meeting up in person!
-You think we can share an interesting conversation.
-*You've done some emotional work (some genuine depth exploration), and know how to respond to those big feelings when they arise.*
-You wanna go dance to underground electronic music, either in the city or the desert
-You're down with West Oakland and wanna hang out in my awesome co-op with our chickens, garden, and trampoline.

I guess right now I'm really looking for someone who's the "whole package," which for me means smart, cute, high energy/adventurous, and kind. Tall order, I know, but a guy's gotta dream :)