Find better matches with our advanced
matching system

—% Match
—% Enemy

tashapearl

25 F Berkeley, CA

I’m looking for

  • Men who like women
  • Ages 24–33
  • Near me
  • For short-term dating

My Details

Last Online
Online now!
Orientation
Straight
Ethnicity
White
Height
5′ 7″ (1.70m)
Body Type
Fit
Diet
Mostly vegetarian
Smokes
No
Drinks
Often
Drugs
Religion
Atheism
Sign
Education
Graduated from university
Job
Income
Relationship Status
Single
Relationship Type
Offspring
Pets
Speaks
English

Similar Users

My self-summary
Write a little about yourself. Just a paragraph will do.
I’m from New York and moved to the Bay Area a few months ago to start grad school in economics. When I’m not studying, I’m most likely either:
- reading (classic fiction, pop fiction, history, social science, news websites, blogs, magazines, etc. etc.)
- relatedly: coffee shop hopping (though I will unshamefully admit that my favorite coffeeshop to study and read in in Berkeley so far is the local Starbucks)
- running the streets of the East Bay, admiring the many kinds and colors of flowers people grow in their gardens
- cooking mostly-vegetarian food (my new favorite toy is Yotam Ottolenghi’s vegetarian cookbook)
- spending time with friends, new and old
- dancing, occasionally alone in my room if the mood strikes
- getting involved in shockingly detailed policy debates with friends, either in real life or on Facebook
- sleeping, I suppose
- or, contemplating morality, beauty, and existence (more often than you might think)

But over the past couple of months I’ve also:
- binge-listened to an awesome podcast on the history of the English language (creatively entitled the History of English podcast—check it out!)
- wandered around various locations of interest in the Bay Area for ~24 hours straight as part of a semi-organized event (ask me about it sometime)
- discovered the most delicious, classy-yet-affordable sandwich place I’ve ever been to, and a dosa joint that rivals my favorite one back home
- written an article on transit infrastructure politics for my friend's quirky little online magazine
- taken advantage of my free AC Transit bus pass from Cal
- more generally, been working on patching together a new life for myself here on the west coast
What I’m doing with my life
Don’t overthink this one; tell us what you’re doing day-to-day.
See above?

But to elaborate a bit on the grad school thing: I’m working on an economics PhD. Currently this involves taking classes in microeconomics, macroeconomics, and econometrics, but will soon involve doing my own research, which is a somewhat intimidating yet exciting prospect.
I’m really good at
Go on, brag a little (or a lot). We won’t judge.
Being curious
(Over?)analyzing
Asking questions
Economics
Walking really fast (I used to do this as a sport in high school)
Whippin ma hair back and forth
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
My hair has a mind of its own. It changes wildly from day to day--sometimes it's curly and huge while other days its smooth(ish) and wavy. It tends to correlate with humidity. On the voluminous days, when I'm wearing it down, people especially tend to notice.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Help your potential matches find common interests.
(note: these are samplings of what I like, not comprehensive lists)
Lit: Gone Girl (Flynn), Dubliners (Joyce), Never Let Me Go (Ishiguro), Norwegian Wood (Murakami), Swann’s Way (Proust), Arcadia (Stoppard), To the Lighthouse (Woolf)

Non-fiction genres: history, social science (psychology, economics, political science), philosophy

Movies: 4 Months 3 Weeks 2 Days, Annie Hall, Casablanca, Chicago, Groundhog Day, L.A. Confidential, Pan’s Labyrinth, Pulp Fiction, A Separation, Some Like It Hot, Tootsie, Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives, Up in the Air

Music: Mozart, Beethoven, Rachmaninoff, The Beatles, Radiohead, My Bloody Valentine, Stan Getz, Outkast, jazz standards, Iron & Wine, Mountain Goats, Leonard Cohen, musicals by Stephen Sondheim, Motown; but lately I’ve been listening to a lot of Kanye West, Pygmy music, and going through some of the archives of Bob Dylan’s Sirius XM radio hour, which is a treasure trove of old American folk and blues

TV: been slowly working my way through The Wire

Miscellaneous media: The New York Times, The Economist, The New Yorker, Marginal Revolution, EconTalk, wish I could afford an FT subscription

Food: Nearly everything, as long as it's not too meaty, but especially Indian, Italian, Mexican, Mideastern, and Thai
My favorite food group is fruit--I'd say it makes up at least a quarter of my diet.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Global warming, lunch, or your next vacation… it’s all fair game.
Bit and pieces of my stream of consciousness include: my diet as optimization problem over {financial cost, taste, time cost, nutrition, variety}; {what, how, to what extent} can a person will themselves to believe something they don't rationally; favorite song lyrics; human cognition; cat cognition (since I just moved in with a roommate with a cat); how can I get my hands on some fruit (after I've eaten whatever I brought with me for the day); what people are wearing; OMG squirrel fight! (when I encounter one while strolling around campus--they can get really rough!); friend gossip; housing policy; the ethics and politics of marriage; the list goes on...
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I’m an empty essay… fill me out!
I find OkCupid profiles totally fascinating. Seriously, where else can you find such a wide cross section of humanity describe themselves in such earnest, extensive detail? So I find scrolling through these things kind of embarrassingly addictive.

And this isn't so private but while we're on the topic of OkCupid: I find a frustratingly large fraction of the multiple choice questions impossible to complete because the questions are hard to understand and/or the available responses don't partition the space of possible answers. Am I alone here? How does everyone else manage?
You should message me if
Offer a few tips to help matches win you over.
you think we could maybe be friends or lovers. I'm serious about the friends thing. Since I moved so recently I'm at least as interested in meeting new friends as romantic prospects at the moment.