Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

tallguyportland

48 Portland, OR Man

Man

Similar users

I’m looking for

  • Women
  • Ages 25–55
  • Near me
  • For new friends, long-term dating, short-term dating

My details

Last online
Online now!
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
6′ 3″ (1.91m)
Body Type
Fit
Smokes
No
Drinks
Not at all
Drugs
Never
Religion
Agnosticism, but not too serious about it
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Other
Income
Rather not say
Status
Single
Offspring
Doesn’t want kids
Pets
Likes cats
Speaks
English (Fluently)
My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
Who am I? Once upon a time, I got a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering, got a job with a high tech company, had an eleven year career, saved some money, and quit, over ten years ago. Since then, I’ve been self employed as a photographer and an IT consultant. I grew up on the east coast, but have lived in Portland for twenty years.

My life is fairly uncomplicated and unstressful. I have never been married, don’t have kids (and don’t want them - sorry), am in good health. I own a modest townhouse (own as in paid off) in inner NE Portland, where I can walk everywhere. I have a wonderful, beautiful calico cat who is the light of my life - she sleeps in bed with me every night.

My passion for scenic photography developed into a part-time profession. I do sell my work; I haven’t exactly made it into National Geographic, but I have sold pictures to, for example, Oprah’s “O” magazine and to a television show (sadly canceled) that was set in Portland.

I love to travel - and that usually involves photography too. I’ve driven up and down the Oregon coast numerous times and cross country and back once (that took a month). I’m not exactly into camping and “roughing” it - I still prefer a hotel. But Europe is my favorite. I love to wander and explore the towns, take pictures, and explore some old culture. (I love history but have a short attention span for museums - after a half hour in a museum I’m usually yawning.) Most recently I’ve been to Belgium, Luxembourg, Poland, Czech Republic, and Slovenia and taken thousands of pictures.

I guess you’d could say I’m a pretty serious, practical guy. I’ve been to a strip club exactly once in my life, but I really have nothing against them (I have a libertarian streak), and I’m no prude; if I was offended, it wasn’t by the naked women but by the drunk guys and the atmosphere. I don’t smoke or drink at all (never have). I’m also not religious at all.

I read all the time, usually biographies and histories (sometimes pretty thick books that look a lot more impressive than they really are), sometimes something unchallenging but entertaining like true crime. I couldn’t get on an airplane without at least one or two books. I am an NPR listener (some shows). I don’t watch much popular TV - except for The Daily Show and the Colbert Report and certain MSNBC shows (I don’t have cable - I watch everything online). Occasionally I enjoy old reruns of stuff like Seinfeld, Frasier, etc. I used to see lots of movies but not so much anymore - and then, usually independent or art house films.

I have a tough time meeting women because I’m kind of an introvert - I don’t have tons of friends, and I don’t work in an office. And of course, I don’t go to bars or to church. Oh, and I have a kind of paralyzing fear of rejection which doesn’t help, either. I’m unlikely to ask a woman out even when I do meet one I like, unless circumstances are ideal. But I’m not a shy wallflower without social skills; I think I’m an engaging conversationalist in the right situation (probably not at a party - better one on one). I love to talk about just about anything, including current events, politics (in the right situation), life issues, you name it. I’m pretty good at getting along with almost anyone, even if I don’t always like everyone.
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
I quit my corporate gig quite a few years ago now. I've been self employed ever since doing photography, web design, and computer stuff. I live a fairly low-stress, low-key lifestyle. I like to volunteer and get involved in my community.

I love to travel and have been to Europe several times. My last trip was to Germany in 2014.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
figuring things out.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
that I'm tall.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
I'm a reader - mostly non-fiction. Biographies, histories, politics, even true crime. Sometimes a Rick Steves book, if I'm planning another trip to Europe. I can't get on a plane or even leave the house without a book!

Last great book: "The Bully Pulpit" by Doris Kearns Goodwin.
The six things I could never do without
Think outside the box. Sometimes the little things can say a lot.
My cat
Pizza
Books
My laptop
Walking
My camera
On a typical Friday night I am
Netflix and takeout, or getting your party on — how do you let loose?
At home - reading, watching something on TV (MSNBC or this week's Daily Show), perhaps baking something, and spending some quality time with my cat! (Boring, I know.)
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
OKC thinks I trend "Wholesome" which makes me sound...boring. The definition of "wholesome" I found online is: "conducive to or promoting moral well-being" which doesn't fit me at all. I do not even believe in god (or disbelieve - I'm agnostic). "Morality" has nothing at all to do with my personal decisions not to drink, smoke, or use drugs. I'm actually quite open minded, despite my personal choices and behavior.
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
I’d also have to say that I’m picky. I haven’t dated much recently - I’d rather be alone than be with someone I’m not crazy about, just to avoid being alone. I actually do OK by myself for the most part but do get lonely sometimes. I understand that most women I meet have more complicated lives than I have, and I’m not looking for a clone of myself.

It’s easy when dating online to make a list of things you hate about past relationships and say “don’t want this, ex-girlfriend did that and I HATED that, etc.” But no one is perfect. To me, part of loving someone is accepting certain things you HATE about the person but loving her anyway. Still...we all have dealbreakers, right? I don’t think I could date someone with kids (not under 18, anyway) or someone who smokes regularly. If alcohol is an important part of your life, I doubt I’d want to be in a relationship with you - but occasional drinking is pretty normal, even if I don’t drink. I’d guess it may go without saying that I’m not big on other kinds of drug use.

And I love cats, even if I have only one. I could never date a woman who HATES cats (yes, some people do). You don’t have to love them but you should at least like them - at least a little.

Otherwise - if I’m attracted to you and find you interesting and we have a few things in common (and at least basic values), why not?