Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

sylvar

40 Tampa, FL Man

Man

I’m looking for

  • Straight women only
  • Ages 25–45
  • Near me
  • For new friends

My Details

Last Online
Nov 17
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
Hispanic / Latin, White
Height
6′ 4″ (1.93m)
Body Type
Full figured
Diet
Smokes
No
Drinks
Socially
Drugs
Never
Religion
Christianity, but not too serious about it
Sign
Virgo, but it doesn’t matter
Education
Graduated from masters program
Job
Science / Engineering
Income
$50,000–$60,000
Relationship Status
Married
Relationship Type
Mostly monogamous
Offspring
Doesn’t have kids, and doesn’t want any
Pets
Likes dogs and has cats
Speaks
English (Fluently), Spanish (Poorly), French (Poorly), Latin (Poorly), Esperanto (Poorly)

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I fit many of the geek stereotypes. I like gadgets and browsing randomly through the Internet, I do enjoy sci-fi and absurdist humor, I appreciate Kevin Smith and Danny Elfman, and I get along fairly well with most SCA folks.

My wife and I have agreed to take a break from dating others.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I'm a systems librarian, which means I help libraries with their computing needs. But I'm a librarian at heart (and have the overpriced degree to prove it).

In my free time, I sometimes try my hand at writing and photography. I generally place my work into the creative commons because I want cultures to be able to build freely on the work of others. For the same reason, I support intellectual property reform. I like and use open source software, but not exclusively.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Reading stories out loud (I enjoy making up voices for, say, Harry Potter and friends). Learning new skills. Pretty decent at cooking, too; I'm a vegetarian but I've learned to cook for omnivores. I've learned most of it from Alton Brown and experimenting in the kitchen.

I've been learning a lot about how XHTML, CSS, JavaScript, AJAX, MySQL, Perl, and related technologies can make my web pages spiffy. Sadly, I've had almost no time to work on my personal home page, which is still essentially written in a sad little HTML-layout-generated-by-PHP3-ported-to-PHP4 pidgin. Most of the time, you'll get a 404 Page Not Found error or just a blank page. But there are more important things in life.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My size! (I'm 6'4" and 300+, which is hard not to notice.)

Blind people will probably notice that I'm tall, and I speak with an oddly shifting mix of accents ranging from Southern to New York, with a Cuban accent when I speak Spanish.

A linguist would be confused by my own version of American English, since I say "the car needs fixed", "I might could do that", and often use "Coke" as a generic term for a soft drink. (I still prefer 'soda' to 'pop', but I try to use the local term when I travel.) 
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
(a) Books: Science nonfiction ("A Brief History of Everything", "The Elegant Universe", essays by Clarke, Asimov, and their intellectual heirs), or anything by Anne Lamott, Annie Dillard, or Kathleen Norris. Harry Potter novels, Tintin comics, and Kurlanskyesque books or essays about the social history of aglets (the tips of shoelaces, of course) or some such nonsense.

(b) Movies: Duck Soup (and other Marx Brothers movies), While You Were Sleeping, The Worst Witch, The Legend of Billie Jean, Dances With Wolves (expanded "oh, you mean there are women in this tribe too?" edition), The Abyss (expanded "oh, you mean the plot is supposed to make sense?" edition), and anything by Kevin Smith.

(c) radio.grassyhill.org, showtunes, the Buffy musical, anything I can sing along with; Easley Blackwood's microtonal stuff, Rachmaninoff, Debussy, Dvorak, Vieuxtemps, Moxy Fruvous, Jonathan Coulton, They Might Be Giants.

(d) Vegetarian stuff (including, at least for me, dairy and eggs -- dairy because I just can't do without cheese, and eggs because I'm pro-choice: by me, that's not a chicken). I've been known to do a really good Thanksgiving turkey, though, and I'm not afraid to spend a few hours on a recipe if that's what it takes. Good things come to those who take their time...
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
1. My glasses. I don't want frickin' laser beams shooting into my eyes, thank you very much.

2. Library books. I'm a big public library fan, and the books there are remarkably affordable. Yay tax-and-spend liberals!

3. Sex. Fortunately, I'm usually willing even when nobody else is in the mood.

4. Internet access. I can only tolerate dialup if there are no other options, and if I was offline for a month, I'd probably twitch.

5. Occasional time by myself. This can be hard for people who greatly value spending time with me, but it's not personal (usually). I just like to wander around in mind and body sometimes.

6. A good pair of walking shoes. They don't have to be expensive; I got a pair from Target for $20 and I like 'em.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
technology, household chores, food, sexual fantasies, and general daydreams;

intellectual property, copyright, copyleft, creative commons, and related ideas;

Keywords automatically added to my profile because I saw them on someone else's profile and thought, "yeah, me too": everything2 usf
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
staying up late because I don't have to wake up at 6 the next morning. Woo-hoo!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I'm technically a paid pornographer -- someone read my story "Going Away" on alt.sex.stories.moderated and offered me $25 for the non-exclusive right to use it on their pay site. I used the money to take the subject of my (alas, fictional) story to lunch.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
you'd like to meet me, pester me, stalk me, tell me a punny joke I've never heard, trade recipes or book recommendations, work out with me, grab a coffee, or just yammer away in my general direction.